We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic outside, boring inside, but excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Historic outside, boring inside, but excellent location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pousada de Cascais has a perfect location almost in the center of Cascais and at the waterfront. And approaching is marvelous – you literally go into an old fortress.

But inside the hotel is a disappointment. It is hard to find significant trace of any ancient background – only that it is a bothersome labyrinth to find your way around. A missed opportunity here.

The rooms has excellent standard, but the bathrooms can be very small for a 5 star hotel. But the worst: The view from the rooms is often just towards a wall or into a yard. Only 16 rooms have sea view – which then is fantastic. These rooms do have large, look-through bathrooms.

The central bar is in a big, not very charming hole. The location of the small restaurant, though, is nice – with perfect harbor/sea view.

The physical standard is great and the hotel service good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Torben A

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and location. Our main goal is to make our guests happy and comfortable during their stay, so in your next visit we would love to provide you with a bath and view that you can really enjoy. We'll be honored in welcome you back soon!

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    319
    104
    44
    23
See reviews for
222
642
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

When you enter the walls it has a real "wow" factor,what is really surprising is everything outside suggests a old fashioned manor house type hotel ,but once you are inside it is almost a modern art gallery.Rooms have super high ceilings and every comfort.Breakfast is a delight (especially the friendly coffee waiter)
There are some tiny let downs -bars seem to be closed for part of the day,directions could be better (it's a big area) and it's a shame you have to go the long way to get to the marina
Overall though a memorable stay and one I hope to repeat

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor as everything is there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear eric h

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. We do have a direct passage to the marina (in the ground floor), I'm sorry that you missed it and on your next stay I'll be glad to show you how easy and fast you can get there. We appreciate your comments and we truly hope that on your next stay everything will be perfect! Looking forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We love hotels with free wifi. In Pousada de Cascais is more then that: you surf the moment you enter the hotel. No password, no username, no credit card needed. Great policy of the management. All the rest was more or less the same: the room, the public areas, the food, the staff - everything was perfect! No doubt w'll be back

Room Tip: Take a walk along the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoharhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear zoharhm

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is wonderful to know that everything was perfect. We are over the moon to hear that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back! Until then, please accept our warmest regards.

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the manager to the chamber maid there is always a cheery welcome and time to chat. They provide top rate service with a genuine desire for you have the best stay possible. The setting is stunning inside the castle. It is true that many of the rooms have no view, but if you want a view then, in common with other hotels, pay for it and you will not be disappointed. We had a room with balcony (part of then old battlements) and sea view. The rooms are simply furnished, comfortable, but not too modern for an oldie likemyself. We were unfortunate about the weather, but it did not stop the enjoyment. The main restaurant is basically tapas style, but with an very able chef. It is just as easy to make the menu into a very good three course meal. There are daily suggestions so that you do not become bored.

The hotel also has a small indoor pool alongside the breakfast restaurant, which doubles as the pool bar during the day. There is also a sun deck fo those who do not wish to venture far, but that would be a mistake, as it is only ten minutes walk to the train station where cheap frequent trains run to Lisbon. The nearest beach is only a few minutes away too.

My wife and I have tried other hotels in the area and will certainly not be returning to them after going here. The week just slipped away with real pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose the room with sea view and balcony. If you want quiet then choose an inside room with view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Festie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Festie

You left us out of words! “The Hotel with Staff who Care” is the best compliment you can make us. Thank you so much for the kind words and lovely review. Our guests are everything to us, so you can imagine how happy the staff was after reading your feedback! It will be a pleasure welcoming you back soon, so make it happen! :)

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

we have stayed in other hotels in the Cascais area Villa Real, Miragem, Vill Galle, but on visiting last year we booked to stay in the Cidadela.
On our arrival the taxi driver took us to the wrong hotel, a three star called the Cidadela hotel. The local Cascais taxi driver could not find it eventually we arrived.
From our arrival the staff were excellent, rooms clean aesthetically pleasing, pleasant bar and pool area. As stated free Wi-Fi. We had a balcony superior room, the only problem we had was the constant stream of people coming to look at the Fortress that could gain access up the stairs to view our balconies.
Surely the large steel gate at the bottom of the stairs should be closed, entry only with a pass card. The gym was adequate, but not five star, as the breakfast which I would give four stars, a the coffee was plentiful.
The only major gripe was at times there appeared to be a lack of serving staff in the two bar areas. Once I had to return to pay a bar bill, the second time I was left standing waiting to pay for our drinks in the main bar.
During our stay it appears that filming was traking place for an advert for the hotel? this was a nuisance, and an apology was evenytually made three days after our arrival
Overall we will return to this pousada, however next time we will request a room away from the stairs leading to the gym. The staff attitude was [management no] five star both in the breakfast area, reception, room service and the Taberna in the court yard

Room Tip: There is a buscas stop outside the cidadela, it runs every fifteen minutes, making a visit to the Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear snei,

Thank you for sharing your honest opinion and for giving us the pleasure of hosting you. We truly hope that you'll give us the honor of welcoming you back so this time we can exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Pousada and had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful. It is a wonderful mix of new architecture within the old citadel walls. The view from the pool over the marina is wonderful. Used the spa a few times and was very satisfied with the treatments. Location at the marina and near town center is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear mjla57

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback with the entire team! I’m glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the location and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What one would expect from a hotel of this quality. The hotel itself is a very modern well equipped place (including free Wi-Fi) in a sixteenth century shell. Makes for an interesting combination. The hotel sits within a citadel overlooking the water at Cascais.Staff were very helpful and it was just a very nice place to be based for a few days while exploring Lisbon (easy train ride into town) and its coastal area.

Only negative is the lack of parking. The whole of Cascais appears to have very limited parking. Nonetheless, there is a large municipal underground car park nearby but there is no discount available to guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear handr40

Thank you so much for the five-star rating and for your kind words - we will surely share with our staff. Your comments about the parking area are noted and will be sent to senior management. Thank you for your candid feedback. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
534 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing