We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is an interesting hotel set within the fortress walls. We received an excellent welcome on our arrival. Our room which was very comfortable and had a large balcony overlooking the marina. The staff were at all times courteous during our 14 day stay and even managed some good humoured banter during the European Cup matches which were discreetly screened in the dining area. The breakfasts were excellent, as were the meals we had in the evening.
The only problem we found was with the gym which is quite small. Despite air conditioning it becomes very hot during the afternoon and early evening when in full sun.
We did have a car and this was parked for us at the end of each day and delivered promptly when requested in the morning. This car parking is expensive but we were aware of this when we booked.
Cascais is a lovely resort with excellent restaurants and designer shops. It is worth taking the train to Lisbon as this is a very easy method of accessing the capital.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cidadela Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

After the miserable experience at the hotel Baia, I chose the Hotel Pousada de Cascais!
Wonderful!!!
Reception is staffed with lovely, friendly, competent staff! They worked around my early arrival (9 am), offered tea, etc.
Rooms are lovely and calm, service is ALWAYS friendly and competent.
Try the Spa! Helena is the most gentle person, who gives a great back massage and express manicure.
I've been to many LHW hotels, mainly in France, but this one is on my top list!

Room Tip: ...write them an e-mail before you arrive, if you need anything special! I advised them of my early...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

All staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely view of the marina when eating breakfast every morning.
Hotel is only a lovely 5 minute walk from the centre where you can find plenty of places to eat and drink. The rooms are decorated nicely and the bathroom and fittings very modern and contemporary. Pool is heated which is a real advantage as most pools in Portugal are normally cold even in the middle of summer! Ideal hotel for couples but not so ideal for children I guess.
We stayed for a week in September and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANANDLYNDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This Pousada has great potential, the renovation is first class, the building and setting really excellent. The rooms are very contemporary and nicely done. Cascais is really great - we were impressed, nice streets to wander around, the marina, along the coast and the local park/museum. The Pousada is very nearly perfect but is let down on a couple of issues, it was quite busy when we arrived and they really struggled with breakfast, getting coffee was nigh on impossible, not something that is acceptable in a hotel with aspirations that this clearly has. Service in the pool restaurant was very hit an miss, the staff were good on the whole, one or two exceptions but the organisation of the whole place was a bit of a shambles. They need better snack options around the pool, simple stuff like a sandwich (that doesn't need to be eaten with a knife and fork). The food is good in the restaurant and the setting is good looking over the marina, it should be busier than it was. Usual Pousada issues with 30 min wifi but they did give you four at a time.

The pool area is much smaller than in appears in the photos, so may not be your best choice if you want a sunbathing type holiday. No parking either which we weren't aware of from booking, they recommend the nearby underground which is secure and fine but expensive around 19 euro a day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff were excellent from the moment we arrived, right up until we left. On our first day, we were able to change our rooms not once but twice, until we were completely satisfied, and that was just the start. The guys at reception were always helpful whenever we wanted information on things to do, places to eat etc, and would always engage us in conversation on our way out and back in, and enjoyed our laughs and chats with them almost as much as we did our days out!

The room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was great. All in all, we had 5 wonderful days here, and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

As many reviewers wrote, the location and overall impression are very good. I do not want to be negative, but there is no point to repeat the advantages. Let me list the disadvantages of the hotel.
1. Ridiculous 30-minutes wifi vouchers. Free, but rather inconvenient.
2. The balcony table was not cleaned.
3. Chambermaids seem not to speak even very basic English and too shy to say hello occasionally meeting a guest in the corridor.
4.Waiters should visit the swimming pool area regularly. If you want to have a drink you have to go to the restaurant to order, which is inconvenient.
5. Breakfast. Too many empty dishes on the buffet. Normally, there should be none. This was very disappointing to see that smocked salmon, brie, mozzarella with tomatoes, tortillas, grapes etc had been presented with empty dishes. Look at the pictures I took.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike-of-MOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Just on arrival where u drive under an arch into a massive square courtyard shows a type of class that's second to none with its historic features.
You will be warmly greeted by very helpful staff that will tell you what you need to know or to take you to any part of this amazing hotel.
I go to many hotels in my line of work (as a professional musician) but didn't want to leave this 1 in a hurry.
The staff are very friendly,the food is excellent,the service is quick,the views are stunning,the rooms are done very tastefully & will most probably bump into famous people as well....
Just imagine being in a great castle that's had modern touches done to it so you have best of both worlds.
I will definitely be coming back here for a holiday without a doubt.
SEEING IS BELIEVING!!
You will not be disappointed.
10 out of 10 from me.
Miheala,keep up the good work & best wishes to you all at POUSADA DE CASCAIS-(PORTUGAL)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida D. Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: $141 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing