We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in the heart of Cascais” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel in the heart of Cascais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is amazing and its like living in a museum, still the hotel is modern an with everytingh you expect for a hotel in this price range. The view from the pool is beatuiful! And drinking wine in the courtyard is a very nice end of a long evening.

We even "meet" the president of Portugal during our visit. So, if it is good enough for the president, then it is good enough for us :)

Still, in 2012 there should be wireless internet included. Even on the beach on an remote island outside the coast of Vietnam this was standard.

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    293
    97
    39
    20
See reviews for
199
596
23
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

great hotel in all ways. got a great last minute deal and very happy we treated ourselves to the Pousada.
Staff all very helpful but what an excellent job they have done throughout the hotel.
Lovely designer touches through out and loved lounging around the pool with great bar service and food.
Also very good massage offered
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simcol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel is almost perfect, the staff are excellent, the room quality very high and the food and drink are as you would expect from this standard of hotel. We stayed for a week and loved the location being a few minutes walk from the centre of Cascais and opposite the marina with it's strong selection of places to eat and drink (recommend hemmingways to eat).
The pool and sun deck area is crowded and families may be disappointed. My only issues were that firstly the pool service was not as attentive as it could have been and if you arrive at around 6pm after a day out you find a whole load of towels left on sun beds which are not moved by the staff plus a lack of clean towels - small area of service which needs looking at. The second issue is around the fitness room which is small but well equipped however it's like a greenhouse and impossible to use after midday - needs air conditioning.
A couple of small points which should not put you off staying in this fantastic hotel.
For runners - 4.5 mile sea run by running through the town to the start of the boardwalk (Albotroz Hotel) and then a lovely flat route all the way to the end (towards Estoril). 12 mile return by turning left out of hotel then immediate left round side of hotel then keep on going - a nice sea route along cycle/walk way alongside road. 6 miles gets you to the end of the seperate path - obviously you can go further but then gets hilly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the Pousada de Cascais for two nights. Our flight from London arrived in the dead of night and we arrived at the hotel at around 12:00am. And yet the hotel reception was very helpful as if it was the middle of the day with our car being taken out of our hands which was useful as we were all quite tired. We were led to our rooms which was probably the worst bit as they were quite a distance away from the reception, but even that was OK because we were right by the pool and where breakfast was served.
The rooms were very comfortable and nicely appointed with extremely comfy beds. At breakfast there was a wide range of anything you could want, all of which was tasty. I then went out to Cascais for the afternoon and when I got back to the hotel I just lounged about by the very nice pool the hotel has. The only slightly bad thing was dinner as the hotel had a restaurant opposite which doesn't have a wide range of meals, just tapas and some steak. Other than that my stay at this hotel was extremely nice and I would strongly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bienne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel has opened 3 month ago and was like to live into a Design Catalog, the presonal was very friendly and helpfull, changing the room for another with a better view because we stayed 4 nights by themself.
The breakfast was very fine and is located in the center of Cascais, I couldn't expect more and I will try to come back again.
The only thing that could be better was the Steam bath in the SPA section : Massages where perfect, the Sauna a little to little but I prefer a Steam bath that smell Eucalyptus... that's the only "negative" remark... could be worst :)
We really had a great value for the price, absolutely to reccomend.

Room Tip: The Sea side view is really cool and the East side have a small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holeshotboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 8 days in the Pousada, Cascais July 2012 and agree that there is really nothing that needs improving. From the reception on arrival with Maria's excursion of the hotel and surroundings till checking out it was a superb experience. Having stayed at 5 star hotels around the world for many years we agree that the Pousada is up with the elite hotels in terms of friendliness and service. The location is ideal and the modern rooms in the citadele setting just blows you away. We were particularly impressed by the attitude of staff in all diciplines whether it be room cleaners, laundry or bar staff. Whoever runs this hotel is doing most things right and obviously appreciates that even with a pefect shell it is the contents that counts. Congratulations and we will be back.

Room Tip: Go for a sea front room on the second floor, sunny, seaview and good size balconies and short walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This trip all started by a desire to see a jazz artist (Melody Gardot) in concert that was appearing at the Hippodromo Manuelo Passolo in Cascais Portugal. I researched the hotels that were in proximity to the concert and discovered this beautiful Pousada in an historic Cidadela that was just renovated and had only been opened since March. Well what a find this was, i was in room 239 and had a view of the courtyard which might not have been an ocean view but nonetheless quiet and serene. Upon my arrival i was greeted by the most gracious of host in one Mariana Ferreira. She just couldn't do enough for me to make sure i felt at home and to see that all my needs were met. She gave me a complete tour of the Pousada and their facilities and their services. Throughout the week every single member of the staff that i ran into or requested a service, were all very courteous and knowledgeable The staff at the breakfast dining area overlooking the bay were always very quick to bring you coffee and anything else that you may have wanted for breakfast other than the extensive buffet that was available, i always liked to converse with my favorite waiter from Lisbon every morning about the weather or areas of Portugal and he was always trying to get me the latest newspaper of the day to make my stay feel like home. The charming thing about the Pousada de Cascais is that you start to feel that this is your home away from home. i will have fond memories of this place and cannot wait to get back there to bask in the warmth of their hospitality. Congratulations to Mariana and her staff for a job well done and to Pestana Hotels for hiring such professional and courteous personnel. Yours truly Georges

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georges P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Property: Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing