We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & clean but noisy”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central & clean but noisy”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner & I spent a couple of nights in Cascais & chose this hotel as it's so central so close to beaches, shops, restaurants bars etc. The hotel room was very clean & provided us with everything we needed except the air con didn't appear to work & there was no wifi in the room which i find odd in this day & age. We also had issues getting into our room with the keys on a few occasions. We slept well but seeing as it is a holiday resort i feel the maids need to be asked to stay quieter. When you're on holiday you don't want to be woken up by the maids shouting down the corridor & vacuuming at 8am! We went to the roof terrace to use the pool & found the heated pool to be freezing cold too so that was unfortunate. Having said the negatives if you're looking for somewhere clean & central to stay that's not too expensive then this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the pool heater was out of order during your stay. It is up and running again and now the pool is at 24ºC. We have checked your room and the A/C seems to be working fine. Please let reception know about any problems you have with equipment and Maintenance will check it immediately. We do not have Wi-fi available in rooms yet but it is available for free along the ground floor. The maids have been informed to stay quieter in mornings and if close the inner doors to the room this should also help. We hope you will visit us again soon and give us a chance to make it up to you next time. Please feel free to contact me directly.
Best regards,
Joao Coruche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    321
    128
    30
    28
See reviews for
112
335
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at hotel Baia for two nights with my husband whilst on a business trip.
The Hotel was busy so we had a room at the back. The views are still OK but it was quite noisy due to the road and bars and restaurants nearby. The road is not hugely busy but you do get noise at a level which might disturb lighter sleepers, especially from motor bikes and also street cleaners and refuse collection trucks very early in the morning. I'm not sure if the windows at the back are double glazed but it didn't seem as though they were.
The rooms are quite basic, though the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious and everywhere was clean.
There is a lot of choice for breakfast, but everyone seemed to descend at once at 7.30 and there weren't enough tables. Also, the way the breakfast is laid out means that it is tricky to reach some sections and you do get a bit of a bottle neck from time to time. The hotel would benefit from having one or two staff on hand to help with service and also to help with the flow of guests.
We did find time to spend a couple of hours on the rooftop terrace overlooking the bay, which was very pleasant. The hotel is in a lovely position and convenient for local shops and restaurants etc.
The staff on reception were polite and over all our stay was OK for two nights, though I am not sure I would stay there for a longer holiday.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a room at the front as it will probably be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileycub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Although the rooms at the back do have double glazed windows, I would have to agree with you: we find that people who stay in sea facing rooms always have a better experience. The sea air and the view help to relax and improve sleep quality. Breakfast can be confusing when all 200 guests come at the time. We apologise for any delays or inconvenience. We hope you will visit us again soon so we can make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend in Cascais and a pleasant stay at the Baia. First, the downside: it's great location means it fronts one of the town beaches and (if you're lucky enough to score a room on that side) a lovely view of the fort and marina on one side and the lovely old buildings of the Villa Albatroz and I believe what is the port authority on the other. But it also means the main drag (just two lanes) through town is just across the little plaza and wide boulevard at the front of the hotel. Traffic is constant from about 9 in the morning till midnight or so but pretty well-behaved -- slow-moving, little horn tooting, etc. And the buses, which are the noisiest, are pretty much gone by 9 p.m. or so. The windows and door onto the balcony (barely fitting two white plastic chairs and table) are double-glazed but you're still going to hear muted traffic. As the Baia also fronts the lively bar/restarant area of town, you will also hear a little of that until midnight or so and only the soundest of (early) sleepers would try sleeping with the balcony door left open. Luckily, the second night of my stay was warm enough to justify turning on the AC and the "white noise" of that gave me 8 solid hours, no problem! And that was on the 2nd floor (3rd by North American reckoning), so as others have mentioned, wrangle the highest floor you can, although there are only 4, I think. (Pool and sunning area is on 5.)

As others have mentioned too, rooms are on the smallish side, as are the balconies, but for under 100 euro a night with breakfast, and in that location, what more would one expect? (And I expect, that's why they get quite a few tour groups.) Furnishings too are basic but bed was comfortable (if you like very firm), closet and bathroom quite adequate and everything was absolutely spotless. Lots of hot water and a decent shower. And bigger, fluffier towels than you often see in a hotel in this category in Europe.

For a 3*, totally met my expectations and in some ways, surpassed them. E.g., staff were lovely, from the front desk, to the maids, to the very nice guy running the pool area and bar. Food ... I'm not big on breakfast buffets (even if they are included) so one day, just grabbed a yogurt and fresh fruit from that. The other morning I ordered "Sunday" breakfast -- bacon, eggs, toast, fresh fruit and cappucino, which came exactly as ordered and well prepared with bacon crisp and eggs soft. Also had a pannini at the pool bar and it was tasty too.

I explored and went to a couple of the beaches one day, and explored and spent some time on the 5th floor sundeck the next. The smallish pool is under a roof and unheated but was fine (slightly warmer than the Atlantic) for cooling off and doing some lazy laps.

Special kudos to the head of reservations for being flexible with my booking. Obrigada!

In summary, if you want in-town luxury in Cascais, think you head for the Albatroz "(the hotel, not the villa) or maybe the Pousada. If you want a quieter location and a resort experience, guess you settle for the 20-minute walk to the Real Italia or Vila Gale or the Farol, or the Miragem the other way towards Estoril. Some people never want to leave the hotel. If that's not you, and you want to be in the centre of things, but still enjoy a few touches of resort-style amenities in an "in-town" hotel, the Baia's probably your only choice in Cascais -- and it's really not a bad choice at all!

Room Tip: Already been said: sea view and highest floor available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for a very thorough and honest review. We hope you will visit us again soon and perhaps try our Grill Restaurant that has been awarded many prizes for its gastonomy. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice hotel to hold a several-day seminar. We were a group of 25 people and stayed 3 full days (4-nights) at the hotel. Our stay included both breakfast and lunch. The lunches were very tasty and we had great service. The lunch meals and coffee were ready to go at the scheduled times. The breakfasts lasted several hours, which was good for both the early-birds and late-risers in the group. We even had a very early breakfast, small snadwiches, pasteries, coffee, etc, on the travel day. One could eat breakfast either inside or outside. There were several meeting rooms in the basement of the hotel. Try to get rooms with ocean views. Although the rooms/balconies on the higher floors with the mountain views did have sun longer, than the rooms with the ocean views. The staff was professional and friendly. The rooms were clean.

Great location and there is a nice beach walk and the small town of Cascais is fun to shop in. The hotel is a 40 minute trainride to Lisbon. There are several beaches to swim in. The hotel has a small pool on the roof. It was fun to do laps in, please note it was only open from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m.

This was a good-valued 3-star hotel and I would stay here again - hopefully on vacation next time!

Room Tip: Take an ocean view if you can, however if you want to sit on the balcony and have sun later in the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyNorwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It was no trouble organizing your early breakfast and we are very glad that you enjoyed it! It was a pleasure looking after your group and we are happy it was a successfull event and you anjoyed the meals and surroundings as well as having a productive conference. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Hopefully this time on holiday! :)
P.S. We will be extending the pool opening times from 8 am to 8 pm from now on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel celebrate 50 years history this year and rest assure the rooms and its furnishing such as bed, showers, cupboards certainly show the age. Do not let the outside of the hotel and reception fool you. WiFi are not available in the rooms and only down at the reception, no business center.
The so call Breakfast only start at 07.30, you can not even get a coffee if you have a early flight.
Staff are not flexible and not friendly at all. I will not recommend this hotel except the location is
only it have left. I am sure it will not be for long.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
We always welcome constructive criticism as we are always trying to improve the service to our valued guests. Unforunately your review does not help us to improve your experience. I wish we could understand what upset you so much? Our rooms are recently refurbished and readers will be able to see for themselves that our room are of a much higher standard than any 3-star hotel from the virtual tour on our website. It is true that we do not have Wi-Fi available in the rooms yet but we offer FREE broadband Wi-Fi in all our comunal areas along the ground floor. Buffet Breakfast is served on the ground floor from 7h30 to 10h30 and we invite you to sit on the terrace in front and enjoy the sun and the sea air. We often organise early breakfast for guests that have early flights. Although this is usually a continental breakfast as the hot dishes are not ready yet. We offer tea, coffee, a variety of bread, jams and pastries. I wish we could understand what it was the seems to have ruined your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel, and neither does it pretend to be; but it is a very comfortable and clean, if slightly dated, 3 star hotel in the prime location on Pescadores Beach. My en suite room, with balcony overlooking the beach, twin beds, aircon and TV was absolutely fine. Breakfasts were the only meals I ate in. These were extremely well catered from the excellent fresh fruits and cereals, through continental, to full English; and could be taken either in the restaurant or on the large open verandah overlooking the beach. The staff were attentive, helpful and very quick with their service. Within one minute's walk are a range of excellent restaurants to choose from. The walk along the seashore is a delight, as are the nearby parks. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for what it has to offer, and at competitive prices too!

Room Tip: For an extra Euro10 per night, I felt it well worthwhile having a room overlooking the sea. The only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

we had a lovely twin bedded room on the 4th floor. lovely location lovely views. the sun shone and it was a great 3 days. The rooms are compact yet you dont spend much time in them so who cares. the balcony was nice if small(we apid the extra and it is worth it)....it would have been nicer if the room had a fridge and a kettle so you could enjoy the morning sun with a cuppa and the evening air with a cool beer. (hence only 4 stars). the breakfast is ok but its not brilliant or exciting and the coffee..an aquired taste! Apart from that it was a lovely stay bathroom and cleaning were fine. staff were so friendly and helpful.Cascais is a lovely place. the free bikes are good in cascais but if you want gears and more adventure there is a hire shop (aquastart pt) down at the marina behind the citadel(as you look at it)..ride the coast path its great and sooo pretty.(takes water with you tho)

Room Tip: brace your self if you use the pool i did and it was sooooo cold. balcony room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Just a quick correction: We are a 3-star Hotel and not a 4-Star, although we are very happy that many of guests make that mistake! :)
I am also very sorry that the pool water was cold but the heater is being repaired. We hope next time you visit us you will be able to enjoy a nice warm swim. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing