We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sim/yes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“sim/yes”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

we have stayed in other hotels in the Cascais area Villa Real, Miragem, Vill Galle, but on visiting last year we booked to stay in the Cidadela.
On our arrival the taxi driver took us to the wrong hotel, a three star called the Cidadela hotel. The local Cascais taxi driver could not find it eventually we arrived.
From our arrival the staff were excellent, rooms clean aesthetically pleasing, pleasant bar and pool area. As stated free Wi-Fi. We had a balcony superior room, the only problem we had was the constant stream of people coming to look at the Fortress that could gain access up the stairs to view our balconies.
Surely the large steel gate at the bottom of the stairs should be closed, entry only with a pass card. The gym was adequate, but not five star, as the breakfast which I would give four stars, a the coffee was plentiful.
The only major gripe was at times there appeared to be a lack of serving staff in the two bar areas. Once I had to return to pay a bar bill, the second time I was left standing waiting to pay for our drinks in the main bar.
During our stay it appears that filming was traking place for an advert for the hotel? this was a nuisance, and an apology was evenytually made three days after our arrival
Overall we will return to this pousada, however next time we will request a room away from the stairs leading to the gym. The staff attitude was [management no] five star both in the breakfast area, reception, room service and the Taberna in the court yard

Room Tip: There is a buscas stop outside the cidadela, it runs every fifteen minutes, making a visit to the Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear snei,

Thank you for sharing your honest opinion and for giving us the pleasure of hosting you. We truly hope that you'll give us the honor of welcoming you back so this time we can exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    321
    105
    44
    23
See reviews for
222
645
23
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Pousada and had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable and the staff was very helpful. It is a wonderful mix of new architecture within the old citadel walls. The view from the pool over the marina is wonderful. Used the spa a few times and was very satisfied with the treatments. Location at the marina and near town center is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjla57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear mjla57

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback with the entire team! I’m glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the location and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What one would expect from a hotel of this quality. The hotel itself is a very modern well equipped place (including free Wi-Fi) in a sixteenth century shell. Makes for an interesting combination. The hotel sits within a citadel overlooking the water at Cascais.Staff were very helpful and it was just a very nice place to be based for a few days while exploring Lisbon (easy train ride into town) and its coastal area.

Only negative is the lack of parking. The whole of Cascais appears to have very limited parking. Nonetheless, there is a large municipal underground car park nearby but there is no discount available to guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear handr40

Thank you so much for the five-star rating and for your kind words - we will surely share with our staff. Your comments about the parking area are noted and will be sent to senior management. Thank you for your candid feedback. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, informative and very courteous. The receptionist was eager to please and the doorman explained the history and took us around the hotel on the way to our rooms. The rooms (sea view superior) are well appointed, large and comfortable. The restaurant is very good and again the waitress was wonderful. The location of the hotel means that you can quickly and easily walk to the centre of Cascais with good shopping, restaurants, cafes and culture.
The only downside is that the marina can get busy in the evenings with a couple of noisy bars, but the rooms have air conditioning and double glazed doors stop the noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear pplondon

How pleased we were after having read your lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your good experience with us. We agree that our service and location are amazing. Please come back soon as we would like to make your second stay as memorable as your first.

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is top. First the staff. Be it at reception, serving breakfast, cleaning the rooms or whenver you need them, all employees express a high quality standard. The room (we had nr 100) was spacious, with a +2 m bed, Wi-Fi working from the first moment and all other lovely things. The breakfast offering was a daily feast, the pool + poolbar was the ideal moment of relaxation in our late afternoon. We recommend the hotel as a perfect starting point to discover the wider region. By train to Belem & Lisboa, public bus to Sintra and we rented a car to visit Evora. Easy access to all these means of transportation. But also Cascais itself and the nearby Estoril are worth to be visited in more depth. There are a lot of dinner facilities in Cascais, from simple to more luxuous. Indeed, the hotel has no dining facilities. And if you travel by car, be aware that the hotel has no private parking facilities.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with your room, then do not hesitate to ask for a change
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Paul V

What a wonderfully descriptive review! We’re very happy to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible! Thank you so much for your kind words and great tips. We look forward to welcoming you home the next time you visit Cascais so you can get to know the two Restaurants we have inside the Pousada (Taberna da Praça and Maris Stella). We're really sorry you missed them out!

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 25 - 28th April 2013. Have stayed in a number of hotels over the last five years or so, and never one better than the Pousada de Cascais. Situated inside the walls of the old Cidadela (Citadel = Fort) overlooking the marina where the pre-revolution Royal Family had one of their palaces, the buildings have been sensitively and beautifully transformed into stunning, contemporary accommodation. Our 'superior' room was huge and contained two four-seat leather sofas and two large flat screen televisions, armchair, desk and chair and a chaise-longue, together with a King + size bed, plush bathroom and wardrobe and dressing table set over three levels.
From the minute we arrived (and given a room upgrade - thank you) the staff at all levels were full of smiles and keen to make sure we had a lovely stay at 'their' hotel. Breakfast choice was comprehensive and the evening meals taken in the Taberna (Portuguese 'tapas' style) were excellent.
All-in-all a very relaxing and comfortable stay - were were very sad to move on. Even more sad when we found our next hotel, the Mundial in Lisbon, to be a considerable let-down given it was supposed to be of similar standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FujairahFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear FujairahFan,

We are delighted to hear that you felt special during your time with us! "Our Best Stay - Ever!" Wow, what more can we say? Thank you so much for such positive feedback, it is so refreshing and encouraging. We hope you'll give us an opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Cascais!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to attend our very good friend's wedding in April. What a fantastic time we had. The hotel and staff were teriffic. There was not one point of our stay which was not perfect. Our room was lovely, the view of the courtyard very pretty. The hotel was immaculate throughout as was the manners and welcome of all the staff. I would particularly like to mention our wine waiter who introduced us to Green Wine. What a knowlegeable and friendly member of staff who just reflected the whole experience we had. The art works scattered around were a great excuse to explore the hotel. I can not recommend any more highly what an excellent hotel this is.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to see the rooms my fellow travellers were in, all were immaculate and very well lai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Zoe L

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our space, service and staff! It was an enormous pleasure for us to host such an important and special event as your friends Wedding and we were very pleased to received from all the invitées the most positive feedback! We'll be waiting for your next visit so we can introduce you other good portuguese delicacies!

Sincerely,

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
536 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing