We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great mix of old world and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'm not a big fan of contemporary hotel but the mix of old world and modern makes Pousada de Cascais a complete success!

From outside the Citadel you can barely guess that there is a hotel inside.

Location is fantastic. Once you pass through the Citadel gate, you're entering an old world with the latest technology and design.

I love the lobby with the swallows' wall. Every little corner is a charming discovery of contemporary furniture (red lips couch or woman bust featuring a swallow bird...).

The Cisterna is great, as well as the long hall on the basement (access to the Marina).

Take a walk along the fort's patrol path... The view is just amazing...

Bathroom is great (however I did not like having the toilet adjacent to the bathtub - I have to remove the toilet paper in order to avoid it to get wet - sometimes, hotel designer are not very rational...).

3 remarks:

They should have put the elevators in the lobby or nearby. Furthermore the direction is not so obvious to find the elevator.

As some previous guest said, the pool is very close to the breakfast area and everyone can watch you.

But the major problem is the very noisy bar. We were in a wonderful deluxe Marina room (248 and 250) but could not enjoy our terrace. The "Heat Club" Karaoke was just opposite and there was house music until 3am! Even with the windows closed, I could still hear the music. I think this is a real problem and I can imagine what it will be during the summer…

I will However come back in Pousada de Cascais but will avoid the summer because of this nuisance. People enjoying the calm should be aware of this.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms are nice but be aware of the noisy bar opposite. Do not miss the walk from the fo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicheleParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cidadela Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hip contemporary design in an historic location. This means our room was bright an airy, in contrast to other pousadas, where they be a bit fusty. Helpful staff and generous tasty breakfast. Sauna so relaxing. We stayed 2 nights and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms overlook the marina. Our friends wanted one next to the historic walls also, so ask...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Pousada was a great hotel. I stayed there with two friends for five days in a normal room and we couldn't have been happier with it.
Before we chose this hotel, we looked at a lot of different hotels in Lisbon and at the beach. Judging by the pictures and price we chose this hotel. We got there by transport (60 Euros) from airport to the hotel. We got a very warm reception, the staff gave us a tour through the beautiful hotel, described the history of the buildung and how to use the shower (there's a trick ;)). One of the staff members, Mariana, introduced herself as being our special contact person during the stay. So the welcome was highly professional and more than friendly. The hotel looked exactly like on the pictures and the rooms where in white with big and comfortable beds. The breakfast was delicious and you could eat while watching the ocean. The pool and spa area were also very clean and modern. Everything we wanted to see in Lisbon was within reach via train from Cascais (beautiful city!!). On the last days of our stay we asked Mariana if there was any way to make a special dream for a birthday (of one of us) come true: dinner at the beach. From that moment we were even more impressed how professional and friendly everything goes in the Pousada. For little bit of money, they found the perfect place and made the most beautiful dinner we ever had for a birthday. They drove us to a close and amazing beach and we had our bar/restaurant in surfer lounge style (everything in white) with table, drinks and chill out area, good music, a waiter and even a cook. They even lighted candles after the sundown. We were blown away!! The dinner was delicious! At the next day they made a surprise birthday cake and a card signed by everyone. That was the cherry on the cake- wow!
So if you can choose which hotel to go to: take the Pousada! When we were there we had the chance to take a look at all the other hotels we were thinking of and none of it was so impressive in service, style and price performance ratio. We thank Mariana and the team of pousada so much (including all the nice waiters, cleaning service, receptionists, cooks and event manager)! Hope to return soon to the Pousada! Greetings from Germany!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickBenGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My friend and i spent a week at this fabulous hotel. Our rooms, which over looked the marina were spacious and well equipped. The bed was incredibly comfortable and i was in pillow heaven - lots and lots of big puffy white pillows. As an other reviewer mentioned, there are some night clubs down by the marina which are noisy but I didn't find them a problem - keep the windows closed and turn up the air conditioning! There are no tea/coffee making facilities which Is a pity.

I'd like to thank Rute and her reception team - they were absolutely marvellous and nothing was too much trouble.

I will definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Motherwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

arrived at hotel and we were well impressed with the location and setting. arrived at reception to be very politely informed that they had no room for us . We were devastated as we were only on a 3 night break and as we are familiar with cascais we had booked this lovely new hotel in a central location so as we could make the most of our time. the receptionist said she had booked us into an even more luxurious hotel in Lisbon!! we were adament that we had no desire to be in the city and were here to enjoy Cascais, no good. We had booked through prestigia NEVER AGAIN, apparently the hotel had tried to contact them several times to tell them there was no availability , at the time I was sceptical of this but now I know that they do not reply to emails and fob you off on the phone saying they'll call you back and no call.
anyway they trasferred us to a sister hotel in cascais , they did their best for us a large suite sea view and offered us 2 evening meals. but this hotel was not what we had planned , it was way too far out - about 40 mins walk, it was also very dated .
we transfered to pousada de cascais on last night when a room became available.
they upgraded us to a seaview room,over looking Cascais marina .great ultra modern bathroom . it was fab.
they gave us a free lunch which was beautiful, very good food.
lovely pool area, indoor pool, with a small but fantastic decked area just outside overlooking the marina .lovely pool bar serving great food.
all this just really showed us what we'd missed out on.
great hotel , nice staff, very good food, and location, location, location
We will definitely be back but will not book with prestigia.com

Room Tip: sea view if funds allow , but if not don't worry the alternative is over looking a lovely courty...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ballyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Outstanding landascape, luxuriously comfortable rooms, good food and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoVilaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was planning writing a very nice comment to this hotel. However, I guess I can not express it better as the people prior to me. I can only accomplish them in their experiences. We have been travelling quite some pousada's in the past, not the cheapest way of travelling but for sure the greatest and this one for sure belongs to the top. Just go and experience it yourself. Gratulations to the staff.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jan-Roelof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cidadela Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida D. Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range: $141 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Cidadela Cascais – Pousada & Art District is a 5-star hotel located in Cascais. It is part of the Pestana Collection Hotels and one of the first hotels in Europe to have an Art District on site. This historic hotel is surrounded by studios, galleries, and museums with views of the sea and the Cascais marina. It is located 3 minutes on foot from the beach and 5 minutes on foot from the town centre. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfers' paradise, Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. Take a dip at the indoor swimming pool with views of the marina or the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by the Fortaleza gardens. Discover Déjà Lu, our charity bookstore, our Spa and the state of the art gym. For your enjoyment, we offer two restaurants and a bar. From the rooms with incredible views of the marina to the rooms located in more historic areas of the fort, spark your curiosity and choose one of the many Author's rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing