We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cost effective in Cascais and Estoril”
Review of Hotel Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey, US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best cost effective in Cascais and Estoril”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Yes it is only 3* and room is a little bit old. But, free Wifi in the lobby and breakfast with hot and cold buffet and fantastic view of the sea makes this hotel better than the 5* Miragem hotel nearby. It is right next to the sea and small town. The town is small and charming and it is a lot better than other locations. From Baia to Miragem, it only takes 10 min on foot. From hotel to Casa Vila shopping mall, 10 min. Many small shopping stores around. Casa Villa bus terminal can take you directly to Sintra via bus 417. It only takes 35 min. If you take bus 403, you can stop at Roca and then go to Sintra so that it takes 75 min. Check the bus timetable at the bus terminal. One bus in every hour runs until 8:30 pm. Reception is helpful and every morning you can have breakfast looking out the sun rise at the buffet. Also they have swimming pool on the roof we did not try. But must be spectacular. I strongly recommend this hotel for budget and adventurous travellers. Not for the 5* lovers.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TotoroNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure many people will find it very usefull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    315
    125
    30
    28
See reviews for
105
324
32
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Unfortunately this is one of the best reasonably-priced hotels in Cascais. The location is
great, and, if you can get a higher floor room with a sea view this hotel is not bad.

Several problems with this hotel:

1. rooms are old and a bit worn down, but relatively clean.

2. rooms are very noisy, especially the lower level ones, since they are facing a busy road.

3. there is no internet in the rooms, even if you want to purchase it.

4. several of the staff people (Carlos in particular) are quite unprofessional.

Just one example: at one point we came downstairs to the lobby with our laptops to
discuss (here for a conference) and someone was carrying a bag of chips -- Mr. Carlos
immediately started shouting at us that eating in the lobby is forbidden.

This is completely unheard of in any decent hotel I have ever stayed at, including
5 star hotels in Portugal and elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here chose a 2nd or 3rd floor room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingdudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Its a three star hotel - that means there is no room service or mini bar and more disappointingly no coffee making in the bedrooms. But - it is well situated right on the sea front and in the heart of what is left of old Cascais with small balconies overlooking the sea. The room is pleasant and modern. Our big bathroom was excellent. The reception rooms are big, modern, very pleasant and very clean. There is a friendly bar and nice seating areas , good restaurant and they do excellent snacks at all hours. Free internet on the ground floor. The staff were very pleasant , spoke first rate English and were helpful at all times. The bed was very hard but the staff did whatever they could to help including putting extra padding beneath the sheets , but the beds are very hard - be warned. AC in the rooms works well and is probably important in the summer.

All in all very pleasant and good value in Cascais where rip off is the order of the day. Shame about the hard beds.

Room Tip: We had a two room suite which isn't much extra and probably worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DencUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I found it very constructive and I am sure many travellers will find it usefull. Although we do not have mini bars or coffee making facilities we do offer room service from 8 am until midnight. The menu can be found inside the booklet for general information provided in the room. I am sorry you found the matresses to be hard. In Portugal we usually prefer hard matresses to soft as (apparently) they are better for the back but I do understand that some people prefer softer matresses. This is why we have invested in the fluffy matress covers you saw. However, we will invest in some softer matresses so that we can offer guests a choice whenever possible. I hope you will visit us again soon and experience these future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Was back here again beginning October,hotel wonderful as usual,blue bar is very stunning,piña colads lovely,what's not to love about this hotel,ok only wi fi in bottom floor bit o a pain, but other than that excellent,be back again in April.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your review! You were also blessed with fantastic weather, for October, I believe. :)
We look forward to welcoming you again in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Easy 5-min. walk from Train Station along pedestrian shopping street - great rooftop terrace and bar plus pool (limited pool hours 10 - 6, though) - lovely outdoor terrace dining facing the bay where a nice breakfast buffet can be taken.

Though our reservation through a booking service did NOT include breakfast, the hotel provided it free anyway. Welcoming staff - sorry we could stay only one night - DO NOT MISS the gorgeous seaside walkway towards Estoril - beaches, surfers, cafes, shops and views - it's wide, paved, and mostly level - starts from the Estoril end of town - you'll love your stay. Underground parking is an asset in this busy resort town. Though we arrived by train, we here joined with friends already traveling by car.

The 45-minute electric train ride to Lisbon is a nice sight-seeing trip in its own right (arrives at Lisbon's Cais do Sodre train station near the water), and was just 2.5 euros one-way.

To reach Hotel Baia from Cascais train station: walk out the station and pass in front of MacDonald's; turn right onto the pedestrian shopping street and follow it to the end (perhaps 4 blocks). There's a pharmacy on the left side of the street, and if you look across to your left you'll see the Hotel Baia.

We were cordially welcomed. We did NOT have a sea-view room, but looked across a pretty part of town (my friend's room was on a lower floor at the back with no view - there's a concrete wall across from this side of the hotel for 3 floors or so, so ask for a high storey room if you opt for the less expensive rooms). We founds this room (like ALL rooms throughout our 13 days in Portugal) to be immaculately clean. Though I agree with other reviewers that the rooms are due for an update, we found the breakfast buffet offering to be very good and plenty extensive.

This hotel is a very good value (especially with the bay location, pool and rooftop terrace, plus parking) for Cascais, which is not an inexpensive town. We wished we'd had another day in Cascais, which is a charming town with plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops and winding "cobbled" streets PLUS the sea views everywhere.

Room Tip: If you choose a less expensive room WITHOUT seaview, ask for a high floor so you'll have a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euroridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I'm sure other travellers will find it very usefull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Rather shabby rooms which have seen better days but the public rooms are fine. Wi-fi only in lobby. Great position, so easy to walk everywhere and the balcony looks straight out onto the beach in front of the hotel. Easy connections by train into Lisbon. Excellent restaurants within walking distance. Can be noisy at night due to busy night-life in Cascais. Very reasonable room rates especially out of season.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Since your stay in November 2010 we have renovated some rooms and we hope to renovate the last remaining rooms this winter. Being located in the centre of town we have to take the good (location, view, proximity to restaurants and bars) with the bad (noise from bars). The double-glazed windows installed, however should greatly reduce the noise. We are also looking into making wi-fi available in the rooms. Although, for now, it is only available for free in all the comunal areas along the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pros:
-Nice situated in the marina area
-Cosy little town, but not much to do in November
-Helpful staff
-Small but OK bathroom
-OK breakfast, but not much to select from

Cons:
-Tired bulding and rooms. In need for renovation.
-Hard beds
-Dirty, especially the carpet, and not much the maid can do to do it better
-The AC(we used it as a heater) is making a bit too much noise
-Only wifi in the bar. Luckily we had our room in the floor over it and got signals:)
-Three nights here were enough for us even if we originally had booked for a week. We moved to Lisbon and felt in love <3

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaoCoruche, General Manager at Hotel Baia, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. We have done some renovations (new rooms and carpets) and improvements since your stay in November 2010 and will continue to do so in the near future. Our customers' input is always very valuable to help us improve. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
534 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Property: Hotel Baia
Address: Av Marginal, Cascais 2754-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 30 km from Lisbon on the Estoril Coast, Hotel Baia has a privileged sea-front location, facing the Cascais Bay and offering a fabulous view of the ocean. The recently renovated Hotel Baia has 113 fully equipped rooms. Most of the rooms have a private balcony overlooking the sea. The Hotel Baia also has Conference Rooms with wireless Internet access, Banquet rooms for up to 300 people, private underground car park and our reputed Baia Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Cascais
Hotel Baia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing