We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bauhaus by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

A splendid conversion of the 16th century citadel into an upscale modern hotel. Excellent service, great food, beautiful views of the ocean and the marina. We stayed five days, using it as a base for exploring Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos and Evora, and found it a perfevt location. The room decor is Bauhaus-minimalist, all black/white/grey and rectilinear - those who like palaces will find no baroque touches - but very comfortable, although in places (shower, toilet) minimalist design means imperfect function. There is no parking within the citadel, so we had to leave the car in the marina garage, a five minute walk away. All things considered a wonderful and unusual hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Nathan D,

thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, Cascais is indeed a great village next to everything, with wonderful views and perfect location. Regarding the parking facilities, we have been working for a solution so the next time you visit us we hope that it won't be an issue. We all send you best wishes and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were only here one night but that was enough to appreciate the superb quality of the hotel !
Everything was absolutely first class and the location could not be better. The rooms are very good, many with their own "front door" into the courtyards which have comfortable seating areas.
Stunning views over the marina make the terrace a popular place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear James B,

What a review! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. You said everything and with few words you have 'perfectly' described our Hotel, the location, the view, the service... Everything for First Class Guests like you! Hope to welcoming you back soon so you can enjoy the facilities that you didn't had time to, we will be anxiously waiting for you!

Yours sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My room overlooked the courtyard but I got a very good rate the breakfast was superb with champagne and eggs cooked to order. A lovely indoor pool and sauna Service impeccable with smiling local staff

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uxonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear uxonion,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review! We are all glad to know that you enjoyed your stay but we want to achieve your 5 star rate, so we will be anxiously waiting for a next visit to 'WOW' you.. even more! ;)

Yours sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

As soon as you enter the old citadel walls and catch sight of the pousada you know it is going to be a pretty special place. The large, spacious modern lobby area is welcoming, as were the staff who greeted us on arrival. The staff here were very efficient and highly professional and even managed to turn around what could have been a negative experience. We had booked a standard room and were shown to it on arrival. We were very disappointed. The room was small, had a window looking out onto a wall and bizarrely had no chairs in which you could sit and relax! Definitely not what we had envisaged in a hotel of this quality. However, the reception staff very kindly changed our room for a much larger one with an outside sitting area, which was very nice. The hotel itself is full of art pieces and places including the entrance lobby and bar area.
Breakfast was lovely. The selection and quality of the food was excellent, although as other reviewers have noted the coffee served from vacuum jugs was pretty awful. It was a real delight to sit out on the balcony overlooking the marina enjoying breakfast.
Overall, a lovely hotel.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Calmcglaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Calmcglaughlin,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our hotel. The Front Office team already knows how much you appreciated their assistance regarding the choice of the best room for your stay and they all send you best compliments. We were glad to hear about the art pieces since we are proud to be, since March, the first hotel in Europe to have an Art District. Please come back soon and we will guide you through with our Art Concierge.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is perfect - close walk to the town centre (5 mins away).

The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms large, and the facilities good (pool, gym, hairdryer - but only 2 irons for the whole hotel - strange!)

The staff are friendly enough, but not over the top helpful.

The breakfast buffet style is plentiful and fresh, a lot of variety (hot and cold cuts).

One disappointing thing - the room service for cleaning the room - they come during the morning and day, and knock constantly to come in. At 9.00am they knocked 3 times in a period of 15 minutes, even though no answer (in bathroom or sleeping!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Duckie D,

Thank you for your review and kind words about our location, architecture and service. On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that the room service was not up to your standards. Please know that your concerns will be communicated to our management team. We want to be ‘The Best’ in your eyes so we look forward for an opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Lovely hotel in a beautiful and historic setting. The decor is clean and modern and there is lots of really cool contemporary art on the walls to look at yet you still feel you are staying somewhere with an interesting past which you glimpse from time to time when you walk past the old walls of the citadella.

Breakfast, indoor pool and outdoor roof terrace are all excellent and the general vibe is laid back and friendly.

And the front of house staff are all extremely smiley, patient and helpful answering any questions, providing advice and just being a real asset to the hotel. Big obrigado to Ana who taught us lots of Portuguese words throughout our stay.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank greigab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear greigwithani,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We constantly strive for efficiency and quality in our service so we are very happy to know that your stay was a memorable one. Best compliments from the entire team and of course from Ana! ;) Please come back and visit us soon.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were only booked in one night prior to leaving Portugal on a tour with Riviera Travel, so read this review in that light. First impression was excellent - the entrance through the fort gates into the old parade ground with the hotel in front was one of the best entrances to a hotel I have come across. The reception staff were really friendly and welcoming. Finding the room was a bit of a trial - the hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren and needs better signage. We were in a standard room - so no sea views and terraces. But the rooms were spacious with comfortable beds and well equipped (apart from only a single chair at the desk - there was plenty of space for an easy chair) As to the decoration - very modern but so boring - white walls, grey headboard and curtains - (reminded me of an advert currently on UK TV for Dulux Paint - where colour is banned) When you don't have the sea views (or any view for that matter) it would be good if colour was added to the room - otherwise my mood is grey - which could explain my reaction to dinner that night! As a group of 50 we were booked into the restaurant for our evening meal - some of the group had an early (07:30) flight the next day so we had dinner early (19:30/20:00). The restaurant is next door to the hotel swimming pool, so as we sat down to dinner we were engulfed with the sour smell and taste of chlorine from the pool - what was the hotel designer thinking of when he/she thought that would be a good idea??? The next problem was the noise from the swimming pool - it was full of small/excitable children and the staff were not able to close the doors between the pool and the restaurant - they had sent for maintenance - but he just seemed to be scratching his head!!!!. I am partially deaf and need a hearing aid - but the level of noise from the pool was not acceptable - I could not even hear my partner across the table!!!! I finally lost patience and went to speak to reception - who were very good and closed the pool (it was scheduled to close at 20:00 - but by the time it actually was closed was nearer to 21:00) Now to the meal itself - what a disappointment - a hotel can often be judged on how it caters for a group - there were only 50 of us - so not difficult? - but firstly - the table arrangement was all wrong - staff did not have room to move, took a long time for a wine list to appear and as to the food (like the rooms?) it was bland and colourless, the starters had no taste or flavour, the main course - although the sea bass was good - I had no idea what it was served with. The desert was fine (but that's the easy one to get right) The next day however was a different matter - although the restaurant still has engulfed with chlorine the breakfast was excellent (how much better it would have been without the chlorine! I'm sorry to have to score the hotel so low, because the staff were excellent, but I was expecting a Pousada to reflect the traditions of Portugal but what you get is a bland badly designed modernist hotel set in a wonderful old fort!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with a balcony/terrace otherwise it's like being incarcerated in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Einrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Einrac,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. The information you have shared will be relayed to our management staff. Please email us with a phone number or email address so our Hotel Manager can discuss your issues personally.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,256 reviews
1 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#17 of 39 in Cascais
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 39 in Cascais
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: $121 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing