We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing location in a converted fortress overlooking the harbour. It is a great hotel experience, the building structure and its position are truly unique, an excellent addition to the generally poor offer of such a beautiful stretch of coastline (this would be my preferred choice, for work or leisure). My only negative comments are: a) the sleek modern interior design is probably a bit too much of a contrast, moreover the furniture and finishing are not top quality and I believe they will tend to look "used" in a couple of years; b) the fortress structure had enormous potential that hasn't been developed (planning restrictions or lack of funds?), ie. the swimming pool/spa/solarium area feels very restricted given the majestic structure in which is situated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matuk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Ambassador at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear matuk78

We are very grateful for sharing your experience with us, and we'll let our GM know your thoughts. Thank you again for your positive feedback and constructive comments - our Guests opinion it's always the most important for us. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely

Maria
Guest Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    329
    105
    44
    25
See reviews for
224
660
23
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was the first time staying in Cascais, and our choice in hotel in stay was not a let down. Every part of our stay was fantastic, from the spacious room to the fantastic food! The staff were all very helpful and full of useful information. The location of the hotel was so easy to get to everything you need, if you can tear yourself away from the views from the hotel terrace! We will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank init4thetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A beautiful hotel inside and out, situated in a stunningly beautiful town 25 minutes from Lisbon. A two minute walk past the picturesque harbour brings you into the small town centre which has enough of interest to keep you entertained. Between the hotel and the sea is a marina with many different bars and resteraunts. We stayed two nights before moving on to other locations in Portugal but we'll return for a longer stay - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Was in Cascais with Family and we stayed at the Pousada de Cascais. The hotel had just opened , but was beautiful we had rooms with a balcony that sat on top of the fortress' exterior wall and overlooked the marina. The hotel is in a nice location, since it's set a short walk out of Central Cascais, it is near everything but next to nothing so it is very quiet and peaceful.

The one down side to the hotel was that the sundeck and pool could have been larger, but with Guincho Beach 10 minutes down the road, it wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank detroitexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

thats what i thought immediately - i'd be visiting the hotel often and soon again. besides walking distance to some rooms - thanks to the architecture of old fortress - my stay was just great. liked the room, all their venues and there is some place even for business presentations. all the complex is worth a visit. definitely would recommend, but would improve the breakfast arrangements.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This stunning hotel on the port at Cascais is built inside the old military barracks within the walls of the fortress on the Atlantic Ocean. It combines sympathy for the traditional architecture with a stunning sense of art and design, such as the flock of 600 swallows that adorn the open plan restaurant area just past reception. Rooms are beautifully designed. Mine had a view through a small window over the marina. Everything neat, tidy, clean and working properly. Superlative service from Diogo, who showed me to my room. Good, fast Internet connection. Superb meal in the subterranean restaurant, including 'Black pork fillet filled with ham on 'Vinho de Porto' marinated corn and sweet potato'. Excellent breakfast in the room of 600 swallows. Faultless.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlooking the sea overlook the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Pousada for 2 nights when visiting Cascais in September. Overall a very good hotel.

I was choosing among some establishment in the coast line (Cascais city centre) and there are some nice resorts in the golf complex. I chose Pousada due to its location and price and the interesting design.

The building itself is very interesting. They built the whole hotel complex (including shops) in the old citadel. I can imagine it to be a very costly conversion and full mark to the Pousada for creating such a good blend of modern and old elements. The shops and gallery in the first courtyard were also very interesting and worth a visit.

Service level at the hotel, especially the concierge and front desk, is very high. I was very impressed with Rui in the concierge who was extremely friendly and helpful and very thoughtful. As previous reviews mentioned there were some tiny aspects that they could improve (such as showing guests detail folio before asking for payment, etc). However those are all minor issues and I am sure the hotel will address them as it matures.

The hotel lobby bar is empty but they filled it with interesting art works. Nice art works are also in place in the corridors.

I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite in the original part of the hotel. The room itself is stunning and large despite the window being small (nothing they can do about it, it’s the character of the original citadel). The room is very bright, high ceiling, and with good air-conditioning. There is a separate lounge (with a sofa bed), a changing and dressing area, the bedroom and few steps up the space near the window.

I also ate at the restaurant (the tapas place). The food was very pleasant and the set up was great. Also bought some ice cream from the “I Scream” shop just outside the lobby.

Facilities wise the hotel has a good gym, a pool, terrace by the pool and spa.

Personally I feel that there are few areas that the hotel can improve:

1. Breakfast could be very busy especially during the weekend. The breakfast area by the pool isn’t able to cope. The hotel seemed to have set up another breakfast area in the lobby bar but not many guests were informed. Quality of breakfast is also a hit and miss.
2. Service in the F&B is on the slow side. In the tapas restaurant you have to reach out for the staff if you need water, bread, or just the menu. In the pool side it would be good if the staff could walk around often and take order.
3. The suite is large but the bathroom is very small. No separate shower. Again this could be due to building restriction.
4. The room is pale white – it would be nice to have some art works or painting to brighten it up
5. Minibar is limited, no free water, internet is free but it’s only for 30 minutes and then you need another code for another 30 minutes.
6. The pool is tiny. There is also a sun terrace on the roof but there was no signage.

Overall it’s a very good hotel if the price is right. And I think I will return when I visit Cascais.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jtung74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 39 in Cascais
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
546 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing