We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Nearby Hotels
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Cascais(Cascais)(Great Value!)
$121
$106
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$347
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saboia Estoril Hotel(Estoril)(Great Value!)
$151
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clube Do Lago(Estoril)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveler rating
848
395
127
52
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
848
395
127
52
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the marinawithin the wallsold fortresscitadel wallsindoor pooltaberna darooms are modernunique hotelsun deckbreakfast restaurantsmall windowsuperior roomexcellent breakfastbreakfast roommain restaurantstayed longerexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our one night stay helped us hop between southern Portugal and Serra da Estrela. This was our second Pousada and again a faultless experience. Helpful, informative staff. Situated a short walk from the bustling harbour town centre, with its vast choice of restaurants (make sure you don't miss the amazing ice-cream parlour Santini for dessert). The pool/spa area, though small, is a clever, contemporary design - easy to enjoy. Our room on a lower floor was simply design heaven! Attention to detail is excellent. Breakfast was wonderfully delicious. There is no on-site parking but the choice of public car parks very nearby was excellent.

Room Tip: In a hotel of this quality it must be difficult to be disappointed by the rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Karin C,

"Faultless experience!" - What an incredible review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a positive experience with us. We are glad you were able to experience our amazing views and found our design, staff, location and attention to details excellent! We hope that you'll give us the opportunity to provide you with another extraordinary stay the next time you visit Portugal!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

On our first night here we couldn't get to sleep til 03:30 due to the amount of noise from bars in the Marina which our room overlooked. The following morning I spoke to the management and pointed out that the possibility of noise from these bars should be made clear on the website so guests can have an informed choice before they book ..... obviously that doesn't currently happen. The management knew of this problem and said they'd had several meetings with bar owners but there was nothing that could be done. They offered us alternative rooms, but unfortunately none gave us the same view. We'd specifically booked what are classed on the website as Sea/Marina view rooms with terrace and none of the alternatives we were offered met that criteria, not even the Presidential Suite. So our choice was stick with the room we had booked, for the views and accept the noise and lack of sleep, or change to quieter rooms without any views. Other guests we spoke too also had trouble sleeping due to the noise from the Marina.

When I told management after 2 days we'd considered moving to another, quieter hotel, we were offered a 10% discount on our total stay for the noise inconvenience, which on a 5 night booking at their rates, was meager. Since our return to the UK we completed an online questionnaire we were sent from LHW and three days later we received en email offering a complimentary nights accommodation ..... not much use when we're back home and on reflection it would have been more use to have discounted our bill by this extra amount of 400+ euros.

Another point that hadn't been mentioned until we arrived was that the main lobby area had been 'closed' for the season, meaning there was no communal area to sit, meet friends, or have a drink. This actually constitutes a lack of services that are still being offered on the website. When a company cannot fulfill it's sales promise it shouldn't still charge full rates!

Having visited, we are staggered that this is a member of the LHW (Leading Hotels of the World), that meant we had certain expectations and one of them was that 'complimentary water in your room' possibly meant more than one bottle. On our second day I rang reception to tell them our 'complimentary water' hadn't been replaced. Apparently to do that was going to cost us 8 euros!

Towels were very poor quality ..... there was no iPod dock ( which even 3 and 4 star hotels offer these days ) ..... bathroom toiletries and hairdryer were cheap quality ..... and the pool was small, 3 lengths maximum ..... the terrace wasn't cleaned properly for three days ..... dirty glasses were left in our room. The hotel restaurant has a very bizarre 'concierge' system meaning that guests have to queue to be 'signed in' for breakfast ...... then taken to their table, by the same person who has just signed them in. This results in the queue getting longer with guests having to wait to be seated simply to get their buffet breakfast. And I don't really need to be greeted by my name appearing on screen whenever I switch the TV on. I don't have memory problems.

Location is good ..... but we think the hotel is very over priced for what you get. Be warned.

Room Tip: Be aware that IF you want a Sea/Marina view room there will be noise from bars and a Karaoke Club, especially at weekends until 3am.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear CNT51,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments were passed along to each department involved, and please let me know if you would like to speak again with our hotel manager and we will make that happen. We take great pride in the quality of our service and we truly wish that you'll accept our invitation and give us the opportunity to welcome you back so we can provide you with a positive and memorable stay!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just back from Cascais, having spent 3 nights in this outstanding hotel. In an old fort, close to the Cascais Marina. Slept in rooms that were mini-suites. Location, ancestry location and very modern and clean rooms are really a must do.

Only minor point, it feels rather humid in the rooms. Good and large variety of breakfast. Marvellous location, outstanding view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V_Dupont_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear V_Dupont_BE,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the humidity of your room. Your concerns have been heard and will be passed on to our management staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pousada de Cascais - Cidadela Historic Hotel soon!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent 4 nights here. Hotel a little difficult to find, knew what it looked like but was unaware it was INSIDE the old fort walls so hard to see. Initially was given a room in the old palace, overlooking the square. Weekend of the "festival of lights" so music and lights flashing until midnight through the window. The room was also too small. After complaining to the front desk several times, the night manager assisted us, moved us to a larger, quieter room (much better customer service than at the Pousada in Oporto, where were essentially told tough luck when we expressed our dissatisfaction). This made our stay much more enjoyable. The room was large, bed comfortable, exceptionally clean. Breakfasts excellent. Staff friendly. Parking a pain but the staff gave us options of where to park, we did the 5 euro parking about a 4 minute walk from the hotel. From Cascais we went into Lisbon on the train and took the car to Sintra, activities worth the time. We avoided the tourist area and ate in small restaurants around the hotel which were extraordinary. Overall was a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a room in the newer building. The rooms in the older palace area are very small.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear judy845,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! It is our pleasure to be able to accommodate your preferences and to make your stay as stress-free as possible! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Maria João Simões
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay with my elderly Mum. We arrived late at night and first impressions did not disappoint. Just as our taxi pulled up to the door our bags were taken by a staff member and delivered to our room. Most of the rooms come with baths but the staff had purposely allocated us a room with a walk in shower due to my Mums age, it was very thoughtful.
Breakfast in the morning was in the Resturant overlooking the marina. As well as a great selection of fresh fruit, cheeses, hams, cereal and hot food the kitchen will gladly make up an omelette or whatever you fancy.
Housekeeping were very helpful, quickly delivering an iron and extra hangers to our room when requested.
I found the location of this hotel to be perfect. Just at the end of the town it was a perfect distance to walk after dinning in the town in the evening.
We actually ended up eating in the main Resturant in the hotel on 3 evenings, which we have never done in any previous holidays. Here the food was so good, and the menu so extensive, and such good value, it was worth it. And a special mention to one of the waiting staff Carina, who looked after us each night we ate in the resturant and who real went above and beyond with her food recommendations and convincing the chef to fillet a whole sea bream for both my mum and I on a busy Saturday night.
Unfortunately there is so much to do and see in Cascais and the surrounding villages that we never did get to try out the hotel Spa, hopefully we will next time as if I do get to go back to Cascais I will definitely return to this hotel.
PS they do a great value over 55 rate!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishskibunny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Irishskibunny23

You can't imagine how glad we were with your review. Thank you for all the lovely words and comments! It was an enormous pleasure have you and your Mum with us and we can wait to welcome you both back so you can enjoy all the things that you didn't have the chance to embrace during this stay. We'll be all waiting for you..!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews