We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Not good enough for LHW member.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good. Not good enough for LHW member.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

As many reviewers wrote, the location and overall impression are very good. I do not want to be negative, but there is no point to repeat the advantages. Let me list the disadvantages of the hotel.
1. Ridiculous 30-minutes wifi vouchers. Free, but rather inconvenient.
2. The balcony table was not cleaned.
3. Chambermaids seem not to speak even very basic English and too shy to say hello occasionally meeting a guest in the corridor.
4.Waiters should visit the swimming pool area regularly. If you want to have a drink you have to go to the restaurant to order, which is inconvenient.
5. Breakfast. Too many empty dishes on the buffet. Normally, there should be none. This was very disappointing to see that smocked salmon, brie, mozzarella with tomatoes, tortillas, grapes etc had been presented with empty dishes. Look at the pictures I took.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike-of-MOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    344
    112
    48
    25
See reviews for
234
682
23
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Just on arrival where u drive under an arch into a massive square courtyard shows a type of class that's second to none with its historic features.
You will be warmly greeted by very helpful staff that will tell you what you need to know or to take you to any part of this amazing hotel.
I go to many hotels in my line of work (as a professional musician) but didn't want to leave this 1 in a hurry.
The staff are very friendly,the food is excellent,the service is quick,the views are stunning,the rooms are done very tastefully & will most probably bump into famous people as well....
Just imagine being in a great castle that's had modern touches done to it so you have best of both worlds.
I will definitely be coming back here for a holiday without a doubt.
SEEING IS BELIEVING!!
You will not be disappointed.
10 out of 10 from me.
Miheala,keep up the good work & best wishes to you all at POUSADA DE CASCAIS-(PORTUGAL)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Enjoyed it all: central location, great historical building, great renovation, lovely pool area, good food, very friendly staff ... and all that in the fantastic town of Cascais. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August and were very impressed with this modern stylish hotel tucked away in the old fortress walls. Extremly comfortable beds and lovely breakfast overlooking the marina. The location is good just 5 minutes walk into cascais centre. Would definatley recomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeb565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for a week in August and had a wonderful time. The renovation has been sympathetically carried out - the hotel is nearly invisible from outside of the fort - and to a very high standard - clean white lines, modern design everywhere. It's really well-sited, only a couple of minutes from the center of town, and the poolside terrace restaurant has excellent views over the marina. There were a few easily-forgivable teething troubles but they could largely be attributed to it only having opened recently.

Room Tip: The standard rooms don't have an external view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Pousada was all we expected for our week's stay in Cascais.
A very modern comfortable hotel in an historic fort site. The rooms and bathrooms were immaculate, comfortable with excellent maid service.
The breakfast at the main glass windowed restaurant was very nice, albeit busy at peak time - but also available was breakfast downstairs, which was calmer and peaceful.
The pool area was very impressive, albeit very small, we did not use the pool as it was undercover. The staff are very friendly and provided exempelery service.
The hotel is very close to the town and also not too far to walk to the Borco d inferno.
Our only problem in this hotel was the room service, one late evening on return to the hotel we ordered tea and coffee which took nearly two hours to arrive, and when it did arrive there was no milk supplied. The hotel kindly apologised and compensated by cancelling the bill and providing us a free room to use on our last day after we had checked out until it was time for us to leave.

Room Tip: Room on second floor closer to pool and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week here during August and it was almost perfect.
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms comfy with super beds. The location is great and breakfast was possibly one of the best I have tastes in a hotel, with a great selection of fresh fruit, lovely breads and delicious scrambled eggs among a huge variety of other things . Coffee was delicious also but sometimes a little cold.
Only two issues for me, the pool is tiny, it looks a lot bigger online, but it's aduquate and the pool area is relaxing with harbour views and sounds to daydream to.
The wifi situation is frustrating, you get codes for 30 minutes that then expire and you need to log in again, this is annoying, if they changed this to a more permanent code that worked for the length of stay then it would be better, the hotel is not cheap and surely this little touch would cost the hotel very little but add to the experience.
Overall bliss, if they fix the wifi thing we will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
561 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida D. Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing