We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh I do like to beside the seaside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Baia
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh I do like to beside the seaside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although the weather was not at its best for our stay(Nov24th-3rdDec) this Hotel was great. First of all the location, in the centre facing the Marina and Beach area of Cascais.This meant that shops,Bars and Restaurant were all within a 5-10 walk. The Hotel itself was of overall excellent value, the Staff were very helpful in all aspect during our stay. The room was cleaned every day even at 14.00hrs.(We stayed in a twin room 4th floor with Balcony) The Restaurant at the Hotel was good to very good(we only ate twice there) as we found an excellent Restaurant (The Luzmar) 2min from the Hotel,highly recommended for service and food(try the White Asparagus) with grilled Pork Chops also any of their Local Fish dishes.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenAnna657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year. In the meantime, have a fantastic Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    304
    123
    29
    27
See reviews for
99
305
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had seen the hotel on a recent visit to Cascais and thought it would be a good place to stay, right next to the sea front. Our stay was only for 4 days but was really first class. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything my husband and I needed. We requested a room near the lifts as my husband has difficulty walking and that was done. The rooms were spotless clean and the roof top pool area was superb - especially at night. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms would probably be a little noisy during the height of the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The room, though perhaps on the smallest side, had a magnificent aspect over the bay, with a balcony. The room and the hotel was of a standard and quality far above the 3 star status.The breakfasts were included and were copious, catering for all tastes. The restaurant at the hotel provided a very good standard of cuisine, but you also could have snacks if you liked. One particular desk lady was particularly helpful by phoning up the hotel in Lisbon we were going to from there, to confirm as to whether the booking had been made due to language problems I had initially when I booked it. As it was , it was a good thing she did phone, as the booking had not been made. There is also a covered pool on the top floor.
I was slightly annoyed when the waiter seem to leave us waiting at our table without cutlery and an unopened bottle of wine whilst he pandered to the whims of a group of loud Germans. It would be a good idea if the hotel provided a kettle with tea bags and instant coffee in the bedrooms. The pool could be open before 10 am for a before breakfast swim.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a sea view from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We have taken your suggestions into consideration as we are always trying to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I called to book this hotel, they offered 10 euros for 3 nights for 3 people in 1 room, including a double bed. I arrived the receptionist was cold and not friendly. Instead of 100 euros for 3 nights they charged me 100 euros per night. I agreed as me and my family were tired and we wanted to relax. When we got to the room it wasn't a double bed as promised it was 2 singles. I was outraged, firstly we were lied about the price just to book and secondly it wasn't a double bed, also the reservation agent promised a sea view room and it wasn't. I went downstairs to complain, in the end I had my money thrown at me face and my passports. I wouldn't advise my worse enemy to stay here completely terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harshbuttrue87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
This gentleman was obviously confused and mentally altered on arrival at the Hotel. With rolling eyes he was unable to speak to anyone unless shouting. None the less, he was always treated with respect and politeness. After spending almost an hour in the room the gentleman returned to reception and started shouting again because he did not have a double bed and a sea view. He had been clearly informed that the rate given was for a land view room. Given the gentleman's incomprehensible behaviour, the receptionist decided to refund the gentleman immediately in order to avoid any more disturbance in the reception area. It is completely untrue that he had his money "thrown" in his face. This person is a liar and a troublemaker and his reviews should be discredited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We chose the Baia for its location for our first visit to Cascais, and were not disappointed. Ideal for strolling to the string of small beaches, shops, bars and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and beautifully clean and breakfast was good. Bit a a split with the staff, reception and cleaning ladies lovely; bar and pool staff did not seem very cheerful. The rooftop area with pool is well laid out with good sunbeds, loungers, bar and a wonderful view of the bay. Underground car park worth the money as parking v limited in the town centre. Generally good value, comfortable hotel in this pleasant small resort - would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I are lucky to have just spent another 8 days at the baia, second time this year and already planning another trip we have been holidaying in beautiful cascais for nearly ten years and we have stayed in other hotels but we would not stay anywhere else, the food,the service,the comfort, the location all excellent. Couple of small improvements would be wifi on all floors, fridges in room/ ice machines on floors, and I have to agree with other comments re the breakfast juice it is poor quality, but all that aside we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We have taken your suggestions into consideration as we are always trying to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

First noticed this hotel 30 years ago when we were young and couldn't afford to stay there. 30 years later, we wondered what Cascais would be like and although it is much changed, we weren't disappointed. The hotel also lived up to our expectations.
We had a fourth floor room with sea view and the 15 Euro supplement was well worth it. The view over the harbour was fantastic. It would be a shame to go to this hotel and miss out on the view. The room was clean and the decor good. We didn't eat in the hotel, except for breakfasts, which we took in the sunshine on the outside terrace. Breakfasts were good and varied (particularly if you like cake for breakfast, which we don't!) and the coffee was OK.
The roof terrace was very pleasant for relaxing and sunbathing in October, but I suspect it may be too much of a suntrap during the summer. The only thing which this hotel lacks is a shady garden with outdoor pool. This is compensated for by its central location.
At the time when we were there, most of the other guests were Scandanavians of 'a certain age' on organised golfing holidays.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellabee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing