We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home...without all the work”
Review of La Bonne Etoile - CLOSED

La Bonne Etoile
Price range: $8 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Bonne Etoile is a cafe, tea room, restaurant and art gallery that is completely innovative, offering a corner of the French Riviera in Cascais. Entering that place is like entering a private home rather than a restaurant. The atmosphere is refined and the customer is received as a friend. Everything is designed to help the customer enjoy the flavors and aromas that awaken the senses. The menu is French influenced and changes regularly.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home...without all the work”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is where we go when we need small and personal. The chocolate cake or apple tart fresh from the oven sweetly wafting in the air; a crisp salad dressed in something delicious that you can't quite figure out how to duplicate; chicken, beef or fish prepared just for you...and crepes for a lighter touch. This is like eating at your home or maybe your sister's house where you're loved and cared-for. A select yet varied menu, good prices and a hostess / owner who becomes a friend attract many return visitors. Many also come here for morning coffee, afternoon tea, an evening drink. Entertainment is scheduled almost weekly for evenings. This is also like an art gallery, with top quality paintings that you can buy right off the wall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank craigandmicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    19
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice ambient”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Cosy place with nice food. Great family style! Recomend. I ate a very good t-bone with pepper sauce, mushrooms with goat cheese and a chocolate cake. French/portuguese cuisine

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delicious experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

As soon as you seat the owner tells you it is going to be like going to her home to dinner, and that's exactly what you get.
A wonderful host, presenting you with a delicious menu made of different dishes and flavors, chatting with you and the other guests in a very enjoyable, beautifully decorated and intimate space.
The food is french influenced and very tasty. The menu seems to change frequently but everything was delicious and with canapes and port, entrance, fish and meat courses and some sinful deserts you'll get very satisfied.

The place is small but very nice, with a mix of art gallery and reading saloon. We went there to dinner but it should be a wonderful place to get some tea and cookies in a cold afternoon.

Definitely a different place that well have to visit again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulinhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cozy place to have meals and afternoon tea”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

we went there for lunch to celebrate my friend's birthday today, and were amazed by the delicate, family-style decoration and setting. the foods are prepared from fresh and really nice :D and the chocolate drinks is super recommended!!!!!! very concentrated with home made whipped cream!!!!!!! i will definitely come back next time :DD the environment is best for afternoon tea as well :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia-the-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I went there on a dark November evening - and I felt so much welcomed. This is a place where the host makes difference,. She was cooking for me, we Talkes about books and politics and the weather and life. The menü is local with French touch, but most Important - made with love and enthusiasmus. When i left I promised to come back, and I will so so. Fore sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Etoile also viewed

 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing