We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't even think about staying here!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VillaCascais Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The pictures and five stars in the brochure for this guest house are 10 years old! They do not represent the place as it is now, which can only be called a dump. They make it look elegant. The nice looking terrace featured in the photo is an awful shabby slab with old chairs that need new paint and peeling tables. Nothing works--the plumbing, the ventilation, the electricity, etc. The reason I chose it was because it was linked to the supposedly best hotel in Cascais, but it turns out they are just using it to make money by deceiving people with lies from their brochure and blurbs. They are trying to sell it but maybe having trouble. The breakfast is poor, packaged stuff and instant coffee masquerading as real. The room maid would not help me get my bags across the hall. The windows are broken, the shades and curtains are ripped, and at the peak hour for showers there was no hot water! The management might kiss you off with an offer for free meals as a palliative, but don't be deceived--after that they behave as if you don't exist and don't take a penny off for bad service and dilapidated quarters. Also the windows rattle and are not soundproof, so the incredibly loud vibrating rock concert just outside shook the building and prevented sleep. The rooms smell of food odors. What a colossal ripoff!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellodonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2007

we have spent 1 night in room n°6 . V.A. is a very relaxing and romantic place. the service is first class and you can either go to the swimming pool in hotel albatroz or to the beaches nearby or to guincho. I am travelling quite a lot and have seen quite a lot of hotels and I know quite well Portugal but villa albatroz is just what you need for a bit of relax in a sophisticated context.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Just back for 4 nights at the Villa.

We found the place to be very good with polite and attentive staff. I would not consider it to be 5 star however, it would be more like 3.5 to 4 star on a European scale. I figure that the Portuguese star system is different from Ireland's.

The room was a basic room with Harbour view and priced at €224 per night including breakfast which was good value. Only criticisms were that the air con was a little noisy when started up and the taps make a bizarre screeching sound when running (you can hear other rooms taps screeching too!).

As a guest of the Villa you can use the Hotel Albatroz facilities which is a bonus as there is a nice Pool/sunning area, it is very picturesque and the lunch menu is good.

We tried the Hotel Albatroz resturant one night and found it very pricey for Portugal at €120 for 2. This is mad when you can have a fabulous fish meal in the town with wine, starters, mains, desserts etc. for about €50 for 2 including gratuity and I personally felt that the food was nicer!

Overall a nice experience and we will go back but will eat in town in future.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Roscoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

I have just returned from a stay at Villa Albatroz and found my experience totally different from the visitor from Texas.

It is a charming and pleasant guest house, situated right in the centre of Cascais. It is perfect for someone who loves to stay in the centre of town with all facilities within easy reach.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely. We were offered a cooked breafast each morning without prompting (and without extra cost). I particularly liked the (now famous)coffee machine. You can help yourself to coffee whenever you are ready for another cup, and not have to wait for a waiter.

Please do not be put off by the negative review - it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Browncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

I am surprised by the negative comments of the visitor from Texas regarding this hotel. I recently spent 3 nights at the Villa Albatroz, for considerably less than the cost of the other hotels in the Albatroz chain. I found the hotel really comfortable, the staff incredibly friendly and helpful, breakfast was great - I don't drink coffee, but hey this is southern Europe and Filter Coffee is not really drunk here.
What was exceptional was the quality of the restaurant 100 maneiros. I highly recommend staying here, you get to use all the facilities at the Hotel Albatroz, less than a five minute walk away and benefit from a full 5 star service.

Please don't be put off by comments about this hotel being a dormitory - it really is not.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
15
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We booked this hotel on line on the basis that the Hotel Albatross was full, but that the 5 star Albatross Villa was "just as good". Nothing could be further from the truth. The Albatross Villa is little more than a "dormitory" bearing the prestigious Albatross name.
The room was OK, but was quite noisy as you can hear very loudly everytime someone opens and closes a door in the building.

Our main issue though is with the "5 star" claim when in my opinion the service level is barely 1 star.

Shortly after checking in we decided to go to the pool. We were told the pool is located a mere 5 minute walk through the town at the Hotel Albatross. We were told the same thing when we wanted to have something to drink or eat, as the Villa's restaurant and bar are closed on Sundays and Mondays. ( I guess the management feels justified in claiming 5 stars as long as they can provide access to the facilities and services in the same town?)

The breakfast in my opinion was even below a 1 star standard. There was an espresso machine and large cups - no filtered coffee or hot milk as you would expect in even the simplest of facilities. I had to go looking for the waiter who was preoccupied surfing the web and asked him for a coffee with milk. Apparently he filled one of the large cups with several shots of espresso and added milk which produced a most unpleasant caffeine reaction later in the morning. ( I learned not to ask for that again!) There was really very little selection to choose from and there was no toaster or opportunity for a hot breakfast if one so desired.

To sum it up, the management of this hotel is an embarassment to Portugese Tourism. It is a shame because Portugal has so much to offer, but by allowing this management to rip off tourists by using a 5 star name to charge 5 star prices for a poorly managed dormitory is doing irreparable harm to Portugal's image in the Tourist world.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Villa Albatroz in Cascais. We had the bay view room on the second floor with the orange painted walls. First of all the hotel is very expensive (we payed EURO 280 per night per room) and the room was very small The room looks much bigger on the picture in the internet. The air condition was to loud and the room very noisy. The worst is the non renovated bath room, to small and ugly old decor. Also the staff at the breakfast restaurant is very unfriendly and the breakast is lousy (not enough fruit, just one glass of orange juice per person and a coffee maschine where you have to do your coffee by yourself). In our opinion, dont stay at this overrated hotel. Try the Fortalezza del Guincho (10 km away). To be fair, Paula, the girl at the reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank F.R.M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.2 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 39 in Cascais
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VillaCascais Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VillaCascais Guesthouse

Address: Rua Fernandes Thomas 1 | Rua Fernandes Thomas 1, Cascais 2750-342, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $137 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VillaCascais Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique villa in the centre of a special village. Once an aristocratic residence of the 19th century, today a small luxury guesthouse with 11 luxurious rooms located on the Bay of Cascais, in the historical centre and next to the Fisherman's Beach. VillaCascais is where you can enjoy the magic of Cascais, the small houses, narrow alleyways, cobblestone pavements, the smell of the sea and the faded lights... everything that characterizes this village. This charming guesthouse offers elegant accommodation, with a mix of modern and vintage decor. VillaCascais features fine outdoor dining providing guests with stunning views of the bay and the village. The restaurant - Reserva by Olivier - has strong Portuguese influences, based on the best quality national ingredients. An expansive drink by the glass wine list, carefully hand-picked, gives it its distinctive character. Transfers from and to the Lisbon airport can be arranged on request. The Cascais Train Station is a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your VillaCascais Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Albatroz Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing