We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with amazing view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's a great hotel just beside cascais marina with breathtaking views of the ocean and marina.
Rooms are nice and comfortable, staff is polite and attentive and breakfast very fresh.
We liked the views and restaurants ( both the taberna and main restaurant) but wished there were a more private pool ( which is almost in the restaurant)

Was a great place to stay and will recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Room with marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Victoria D

Thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback as well as taking the time to share details of your stay with us. We were sorry to know that the location of the pool didn't pleased but we were happy to know that everything else exceeded your expectations! We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    294
    98
    39
    20
See reviews for
200
599
23
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the hotel has been perfect; the view, the room, the location, but best of all has been the staff. Courteous, always smiling, they remember your name and your drinks. All on all the best hotel staff I've come across in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1221612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Steve1221612

We are so happy to hear that we were able to "wow" you. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our friendly staff. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and we hope that we'll have many more opportunities to share our unique services with you

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is truely exceptional. The building itself is stunning, situated in a 16th century fortress you walk through an archway into a peaceful square surrounded by boutique gift shops, the hotel's ice cream bar, restaurant and soon to be museum.

The staff are 5* plus calibre. Very warm and welcoming, and highly professional. Nothing is too much for them.

At check in the receptionist gave us an upgrade to a seaview room and the doorman showed us to the room, carried our bags, explained everything in the room and another member of staff bought us a plate of fruit and bottle of water.

The room was stunning. Immaculately clean, beautifully furninshed, the bed was huge with the most comfortable pillows ive ever experienced. The large terrace facing the marina was amazing.

We spent a lot of time on the sun deck by the pool. The pool itself isnt big but its large enough and has lovely showers, steam room and sauna and plenty of towels and sunbeds. The waiting staff are friendly and helpful and kept us supplied with drinks and delicious lunches.

Breakfast is high quality, sparkling wine is a nice touch. Staff remember your name and are very attentive.

I rate this as one of my top 2 hotels. Everything about it is luxurious, every guest is treated as somebody very special, the staff go far beyond what i have experienced in any other hotel. The location within a fort makes this a unique, quirky, individual place with places to explore making it so much more interesting than a standard hotel. I had a view from my room but even if you don't, the pool, restaurant and rooftop deck have plenty of views to enjoy!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbo1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear jimbo1683

You left us out of words with your 5 star rate review! Being considered one of your top 2 hotels is an enormous honor and we are most thankful for that and for sharing your detailed review with travelers from all around the world. Looking forward to welcome asap ;)

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijen, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

From May 23 to May 29 made ​​a tour group of a LSR Pousadareis in Portugal. Our first stay was the Pousada of Cascais. A great hotel. Her stars worth. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated, modern and very comfortable. A pleasant combination of ancient and modern architecture. The restaurant was nicely decorated and the staff was helpful, attentive but above all professional. The refined dishes were prepared and very tasty and presented with the utmost care. The breakfast was in a word, amazing really 5 star worthy. In short, the Pousada of Cascais is the best thing that ever happened to us. Also staying at the Pousadas of Estremoz and Palmela was great. Again, extremely friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, comfortable and above all clean rooms and a great atmosphere.
Our advice, if you are in Portugal, take advantage of this great Pousadas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 54louis

"...the best thing that ever happened to us." Wow..! What more can we say? Thank you so much for your kind words and such lovely review. It was a real pleasure to host such remarkable tour and we'll be anxiously waiting for the next one!

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have traveled to over 60 countries and would rank the Pousada among the top 5% of all hotels I have stayed at. The staff are very courteous and service-oriented, anticipating customer needs very well. The facilities are superb: clean, modern, high quality, safe. The complex is a wonderful blend of architectonic heritage and modern function. The location is impeccable. And the view during breakfast is to die for. What better place for business (and probably for pleasure)? I will gladly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cea6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear cea6

It is wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with remarkable service and anticipate your needs, as these are two of our primary goals. Thank you so much for your kind words as well as your constructive feedback. We'll be gladly waiting for your return!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstancin
Level Contributor
278 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A new hotel in Cascais - directly in the old fort. Location is great - right next to the Presidential Palace. But because it is inside the fort it has almost no views. Our room looked out over a staircase. The paint tone is military grey. So you sometimes feel claustrophobic. The swimming pool is inside the restaurant - yes inside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear TravellerPoland

Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Cascais. We were very happy to know that you enjoyed our location and service, but we apologize for not exceed your expectations. We truly hope we can make it up to you on another stay, and welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavira
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Another example of first class Portuguese architecture. Very tastefully built, contrasting the ultra modern with the historic forteleza. The corridors are carpeted and everywhere is well insulated against sound. The decor in the bedrooms and the public rooms is classy. I loved the swallows decorating the wall in the bar/lobby area - fun and clever. The dining area is excellent although I was a bit surprised to find the swimming pool in the same area. There are good views of the estuary of the Tejo. The quality of the breakfasts was first rate. The service at reception and in the restaurant was friendly. All the staff we came across were helpful and they, without exception, seemed to enjoy their work. Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear lynne b

'Perfect' what more can we say? We were delighted with your review! THANK YOU for the kind words, for describing us so well and for giving us the pleasure to have you with us. We'll be truly glad to welcome you back whenever you travel to Cascais.

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing