We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked two rooms via Co Op travel (Amanda in Nottingham deserves an award for her professional helpfulness) and stayed in this beautifully designed hotel for 5 nights and were upgraded to balcony rooms on the ground floor. Views were internal, overlooking the gym, but wonderfully quiet, bright and modern in design. The low rise building and square is lovely, and subtly concealed in an old historic fort. Breakfast is a treat and everything you could wish for. The staff do the very best to please and all seem to be very nice people. A very small whinge is the WiFi. Allegedly free for half an hour but in truth (may be my age) I found it impossible to use. Why not just make it free as most hotels do.

Room Tip: I am told that rooms overlooking the harbour can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waveslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is amazing and its like living in a museum, still the hotel is modern an with everytingh you expect for a hotel in this price range. The view from the pool is beatuiful! And drinking wine in the courtyard is a very nice end of a long evening.

We even "meet" the president of Portugal during our visit. So, if it is good enough for the president, then it is good enough for us :)

Still, in 2012 there should be wireless internet included. Even on the beach on an remote island outside the coast of Vietnam this was standard.

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

great hotel in all ways. got a great last minute deal and very happy we treated ourselves to the Pousada.
Staff all very helpful but what an excellent job they have done throughout the hotel.
Lovely designer touches through out and loved lounging around the pool with great bar service and food.
Also very good massage offered
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simcol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is almost perfect, the staff are excellent, the room quality very high and the food and drink are as you would expect from this standard of hotel. We stayed for a week and loved the location being a few minutes walk from the centre of Cascais and opposite the marina with it's strong selection of places to eat and drink (recommend hemmingways to eat).
The pool and sun deck area is crowded and families may be disappointed. My only issues were that firstly the pool service was not as attentive as it could have been and if you arrive at around 6pm after a day out you find a whole load of towels left on sun beds which are not moved by the staff plus a lack of clean towels - small area of service which needs looking at. The second issue is around the fitness room which is small but well equipped however it's like a greenhouse and impossible to use after midday - needs air conditioning.
A couple of small points which should not put you off staying in this fantastic hotel.
For runners - 4.5 mile sea run by running through the town to the start of the boardwalk (Albotroz Hotel) and then a lovely flat route all the way to the end (towards Estoril). 12 mile return by turning left out of hotel then immediate left round side of hotel then keep on going - a nice sea route along cycle/walk way alongside road. 6 miles gets you to the end of the seperate path - obviously you can go further but then gets hilly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the Pousada de Cascais for two nights. Our flight from London arrived in the dead of night and we arrived at the hotel at around 12:00am. And yet the hotel reception was very helpful as if it was the middle of the day with our car being taken out of our hands which was useful as we were all quite tired. We were led to our rooms which was probably the worst bit as they were quite a distance away from the reception, but even that was OK because we were right by the pool and where breakfast was served.
The rooms were very comfortable and nicely appointed with extremely comfy beds. At breakfast there was a wide range of anything you could want, all of which was tasty. I then went out to Cascais for the afternoon and when I got back to the hotel I just lounged about by the very nice pool the hotel has. The only slightly bad thing was dinner as the hotel had a restaurant opposite which doesn't have a wide range of meals, just tapas and some steak. Other than that my stay at this hotel was extremely nice and I would strongly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel has opened 3 month ago and was like to live into a Design Catalog, the presonal was very friendly and helpfull, changing the room for another with a better view because we stayed 4 nights by themself.
The breakfast was very fine and is located in the center of Cascais, I couldn't expect more and I will try to come back again.
The only thing that could be better was the Steam bath in the SPA section : Massages where perfect, the Sauna a little to little but I prefer a Steam bath that smell Eucalyptus... that's the only "negative" remark... could be worst :)
We really had a great value for the price, absolutely to reccomend.

Room Tip: The Sea side view is really cool and the East side have a small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holeshotboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 8 days in the Pousada, Cascais July 2012 and agree that there is really nothing that needs improving. From the reception on arrival with Maria's excursion of the hotel and surroundings till checking out it was a superb experience. Having stayed at 5 star hotels around the world for many years we agree that the Pousada is up with the elite hotels in terms of friendliness and service. The location is ideal and the modern rooms in the citadele setting just blows you away. We were particularly impressed by the attitude of staff in all diciplines whether it be room cleaners, laundry or bar staff. Whoever runs this hotel is doing most things right and obviously appreciates that even with a pefect shell it is the contents that counts. Congratulations and we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a sea front room on the second floor, sunny, seaview and good size balconies and short walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 40 in Cascais
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 40 in Cascais
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 40 in Cascais
1,262 reviews
1 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 40 in Cascais
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: $121 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing