We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Return Visit”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I surprised my wife for her birthday by flying her first class from the US to Lisbon, Portugal to stay at one of our favorite hotels. She had no idea where I was taking her, and only after leaving breakfast in Rome, Italy and heading to the Lisbon gate, did she realize our destination. We travel all the time and are very fussy.

This was my third time in 9 years back to Hotel Baia with her, and her eighth visit in about 15 years. On arrival at the hotel, Cipriano was still at the front desk to greet us, by name. He has been working the front desk for over 33 years. Sydney was in the bar, his brother still in the restaurant. It is wonderful to return to have the staff still remember us and treat us like family coming home. Knowing it was her birthday, they had a bouquet of roses in our room for her.

Since our last visit in 2007, the hotel has undergone many changes. The new terrace is done and we have eaten outside. The restaurant, dinning/breakfast areas have been upgraded along with the first and fourth floor rooms and a terrace by the swimming pool on the fifth floor has been added. Currently the second and third floors rooms are being redone. The new rooms are airy and welcoming. The hotel has a greater feel than before, more cozy. There is a new chef as the former chef retired. Nuno, the new chef came from a resort in Hong Kong. Again, he is wonderful, taking the time to explain dishes to my wife who is a total foodie (we have a part time personal chef at our Caribbean home) so this was a delight to her. He brings a wonderful touch to the menu which still has all our favorite dishes and has added some of his own signature specials. Our lunches and dinners typically last 2 to 2.5 hours.

The view is still stunning. I spend much of my time on the terrace on my laptop using the high speed WiFi to work, then have long leisurely lunches with my wife, followed by relaxing strolls along the waterfront holding hands. The weather has also been perfect.

This hotel is truly one of the best hotels in this part of Europe for value, friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, the amenities, atmosphere and location. If you want a romantic get away for Valentine or any special occasion, this is the place to come.

Room Tip: Get the ocean facing rooms. The morning sun welcomes you to the day and its fun to stand on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NealPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words Neal. I'm sure many people will find your review helpfull. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 774 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

hotel is right in front of the beach , easy to walk into the town 1 minute, all the bars and restaurants, shops etc, a great to stay , easy for the motor racing circuit, estoril and beyond.
The hote l is clesn and quite modern, the staff are some what friendly, the food is good but no means excellent, good sea views if you get a seaview room , to the back rooms not much of a view , the pool is on the roof is great, when the weather is good and the views.

Room Tip: seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speedy1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it usefull. We have a new Chef now, so I hope you will visit us again soon and see what improvements have been made in the Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I agree with your previous reviewer, yes the The Baia is a 3 star Hotel, with 4 star luxury and a 5 star view and 6 star staff. Yes 6 ****** staff. It is always a pleasure to return here and find the same familiar faces on duty at Reception and also in the Bar & Restaurant, and indeed also the chambermaids. In recent years, the hotel has had a facelift in Breakfast and Dining Room areas, and now the the top floor swimming pool area has also been brought up to date. Rooms at the front overlook the bay and the sun shines on balconies from dawn to dusk. Best ask for a room on the 4th floor for quiet. We ate several times in the Restaurant and found the quality as good as and the value better than that in the town. Self-service Breakfast is more than adequate. The selection of eggs, cheese, sausage, cereal, and local bread is excellent and compares well with any 4* hotel, but best forget the reconsituted fruit juice and stick to tea, coffee, cocoa, milk or chocolate. We hope to return on many future occasions..

Room Tip: Ask for room on 4th floor facing the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dubliner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Average rooms and service, clean and tidy. We had a balcony with a view to the sea, which we liked very much (the negative side was the sometimes loud traffic in the night on the beach avenue). Only a short walk to the beach. Also the services of Cascais are very close to he hotel. A ten minutes walk to the train station.

The breakfast was ok and you could eat it on a terrace with a view to the sea. On the roof, there was a pool and a bar, but in June it was too hot for us to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karpal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can see what improvements have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The Baia is a 3 star Hotel, with 4 star luxury and a 5 star view and 6 star staff. Yes 6 ****** staff.
The rooms are small but spotless clean (after all you just sleep and shower in them) but the view from each seafront room at any time of the day especially morning is a tonic itself. The breakfast is average but very satisfactory. The main restaurant is a hidden gem, beautiful food at very reasonable prices and again that view, WOW !! The Pool and rooftop bar/snack bar rival any view anywhere in the world. (my opinion). The staff are so so helpfull and they are all years working with the hotel I believe..! It shows and it brings out that lovely family run feeling. Like they really care if your having a good time. And last of all the location, on the beachfront and less than 3 mins walk from all the bars, restaurants and shops. You have guessed by now that I love the Baia hotel and the tranquil, beautiful port of Cascais. Thats why i go there at least 3 times per year (yes im very lucky).

Do yourself a favour and when you have a chance, head to Cascais and the lovely hotel Baia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrAngels444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. The Hotel Baia is a family run Hotel and most of the staff have been with us for many years. Its is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and we try our best to make you want to come back again and again. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards form sunny Cascais,

João Coruche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Yes it is only 3* and room is a little bit old. But, free Wifi in the lobby and breakfast with hot and cold buffet and fantastic view of the sea makes this hotel better than the 5* Miragem hotel nearby. It is right next to the sea and small town. The town is small and charming and it is a lot better than other locations. From Baia to Miragem, it only takes 10 min on foot. From hotel to Casa Vila shopping mall, 10 min. Many small shopping stores around. Casa Villa bus terminal can take you directly to Sintra via bus 417. It only takes 35 min. If you take bus 403, you can stop at Roca and then go to Sintra so that it takes 75 min. Check the bus timetable at the bus terminal. One bus in every hour runs until 8:30 pm. Reception is helpful and every morning you can have breakfast looking out the sun rise at the buffet. Also they have swimming pool on the roof we did not try. But must be spectacular. I strongly recommend this hotel for budget and adventurous travellers. Not for the 5* lovers.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TotoroNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it very usefull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Unfortunately this is one of the best reasonably-priced hotels in Cascais. The location is
great, and, if you can get a higher floor room with a sea view this hotel is not bad.

Several problems with this hotel:

1. rooms are old and a bit worn down, but relatively clean.

2. rooms are very noisy, especially the lower level ones, since they are facing a busy road.

3. there is no internet in the rooms, even if you want to purchase it.

4. several of the staff people (Carlos in particular) are quite unprofessional.

Just one example: at one point we came downstairs to the lobby with our laptops to
discuss (here for a conference) and someone was carrying a bag of chips -- Mr. Carlos
immediately started shouting at us that eating in the lobby is forbidden.

This is completely unheard of in any decent hotel I have ever stayed at, including
5 star hotels in Portugal and elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here chose a 2nd or 3rd floor room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $81 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing