We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's as good as it looks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pergola House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pergola House
Ranked #2 of 39 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blacksburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's as good as it looks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Cascais is a good alternative to staying in Lisbon -- safe and pretty, and just a half-hour train from the old town, and the train is cheap and runs constantly. The inn is absolutely fabulous. It's just half a block from the train, but you would never know it -- it's a gorgeous manner house in a beautiful garden. Everything inside is marble and wood and tiles and antiques. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is great. It was a heavenly start to our Portugal vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 50DLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting everyone know how much you have enjoyed Pergola House. We all hope you come back in the near future. All the best, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
175
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only spent 2 nights in the Flowers room in Casa da Pergola but it was enough to enjoy the hospitality and the friendly house. We admired the character of the house, the antiques, would have liked to know more about the history of the house and of the displays, maybe a reason to come back. Weather was great so we enjoyed breakfast in the garden and the tasty fruits and home made sweets. Location is great, just in walking distance of everything. Definitely recommend it to people who like to enjoy the local flavour, which Casa da Pergola has plenty of. A special thanks to the helpful and nice staff. Looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana Mihaela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at Pergola House. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzeralnd
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a lovely stay. We truly felt like guests in this noble home rather than "clients". Extremely well taken care of property, friendly, personal and service minded personell. Lovely touch with "happy hour" with portwine in the well-tended garden. Sure, a bit costly for a B&B but absolutely worth the money. Great location 5 min away from beach and train station, yet quiet as property sits back in a little garden. Great attention to details in the room. Will highly reccomend and expect to come back shortly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ine0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is guests like you that make us feel proud of our work. The Pergola staff and myself hope you will be back in the near future. Best regards, Patrícia Gonçalves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Cascais. I have wanted to stay at the Pergola House for a couple of years and was not disappointed. The house is beautiful and full of lovely antiques, the atmosphere is very calm and relaxing. We stayed in the Azul room which has a balcony overlooking the garden - the only disappointment was that the weather was cold but I can't blame the Pergola for that!
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
It would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Room Tip: The Azul room (number 15) has twin beds and a balcony overlooking the garden. If you want to siesta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Painy's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for the suggestions made. We feel happy that you were not disappointed. We do our best to please our guests. The Pergola House staff and myself wish you all the best. Best regards, Patrícia Gonçalves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We came to the Pergola after getting lost in our rental car. What a happy surprise as this visit turned into one of our favorite stays in all of Portugal. Sofia helped me quickly and got my husband and I checked in last minute to a room we could afford . . . We laughed about the circumstances, she got us some complimentary Port wine (much needed) and I settled into the giant bathtub.

We awoke to a sumptous, homemade breakfast with fresh, ripe fruit, little sweets and nice scrambled eggs. This place is so stylish and homey, it's a bit like inhabiting one of the fabulous chalets of the last century. It's historical but with modern conveniences and a delightful staff. I'd be thrilled to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank leelacyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your review. The staff and my self feel happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We all hope that you come back in the near future, Patrícia Gonçalves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a family home and both the house and its people make one feel very much at home. The location is excellent for the town and its facilities. It is the sort of place one imagines returning to with pleasure.

Room Tip: The grey room was luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chrisrfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We hope you come back in the near future. Best regards, Patrícia Gonçalves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Recently returned from a 9 night stay at Pergola House and would definitely return. It is more like staying in someones home than a hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable. Breakfast is very good, particularly the bread and fresh fruit. We stayed in the Grey Room, which was probably the largest in the house and has lot's of room for storage and a lovely view over the gardens. Very well located for both central Cascais and rail / bus stations, but quietly tucked away from any noise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DarloAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, General Manager at Pergola House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful review about Pergola House. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay! We hope you can come back soon. Best regards, Patricia Gonçalves, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola House

Property: Pergola House
Address: Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pergola House, a Mediterranean style Mansion, with its elegant white marble floors and staircases, 10 bedrooms with "bas relief" stucco ceilings and beautiful garden, is located in the very heart of Cascais. This superb house has always belonged to the same family for over a century and its beautiful facade adorned with ancient hand painted tiles has been the delight of both amateur and professional photographers. Enjoy the buffet breakfast outside in the colourful garden in summer or inside with the sound of classic music. Port wine served everyday at 6 pm. Tea service in the afternoon. Special appetizers and wines from 6-8 pm. Daily diner buffet available. Air-conditioned and central heating. Wireless internet in all the rooms. Good tips for restaurants and museums.Pick-up from Lisbon airport available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pergola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Pergola Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing