We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting there.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Getting there.....”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

To be included in the "Leading Hotels of the World" after less than two years operation, to me was a big mistake and is a label that will be like a millstone around its neck.
It is a very nice and unusual hotel set within an old fort, personally I did not like the minimalist approach inside but like the hotel itself, you will either like it or hate it, I cannot see any middle ground.
I did enjoy my weeks stay and if in Cascais again I would probably stay there again.
It does have an Achilles Heel which has been mentioned in earlier reports and that is the breakfast room. Much over half occupancy and it comes under huge pressure with queues forming for breakfast which will not sit well with guests. Personally I would swop the Breakast Room with the Lobby Bar. The Manager is excellent and very visible and is obviously taking onboard the criticisms but breakfast is something he needs to resolve quickly. The staff were very friendly and efficient but appeared to lack experience under pressure and there was something of a disconnect with the kitchen where the same comment applies to the Chef(s); food however excellent and the breakfast/lunch room work more efficiently when Felip Holstein is on duty. Quick wins would certainly be the introduction of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, large bottle(s) of water also and an improved mini-bar.
Rooms are very comfortable if not slightly quirky and it would pay to enquire about room size when booking as ours felt more like a large single than a double room.
Overall a hotel with great potential to get even better but with a huge label to live up to.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina and sea are a must as you have the sun on your balcony all day as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Alan P,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We also thank you for addressing the areas and details you wish to see improved, and your comments will be forwarded to senior management. I'll be sure to also pass on your compliments to Filipe Holstein! We truly wish that the next time you visit Cascais, as you've mentioned, you'll give us another chance to make your stay impeccable!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    344
    112
    48
    25
See reviews for
234
682
23
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in the Pousada de Cascais for three nights and whereas the weather was rather rainy and unkind at this time of year, it did not upset our visit in any way. The design of this Pousada is brilliant, the hotel blends in with perfection into the star shaped fort in which it has been built, from everything you look at you say - now that is very clever, but design aside, this is a place where it is just so easy to wind down. Our bedroom was so comfortable, the main bar with its high roof and sculpture with 600 swallows flying along walls and up towards a skylight, a great place to relax and the dining room, up high and looking over the battlements and down over the marina-superb. Breakfast was excellent each morning and we had a really good dinner one night when we were there. Finally I must mention the staff, all with smiles on their faces and really friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwyerkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear dwyerkev,

You cannot imagine how glad we were with your lovely words. Thanks for sharing it and for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. We are so happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. Your kind words mean so much to us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent a relaxing long weekend at the Pousada in September. The location and surroundings are excellent. There is a tranquil feel to place and the staff are without exception friendly and helpful. Whilst this was not high season, the volume of guests seemed to put a strain on the restaurant at breakfast time. This resulted in waiting fro a table and then being restricted as to what was available from the buffet - running out of yoghurt...I mean?

The pool and terrace were great places to relax and I found the mixture of having the modern hotel within the ancient fortress worked really well. It is a short walk into town or over to the marina where there is a wide selection of bars and restaurants. It is worth noting that there is a 'short-cut' through the basement of the hotel to the marina that saves a bit of walking.

Overall, a fine place and a good base for a weekend.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a balcony as the public areas are a bit limited and can get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear wianw,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the main aspects of your stay, such as the service, staff, location, surroundings, and the others you've mentioned, but we are sorry the breakfast didn't meet your expectations. We will forward your comments on to senior management. We hope the next time you visit Cascais you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you and make your stay flawless.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our first weekend away with out the Kids for some hard earned R&R. what a great spot to enjoy some R&R, attentive staff , great location and surroundings and recommend the 2 hr spa treatment as well. came away very chilled and relaxed if visiting Cascais try Dom Diniz and Heminways you won't be disappointed with the food service or atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Andrew R,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We were so glad to be your choice for your first weekend without the kids ;) and more happy to know that we've met your expectations. We take great pride in the quality of our service and are glad that you felt well taken care of. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This pousada is in a lovely setting overlooking the marina. From the outside it is stunning, set at the far side of a cobbled square with the president's summer palace on one side, some boutique shops on the other and a restaurant opposite. However, inside it is very modern - which considering it is built within the old Fort was a bit of a surprise. It is mainly on one level so be prepared to walk quite a long way to the restaurant and some of the bedrooms. There is an interior bar which isn't very welcoming or comfortable. The breakfast room/restaurant is much nicer with a view of the marina. Breakfast was satisfactory but not impressive. Room was very comfortable, although considering the price I think Premier Inns would give them a run for their money!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy22008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambasador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Daisy22008,

We were glad to know about the positive aspects of your stay, but real sorry to hear that our modern architecture did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your detailed feedback, as it is the best way for us to understand how we can enhance your guest experience in the future. We hope that the next time you visit Cascais you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you and make your stay flawless.

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pousada this past July/August. We had never been to Portugal and I was contemplating whether to stay in Lisbon or Cascais but I was thinking summer and why not tie a resort town to our vacation. (I'm so glad we did) The town of Cascais is charming with cobblestone streets, lovely architecture, many restaurants and miles of beaches. The hotel was perfect for our stay. The train station is a 10 minute walk and there is a direct train to Lisbon. You can also hop a bus to Sintra. Perfect location. Perfect accommodations. I can not say enough wonderful things about Cascais and the Pousada de Cascais. There are so many places in the world to visit- but we will be back.

Room Tip: We had read online that rooms facing the marina may be noisy at night, especially in the summer (man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JillLove,

Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful and positive review and are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us on your first (of plenty, we hope) visit to Portugal/Cascais. We'll be anxiously waiting to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khamis Mushait, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second Pousada. But incredibly different. Very beautiful. Stylish, new and great service. The lady at the front desk was very accommodating and helpful. Unfortunately, on the check out, this same lady charged me a supplement of 60 euros when we were told that the supplement was 30 euros per night. I was really depressed by her lecturing me about how that was a difference between Friday night and Saturday night. Oh well, live and learn.

If you get a chance to stay here, be sure and take it. It is a very wonderful location next to the Marina. Breakfast was fantastic with great service and unbelievable views of the port and marina. I would make a point of visiting Portugal again, just to go to Cascais and stay in the center of the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Philip B,

Thank you so much for you review! While I am glad you enjoyed our service, location and decor, I'm sad to hear about your 'not so good' check-out experience. We are deeply committed to delivering superior service and customer dissatisfaction is taken very seriously. Please let me know if you would like to speak to our hotel manager and I will make that happen. In the end it's delightful to hear that you'll give us the honour of welcome you back, we'll be gladly waiting!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
561 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida D. Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing