We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Location is fantastic, there is a small beach located right in front of the hotel and a lot of restaurants, cafes, and shops right behind it. Spent the extra money and got a room with balcony facing the water, loved it. Parking is conveniently located under hotel, a little pricey at 25euro a day, but made it very easy. Staff was fine, room was small but clean. Hotel does not have irons. Crib provided for my 5 month old daughter was a little old but served it's purpose. All in all it is a three star hotel in a five star location. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cascais, being able to walk to everything is something I really appreciate in a hotel. Whether it's beach, restaurant, cafe, shopping, even train station, everything is a quick walk from hotel, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Stayed on third floor, room 311 I think, facing water. Perfect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donni305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am sure many people will find it very usefull. We have negotiated a special Parking rate for Hotel guests of €10 per day and you can come and go as you please. We have also invested in some new cribs. We hope to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    309
    125
    30
    27
See reviews for
102
314
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

General

Reasonable for a quick stay and close proximity to beach and town centre, but nothing to write home about. Car Park located conveniently under the hotel. Nice covered pool on the roof but boy is the water cold !!

4/5 Check-in/out: Reasonably efficient with polite staff.

3/5 Room: Average décor but a little dated. Bright and good view if you are staying at the front of the hotel. Reasonable bathroom and shower but again a little dated.

3/5 Ambience/General: OK – nothing special. Quiet bar area but plenty outside and nearby the hotel.

Food

3/5 Breakfast; - not great buffet selection for breakfast.

5/5 Staff; Extremely efficient in all areas, helpful and plenty of them.

Average Summary Score: 3.6 / 5

Not sure I would go back again with so much to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have been renovating rooms gradually every winter. Some rooms are still in need of some refurbishment but we have been doing this in the low season. Buffet breakfast have been greatly improved offering a wide variety of breads and hot dishes as well as fruit , yogurt and cereals and some sweets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Close to train station for visits to Lisbon and Sintra, pink bus that brings you on the circle of Cascais, you can take it from the train station to Boca Infierno. There is a big Wal Mart type store across from station for food, beverages and just about anything else you may want.
Plenty of restaurants up the stairs from across the hotel and waterfront.

The hotel staff is ok except for a few front desk attendants that go the extra mile. Rooftop bar and pool great for the summer months.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back an visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel has a great location in Cascais. The rooms with the view are spectacular!!!! Cascais is small, but the hotel is near everyhting... also is very close to the bus station that can take you to guincho beach e other places... breakfast is OK. My room was on the small side, but nice and clean. Do not bring your own hair dryer or iron... you will cause the cirucit to go off and they will not be happy about it. Staff at the front desk a bit dry, could be more friendly, but you dont go to a hotel to make friends with the staff. they gave me what I needed in terms of information. . Great roof top - must see . I would go back...

Room Tip: Rooms with a view, otherwise is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valino13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thak you very much for your review. Constructive criticism is always welcome and we hope during your next visit you will the front desk staff a bit warmer. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice location near the sea, staff in Reception were efficient.
Always ask for a sea view, though this could cost.
Breakfast was certainly OK, though the coffee could be improved.
Roof top pool and views are great and the bar is worth a visit even if drinks are a bit expensive.
If you want a convenient, clean, tidy place to stay, give it a go.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, otherwise you look out on roof tops or O'Neil's and this can be lively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich201255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and recomendations which we have taken good note of. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel near the sea with a great view. Big rooms, nice bathrom, ok breakfast and a great roof top lounge / bar. also a pool on the roof top.
ask for a sea view and a balcony, we were a group and with the same price paid some got sea view, some didn't, same with balkonies.
Great location in beautiful Cascais, would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OysteinBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

...don't expect much...staff at reception is unfriendly and makes you feel like you bother them! Breakfast is OK, even if they recycle fresh fruits into fruit salad, after 2 days. Rooms are fine, but very noisy, since cleaning ladies start at 7 am vaccuming, and you can hear people coming and going at all times...

Room Tip: ...I asked for a quiet room, they gave me one in the middle of the hallway, instead of a corner, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneva99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, Gerente geral at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for review. Given that we are a 3 star Hotel you should not expect to find a luxury LHW property. However, we do have a 5 star location and strive to offer a 5 star service. My apologies if you feel the staff were unfriendly, I will do my best to correct this. With regard to the cleaners, I find it very odd that you should hear the vacuum at 7 am as they only clock in at 8am. In any case, our rooms have double doors, so that if you close them both it should greatly reduce any noise from people in the corridors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing