We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the Hotel Baia”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
charleston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at the Hotel Baia”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just returned from another wonderful 10 day stay at the Hotel Baia. The staff at the hotel is excellent and our room was lovely with a breathtaking view of the ocean and slept peacefully to the sound of the waves breaking on the shore. Also enjoyed the view up the coast from our shower! The many modern renovations to the hotel are excellent while still maintaining its old world charm - celebrating 50 years! You cannot find a better location than this hotel, easy walk to shops, restaurants, the marina and the miles long promenade to Estoril along the coast offering a spectacular experience, view and restaurants by the sea. The hotel Baia restaurant run by Chef Nuno Ribeiro is excellent, our meals were outstanding and Chef was generous with sharing some recipes so I can try to replicate at home.
If you are looking for the best location, comfortable rooms with balcony, awesome views of the sea, great breakfast buffet, attentive staff, GREAT restaurant, terrace dining option, roof top pool with breathtaking views and meals poolside at a great price - this is the place!!

Room Tip: room 405 is perfect! Large, sunny with a view up the coast from the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarleneKristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it very usefull. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    315
    125
    30
    28
See reviews for
105
326
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great rooms with en suite and sea view in our case.

Clean & friendly staff.

Great restaurant with an excellent view of cascais bay and very reasonably priced..

Right in the centre of cascais near all the restaurants and easy access to the train station to lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask at reception after booking if you can be upgraded or make sure you ask for a view when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurfnPaddle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it very usefull. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pros:
The location is great. The beach starts directly across the street. The rooms have little balconies with an excellent view. Room and bathroom were clean. Bed was OK. The price was good, too (after a little bargaining on the phone). Staff was very friendly when checking out.
Cons:
Staff was not so friendly when checking in. Due to the location it was rather noisy. It is an old hotel, doors, furniture and especially carpets look a bit sad.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. The friendliness of the check in staff is something I will adress immediately!
The hotel is 50 years old this year and we are constantly doing renovations bit by bit. This means that some rooms will be more modern than others. We look forward to your next visit and perhaps we will be able to put you in one of the more recently renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Baia is one of the best justifications for the notion that you shouldn’t judge a hotel by its star rating. For a start this three star hotel dominates its cove in the Cascais bay in the way you might expect a five star hotel to do. Its commanding presence on its exterior is matched by the comfort and consideration that has be taken inside the hotel.

I have just returned on New Years Eve from a week at the hotel which was one of the best holidays I have ever enjoyed. I had a comfortable room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the bay. Almost every thing I needed was in place, and a couple of odd things that needed attention were speedily put right.

Catering in the place was to a high standard. The large breakfast buffet, unfeasibly large for one who tends to stick to cereal and coffee and toast, but it was all there if you wanted it. A snack service throughout the day with a good selection of items, and an award winning restaurant which gave me all the fresh fish I could want, presumably caught that day by Cascais own fishing boats, and cooked to perfection in the hotel’s kitchen. There were lots of meat, seafood and other options I did not attempt, though I did try and enjoyed tomato soup with a poached egg, an option I had not come across before.

There many other fine aspects to this hotel from a swimming pool and sunbathing area on the fifth floor, the Xmas weather though excellent did not quite reach sunbathing levels. I also liked the many nooks and crannies around the hotel where one could hide yourself away reading a book or using the iPad or computer, though the internet is only available on the ground floor. I noticed on their website that rooms cost around €50 a night, though as I had a balcony, mine was slightly more. I booked through Expedia who provided an excellent service, but the hotel did say that if I contacted them direct they might be able to make a better offer, which I will do next time

The staff were always helpful and friendly, coming up with practical solutions to all the problems I presented them with during my stay. The thing I much appreciate about being in a three star hotel as opposed to a five star, is that this three star hotel gave me all the facilities I needed, but left me to organise myself.

Of course the best hotel in the world would not compensate for being in a poor resort. Well Cascais is an excellent resort, with a wonderful coastline and beaches, where you can walk all the way past Estoril, There are plenty of other lovely walks, fine restaurants and cafes, and a fine shopping centre. My intention before I came had been to spend a least a couple of days in Lisbon, but the weather was far too good and the town far too pleasant. I just stayed in Cascais, soaked up the sun and pitied the people stuck in London facing the Xmas cold and rain

A good judge of a hotel is whether you would come back to it again. Well the Hotel Baia has already passed that one, because I first came in Xmas 2006, and I would probably have come back before but ill health prevented it. Now I have been again, and all the good things I noticed the first time have been repeated. I am certainly planning to come again next Xmas

Room Tip: The rooms without balconies are bigger than those with them, but I found the balcony gave you an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ToGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it very usefull. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with the beach cove right in front of the hotel. The hotel is nice, rooms a little small but adequate & cleaned daily. There's a small pool on the roof, but a great spot for sunbathing. We were there in mid September and the weather was fantastic, about 30 degrees with clear blue skies, we were told this was normally weather for August. Cascais has everything you want without being too big, plenty of reasonable restaurants and pubs, Shops & a few clubs. Taxis in Portugal were very cheap and were normally charged on the meter, a 45 min from Lisbon to Cascais cost us €30 between 4 people with luggage. Be wary of ordering a Taxi through the hotel as we got ripped off by Antonio Vieira(Lisbon Coast golf), to travel 10 mins to a golf club, it cost us €7 per person x 4 (€28)! A similar trip on a meter was €7. We were there on a stag doo and had a great time with everything in the vicinity. Cascais is very clean and well maintained with very friendly people, a recommended venue for anyone. The open air night club at Estoril is definitely worth a visit at the weekend if you're up for an all night party!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevFromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Kev from Englad,

Thank you for your review. I also thank you for giving us feed back about your experience with Lisbon Coast Golf, an independant agent offering golf services in the area. Although this is not a service offered by the hotel we often work with them so your feed back is very usefull. However, I wonder if you are taking into account the transportation of golf clubs?
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Baía in the near future. In the mean time, have a fantastic Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although the weather was not at its best for our stay(Nov24th-3rdDec) this Hotel was great. First of all the location, in the centre facing the Marina and Beach area of Cascais.This meant that shops,Bars and Restaurant were all within a 5-10 walk. The Hotel itself was of overall excellent value, the Staff were very helpful in all aspect during our stay. The room was cleaned every day even at 14.00hrs.(We stayed in a twin room 4th floor with Balcony) The Restaurant at the Hotel was good to very good(we only ate twice there) as we found an excellent Restaurant (The Luzmar) 2min from the Hotel,highly recommended for service and food(try the White Asparagus) with grilled Pork Chops also any of their Local Fish dishes.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenAnna657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year. In the meantime, have a fantastic Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had seen the hotel on a recent visit to Cascais and thought it would be a good place to stay, right next to the sea front. Our stay was only for 4 days but was really first class. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything my husband and I needed. We requested a room near the lifts as my husband has difficulty walking and that was done. The rooms were spotless clean and the roof top pool area was superb - especially at night. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms would probably be a little noisy during the height of the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
536 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing