We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant near Orbitor Guincho” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Carloto

O Carloto
Ranked #66 of 525 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant near Orbitor Guincho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you are staying at the Orbitor Guincho, or nearby, this is a short walk from the site and well worth a visit.
This is a family run, good food, great value restaurant, the fish is always fresh and the atmosphere is great, we enjoyed a great meal here and would recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moojw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate at O Carloto on the first and the last day of our holidays in Portugal. We flew to and from Lisbon airport and we would have probably eaten there a few more times if our holiday destination would have been the Lisbon area and not the Algarve. We loved till the last bite of both our meals there!

As starter we tried the soup of the day, the grilled cheese and the mixed salad. As main dish on our first visit we tried the ribs and the lulas and on the second visit the rice with octopus. The rips and lulas were fantastic, both perfectly grilled with very tasty side dishes, but the rice was just incredible, simply prepared on a base of tomato, garlic and onion, it was perfectly cooked, both the rice and the octopus. One of the best rice dishes I have ever had.

Of the variety of homemade desserts they offer, we tried the passion fruit cake and the Sintra cake and both were wonderful.

Fantastic place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandarinli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
137 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great food, nice people, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical no frils, family run, great food, great value places. Fish is always fresh, great sardines in the summer, a nice family running the place. Decor is no the best, location is a bit hidden, but if you are looking for a true local experience and get great food in the process, this is it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JML01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice and clean with friendly service. I had a fish dish which was well cooked with great accompanying vegetables. Hubby had a steak dish which he described as a bit tough with chips/salad. Total cost for two main courses + 1 shared pudding + cover and 2 alcoholic drinks about €30. Overall would recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The solution to Monday dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

On our quest to find a convenient restaurant on a Monday, when many places are closed, we ventured into Areia, figuring that a place close to the camping ought to be available. O Carloto proved to be Hobson's choice. It turned out to be a friendly family restaurant, clean, with a traditional menu in Portuguese and English languages, without translation errors, steady service, friendly staff and at least one waiter with perfect English. The curried shrimps and the lulas we ordered were well prepared and amply portioned, the two beef kebabs were medium done as ordered and exceptionally delicious. Two liters of ice cold draught (!) vino verde and the simple red house wine completed the order as well as a well filled and dressed tray of salad. For 5 people, with two desserts and coffee, we paid under 20 euros pp. No people from the camping were to be seen that evening, which was a bit surprising. In all we were not disappointed, had excellent value for the money and will be back soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookbookcharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Carloto also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to O Carloto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing