We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great position”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

All staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely view of the marina when eating breakfast every morning.
Hotel is only a lovely 5 minute walk from the centre where you can find plenty of places to eat and drink. The rooms are decorated nicely and the bathroom and fittings very modern and contemporary. Pool is heated which is a real advantage as most pools in Portugal are normally cold even in the middle of summer! Ideal hotel for couples but not so ideal for children I guess.
We stayed for a week in September and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANANDLYNDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    329
    105
    44
    25
See reviews for
224
660
23
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This Pousada has great potential, the renovation is first class, the building and setting really excellent. The rooms are very contemporary and nicely done. Cascais is really great - we were impressed, nice streets to wander around, the marina, along the coast and the local park/museum. The Pousada is very nearly perfect but is let down on a couple of issues, it was quite busy when we arrived and they really struggled with breakfast, getting coffee was nigh on impossible, not something that is acceptable in a hotel with aspirations that this clearly has. Service in the pool restaurant was very hit an miss, the staff were good on the whole, one or two exceptions but the organisation of the whole place was a bit of a shambles. They need better snack options around the pool, simple stuff like a sandwich (that doesn't need to be eaten with a knife and fork). The food is good in the restaurant and the setting is good looking over the marina, it should be busier than it was. Usual Pousada issues with 30 min wifi but they did give you four at a time.

The pool area is much smaller than in appears in the photos, so may not be your best choice if you want a sunbathing type holiday. No parking either which we weren't aware of from booking, they recommend the nearby underground which is secure and fine but expensive around 19 euro a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff were excellent from the moment we arrived, right up until we left. On our first day, we were able to change our rooms not once but twice, until we were completely satisfied, and that was just the start. The guys at reception were always helpful whenever we wanted information on things to do, places to eat etc, and would always engage us in conversation on our way out and back in, and enjoyed our laughs and chats with them almost as much as we did our days out!

The room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was great. All in all, we had 5 wonderful days here, and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

As many reviewers wrote, the location and overall impression are very good. I do not want to be negative, but there is no point to repeat the advantages. Let me list the disadvantages of the hotel.
1. Ridiculous 30-minutes wifi vouchers. Free, but rather inconvenient.
2. The balcony table was not cleaned.
3. Chambermaids seem not to speak even very basic English and too shy to say hello occasionally meeting a guest in the corridor.
4.Waiters should visit the swimming pool area regularly. If you want to have a drink you have to go to the restaurant to order, which is inconvenient.
5. Breakfast. Too many empty dishes on the buffet. Normally, there should be none. This was very disappointing to see that smocked salmon, brie, mozzarella with tomatoes, tortillas, grapes etc had been presented with empty dishes. Look at the pictures I took.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike-of-MOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Just on arrival where u drive under an arch into a massive square courtyard shows a type of class that's second to none with its historic features.
You will be warmly greeted by very helpful staff that will tell you what you need to know or to take you to any part of this amazing hotel.
I go to many hotels in my line of work (as a professional musician) but didn't want to leave this 1 in a hurry.
The staff are very friendly,the food is excellent,the service is quick,the views are stunning,the rooms are done very tastefully & will most probably bump into famous people as well....
Just imagine being in a great castle that's had modern touches done to it so you have best of both worlds.
I will definitely be coming back here for a holiday without a doubt.
SEEING IS BELIEVING!!
You will not be disappointed.
10 out of 10 from me.
Miheala,keep up the good work & best wishes to you all at POUSADA DE CASCAIS-(PORTUGAL)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Enjoyed it all: central location, great historical building, great renovation, lovely pool area, good food, very friendly staff ... and all that in the fantastic town of Cascais. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August and were very impressed with this modern stylish hotel tucked away in the old fortress walls. Extremly comfortable beds and lovely breakfast overlooking the marina. The location is good just 5 minutes walk into cascais centre. Would definatley recomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeb565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 39 in Cascais
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
546 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing