We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Portuguese hospitality at it's best”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Portuguese hospitality at it's best”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Room was modern and comfortable with a balcony and beautiful sea view. The restaurant has a new chef who cooks tradition Portuguese with local ingredients The fish is as fresh as you can possibly find anywhere. Great flavors and very attentive staff. The Blue Bar, located on the rooftop next to the swimming pool, also had a beautiful view and live music from "Jack in the Box" gave it a great atmosphere. Hotel Baia rocks!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea- view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlynDutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    315
    125
    30
    28
See reviews for
105
324
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed her for 11 nights from 29 July 2013. It has the best location in Cascais; close to the town centre and with the beach just outside across the road. The rooftop pool has fantastic views. There can be some noise in the evenings, but what do you expect right close to the action! Rooms were good, with adequate balconies and again great views.

The hotel restaurant offers good value if you want to eat in, but just around the corner is the main square with many restaurants vying for your custom

We have visited this area about a dozen times in the past 25 years and I would recommend this hotel if you want to be close to everything

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. These rooms have odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one of the most central hotels in Cascais for the beach and town center. It offers an alright nights sleep and is a great location. Everything else is fine but pretty standard. It wasn't expensive so I can't complain. Things that I wish were different so that it could go from an ok hotel to a great hotel
- no towels for guests on the pool/terrace
- no wifi outside of reception area
- no iron in the room
- provide nicer toiletries in the bathroom (separate shampoo, shower gel etc)
- don't wake up your guests on the last day by phoning them asking to leave the room so it can be cleaned
If all you want is a nice bed to sleep in then it's the right place. The breakfast buffet was also really big and tasty

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the small extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukpooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We have taken your suggestions into account and are constantly working to improve. We DO offer towels on the pool sunterrace. All you have to do is ask at the bar, they are free of charge. We also offer free wi-fi all along our ground floor (reception, bar, terrace...) We hope to be able to offer wi-fi in the rooms very soon. We do not offer irons in the rooms for safety reasons but we do have a laundry and ironing service. We thank for your suggestion regarding the toiletries. We are looking for a solution that will satisfy all our guests and is still Eco-friendly as we are a certified Eco-Hotel. We are sorry if we woke you on your last day but check out time is midday and, especially at this busy time, we often have the new guests waiting to check into their room. We must also take into consideration that after a long journey they want to freshen up and relax in their room. We hope you will visit us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Lisbon airport and our shuttle set up by the hotel was waiting for our family of 8. The hotel is at the beach with large rooms and balconies and updated bathrooms. They have family rooms for 4, a rare find in Europe-call to ask, they don't show up on website. If you face the front of the hotel, there is a huge disco/bar by the beach that can be loud late on a weekend but it didn't bother us. Beautiful views facing the beach on the pool deck-the pool is outdoors but covered by a huge canopy which worked great for my younger kids to keep out of the sun. Wear sandals on the pool deck, it gets hot and the drinks are expensive by the pool but they don't want you to bring your own, understandably. Walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Decent breakfast included, seating inside and outside. Free wifi in the lobby! Wonderful service, my husband had a medical issue and they were very accommodating and helpful when we had to extend our stay. Our driver back into Lisbon gave us a great tour on the way for no extra charge! It's a very relaxing, beautiful beach hotel and town close to Lisbon and allowed us to relax after our long flight for a few days. We did not look for kids' activities or a workout room so I can't comment on them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kskbtvkcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The "huge disco/bar" was a 1-off party at the Sailing Club. We have had previous problems with the bars behind the Hotel but the authorities seem to be doing their job and we have not had further complaints. This is a problem that comes with the prime, seafront, central location...
Drinks at the pool bar are the same price as the ground floor bar: Water €1, Soft Drinks €1.60, Beer €2. Cocktails can cost between €5 to €6.50. We don't think this is expensive, especially given the prime location and views offered at the Blue Bar on the roof top. In any case, if you contact us directly for your next booking we will be glad to offer you a round of drinks on the house! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been guest at the Bahia in July 2013.
The hotel is located close to the town hall, right in the center of the town and in front of Praia da Ribeira. One of the best positions, if not the best one for an hotel in Cascais. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel and in the evening after dinner we enjoyed pleasant walks downtown. Of course, being in that central place means having to cope with some noise from traffic and nightlife. The traffic peak is around 5-7 pm, then it starts reducing, there is some background music or screaming people till around 11 pm and finally, from 11:30 pm to 7 am we always enjoyed almost silence and a very good sleeping. Only on Friday night there was a rock concert that lasted until midnight right in the front of the beach, in front of the hotel. Rather than being a nuisance, we enjoyed watching it from a privileged point (i.e. sitting on our balcony). Needles to saly, from our room we enjoyed a pleasant view of the beach.

The hotel is not a recent construction, but effort has been put in to keep everything in good working condition, everything was perfectly functioning. People used to modern, glass and steel hotels and spacious rooms might be a little disappointed at the beginning. The initial impression quickly fades away once we realized that, apart from some wear signs here and there and a room and a bathroom slightly smaller than usual, everything might not be the latest design but is well kept and functioning. At the end we were more than satisfied with what we got. The room was equipped with all the standard amenities, except for the minibar, but we did not feel the absence of it. We bought something to drink at the bar before going to sleep and just borught in our room. The common areas seems to have been renovated more recently than the room, we found the pool, bar, breakfast and restaurant areas always very cleaned and in a good condition.

The staff was also very friendly and always willing to help, both at the reception than at the restaurant (we were on half board). I can really consideer them among the best staff I have found in all my hotel stayings. The food quality exceeded our expectations, more often than not hotels keep the half board price low by compromising on the quality or choice of meals for people on half or full board. It was not this case, in this hotel we really enjoyed each of our dinners, both from the food quality and quantity and service levels. Breakfast was also very good, we always found what we wanted.

The only point I have been really disappointed is the parking lot. Being located in the center of the town, there is no possibility to park on the street, but the hotel has a private undergorund parking lot, at a reasonable (10 Euro/day) cost. Being there with a rental car, we took advantage of this opportunity, actually it was among the reasons for our choice. The problem is that the parking lot is also a public toll parking. It should not be an issue, since the place open to the public is separated from the hotel one, so there is always parking place for the hotel guests and you have a ticket that allows you to enter and exit at your convenience, regrdless of the fact that the public part of the parking lot is full. However, being small and located in the centre, the public parking lot in the late afternoon is full and does not accept other cars. Since the entrance is the same for the public and hotel part, it happens that local drivers rudely place themselves in front of the gate with the sign "complete" and the red light on, waiting for somebody to leave so the parking will accept another car, printing the entrance ticket and opening the gate. It means that as hotel guest you are stuck in a queque of nervous drivers even if you have the hotel card that will open the gate. On the Saturday afternoon we found ourselves stuck in a queque of cars trying to get in, blocking the traffic on the nearby road, and trying to understand what was going on. At a certain point a local driver cut in front of us and went very close to scratch his car against ours to get to the gate in front of us. Then we had to wait 10 minutes with the engine on behind him until he could get in. It took us nearly 30 minutes (and a lot of stress) to get the car parked. The other days luck was more on our side, we found no car "waiting at the gate" or just one or two. I think the hotel should consider building a separate entrance for its guests' cars, sothey don't have to queque with local drivers, keeping only the exit in common with the publig toll parking.

Anyway, if we exclude this really annoying situation with the parking lot, everything else in the hotel was perfect or close to, we were satisfied and we will most likely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phormula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough and fair review. We have taken your suggestions into consideration as we are always trying to improve, renovate and innovate. We hope you will visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in room 105 at this hotel in June. The carpet in our room was threadbare.The plaster and the paintwork on tthe balcony were both peeling, and the glass panels on the balcony needed cleaning. The bathroom floor felt sticky, and was not clean enough to stand on in bare feet.The washbasin in the bathroom was slow to empty and eventually blocked completely. When the blockage was cleared, the maintenance staff used one of our hand towels to mop up the excess water on the floor AND LEFT THE TOWEL ON THE FLOOR without replacing it! The blockage was cleared,but the plughole was still not cleaned properly.
There were also a few other comparatively minor problems, but on a brighter note, the breakfast was very good.
Overall we were disappointed with the overall standard of the hotel, and feel that it is not worth its three star rating, and most certainly not worth the 115 Euros per night which we were charged, even allowing for its location.
We wrote to the General Manager with our concerns over four weeks ago, and so far, have not even had the courtesy of an acknowledgement, which is what prompted this review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your opinion. This is the first I am hearing from you and I have personally inspected room 105. Some minor maintenance was done and the room was spotlessly cleaned as always. Although the hotel was built 50 years ago every year we invest in refurbishing and renovating to keep the hotel up to date. An inspection in March this year by the Portuguese Tourist board comittee for the classification of hotels, certified Hotel Baia superior for a 3-Star hotel. As General Manager of the Hotel, this is the first time I am hearing from you. Our guests' opinion is very important to us and I am sure you would have left the Hotel happy, had you brought your concerns to my attention during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

For location alone The Baia gets top marks! It really is right across the road from the beach, unlike some advertising and then disappointment when you arrive. When we arrived check in was swift and courteous, our room was clean spacious with a shining en suite well stocked with soft white towels and a treat ,a decent hairdryer! The only problem with the room, which was on the 4th floor, facing the back of the hotel, which we only discovered later that night, is that it was very noisy up till about 2am as all the restaurants and bars are in that area!! Now in fairness on saying this @ the front desk in the morning the staff member said we could lodge a complaint and it would be reported to the police, but it wasnt that bad!! The answer is to go and *join* them.The rooms to the front of the hotel are the quieter rooms with the balconies,but as usual you get what you pay for.The Baia has the enviable position of being so central to all the sights of the pretty town of Cascais both day and night, we didnt dine @ night in the hotel we found the breakfast to be very average not the most enticing buffet selection i have ever seen, the food quality not great, though i would not let this stop me from definetly recommending The Baia as a very good quality 3* hotel!!

Room Tip: Just to take into account rooms with seaview are quieter, but of course more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodnwine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it very usefull! We have been working with proper authorities to reduce the noise pollution in the area. Some bars play music unnecessarily loud. We have, however, already seen police with decibel meters last weekend fining the bars that play music too loud. We hope to see this problem resolved quickly. We are trying to improve on breakfast according guests' suggestions and we hope you will visit us again soon so you can see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
534 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing