We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl overlooking the Atlantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in June 2011 and had a very enjoyable time. The hotel is located a few kms from Cascais town, and a couple of hundred metres from the sea. There is a busy road at the front of the hotel, which seems to be part of the local cycling and jogging route, given the amount of locals indulging in these pastimes here. Once inside the hotel, the road is not visible nor audible due to the lie of the land and the layout of the hotel. The coastline at the front of the hotel consists entirely of steep and rugged cliffs so it is not possible to access the sea directly here. Still, it makes for a pleasant evening walk.
If you want to go to the beach, then it is necessary to go into Cascais itself. It is rather a long walk, especially with children, so a better option is a taxi (about EUR4 into Cascais from the hotel). There is a local bus passing the front of the hotel into Cascais but nobody seemed sure of the timetable.
The hotel itself was impeccable. The room was clean, spacious and airy. Our room was located in the block away from the main hotel, reception, restaurant, etc. and was very quiet. The view from our balcony was not great- the back yard- but other rooms have a garden view or sea view, for which you need to pay extra. We had dinner here every evening except one and enjoyed our meal each time. I am vegetarian and in this case the choice is somewhat limited but adequate for a short stay. The prices are excellent compared to restaurants of a similar standard in town. The restaurant has lovely views overlooking the Atlantic. What can be better than enjoying a great meal and a bottle of the local red whilst admiring a sunset over the Atlantic! There is even cheesey live music here occasionally.
We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool here. There is a pleasant, leafy garden adjoining the pool area so you can just lounge about here if you don't want to be right next to the pool. There is also a lovely shady area near the garden and pool where they serve drinks and snacks.
The staff in the hotel were enormously friendly and conscientious. No complaints here.
The hotel operates a limousine pick-up service at the airport for which they charged EUR60, one-way. Given that this is about a 60 min drive, that there can be long queues for taxis at the airport, that public transport out to here would be very difficult indeed, I think that this is a good option to take. In fact we had a luxury limousine to ourselves and a wonderful old man driving us, who was more than willing to give us a running commentary on all the sights as we passed by Lisbon on the road out to Cascais.
I can find no criticism of this hotel except that I don't really believe that it deserves five stars. For that you do normally need a bit more than what they offer here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 387 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011


The official star system for hotels has always been something of an anachronism. It seems to be a system whereby you tot up the number of features regardless of quality. Please be assured there is no way this hotel deserves 5 stars, especially when you consider the generally high standard of hotels in Portugal.
The word that keeps occurring to me is "amateurish" . It is almost as if someone with no experience of running a hotel has decided to do so and thinks a few trendy features is all it takes, eg a nespresso machine.
Any of the shortcomings individually don't seem much but cumulatively they add up to a vastly overpriced poor experience. Some examples : the shower head by the swimming pool being so encrusted with green growth that it is probably a health risk - the tray underneath by the way matches it; the slight smell of drains mentioned by others, remains- at least in my room; Smart leather wastepaper baskets in room cheapened by black plastic sacks; Paper napkins (in a 5 star hotel!!); 9 euros per day if you want wireless Internet - double that if you want a fast connection; Staff friendly but most take little pride in their appearance - not helped by the male uniforms which you would normally find a dentist wearing (what's that about?), 3 star breakfast buffet, no turn down service .... The list goes on and on. Good points - the bed was reasonably comfortable - that's it ...
This hotel should be 3 star and charge accordingly. As a regular visitor to Portugal I can tell you that you can get far better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My two friends and I recently traveled to Cascais and wanted to treat ourselves to a great boutique hotel. This is fantastic. It feels like a spa-- chill, relaxed. A lovely welcome, friendly staff and well decorated. My only complaint (and honestly, it would probably keep me from coming back) it is the outrageous daily prices they charge for internet. I frequently travel all over the world and in this day free WiFi is a given. We had just come from a 50euro/night guesthouse in Ericeira where it was free. They do have a free 'business center' with one computer, but who wants to wait in a dripping bathing suit while someone finishes up checking their email? The fee is in poor taste for such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitecheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I have just return with my husband from a week stay at Senhora da Guia and we loved it!
Our transfer from the airport was a great experience, our driver Filipe took us to the most beautiful places in Lisbon and gave us the opportunity to see great sights. Do not miss Saint George Castle and Sintra Pena Castle. Overall the staff team was very kindly and they take service serious.
The italian restaurant, Terrasa is fantastic, great panoramic ocean views and real tasty food with the best prices. Wine selection is interesting, tasted new portuguese wines like Terras de Alter. At lunch time home made flavoured ice teas, tasty salads and cool ambiance at the day loungers by the Ocean water pool (what an experience).The Spa is very personal and we had a great massage for two (Bernardo is the best!).
The rooms are very cosy and comfortable, the wallpaper is beautiful and the bathrooms have a double basin with rainshower.
We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaJohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Keeping in mind that we stayed there in 2010 (i.e. before the refurbishment, which we have not seen), we were still very impressed with this hotel.

First of all, staying in Cascais is the way to see this part of Portugal. Yes, it's a bit further out from the town and the airport, but the views, biking and the atmosphere is totally worth it. We were surprised how few people there seemed to be there, as this really was a special little jewel to be enjoyed.

We chose Senhora da Guia at the last minute (and we got a very good price), and we were glad we did. As it was a special occasion, they organized a bottle of champagne upon our arrival. We ended up having dinner on the terrace. There were loads of wonderful fresh fish options, that I thought were divine. There were fewer options for vegetarians, but when the food arrived, we both enjoyed it tremendously.

When we were there, the rooms were a bit outdated and looked like they could use a refit, particularly the bathrooms. But if that has been sorted in the last year, this really is one of the great places to spend a beach holiday. We also had our own lovely little patio with a view of the gardens that gave us direct access to the pool area. I felt like we were in the middle of some story-book experience. The breakfast the next day was amazing, and it honestly had some of the most amazing fresh squeezed orange juice that I have ever had in my life. The fresh coffee and hot milk were also liberally distributed and were very tasty.

Other big pluses included the location (although a bit far from town for people with children) as we were able to rent bikes and cycle up and down the coast, into Cascais and around the area. The wind when we were there was a real experience, but we were able to see some amazing windsurfing and kitesurfing. The pool area was also really lovely and there are umbrellas and chairs with great views to relax on (if you positioned yourself early enough in the day as it's quite popular). The spa and exercise area were a bit on the small side, but nicely kitted out. I particularly enjoyed the sauna despite the heat of the day - with a quick dip in the pool afterwords of course.

There were few negatives about our stay here (although we had some trouble with Easy Jet on the way home - do _not_ take their last flight of the day or you could end up stranded as that apparently happens about once a week out of Lisbon). I would say the main negatives were the slightly outdated rooms (but probably solved from the sound of things), thin walls (hopefully solved - as you do not always want to hear your neighbors enjoying their holiday), the distance from the airport (although the isolation worked for me) and the fact that you have to leave. It really is like being in paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the splendid Senhora da Guia in Cascais and we were thrilled with our choice of this five star gem.

The sea view room was spacious and homely with an extremely comfortable bed and we woke to a fantastic view of the Atlantic each morning. Their breakfast was a mixture of continental and hot foods and provided a very filling and tasty start to the day.

The pool and gardens downstairs provided the perfect opportunity to catch some sun and we spent a couple of hours each day following the sun around the garden, topping up our tans. I would especially recommend the lounge chairs towards the rear of the garden, these are partially shaded by large palm trees and were ideal for sleeping or reading.

We lunched twice downstairs by the pool - the bruschetta was fairly tasty, but my choice of burger on the second day was excellent. They also do a really refreshing iced tea which is a must sample.

Unfortunately there are some downsides. Firstly location wise, you are a good 30 minute walk outside of the town of Cascais, necessitating a taxi in and out each evening but these cost just €5 which isn't that expensive but just slightly inconvenient.
Secondly the minibar doesn't give you a price list and a standard bottle of water costs €5 and the water is hardly five star. Thirdly my wife is a vegetarian and on our second day, ordered a cheese salad for lunch, but requested that they leave out the ham. We both heard the order being rung through to the kitchen and the waiter telling the chef "cem fiambre" (without ham). Needless to say the salad duly arrived with copious strips of ham liberally sprinkled on top and we immediately sent it back, only for the same salad to arrive out two minutes later with bits of ham still in it and a few cherry tomatoes thrown in as a disguise. I complained to the waiter yet again and he did in fairness offer to go and get a fresh salad but my wife declined and I refused to pay the €14 charged for her non consumable salad. The waiter was most apologetic and dealt with our complaint very efficiently and I wouldn't dream of letting this unfortunate episode detract from an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

There are plentiful restaurants and cafes in nearby Cascais - our choice on the second evening was Aromi - an Italian restaurant and bar run by a very hospitable Mancunian - Paul DeCourcy. It was pretty busy that night (always a good sign) and did a nice selection of pastas, pizzas and desserts. I recommend the Romana pizza - it was delicious.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel for couples looking for five star comforts in a relaxed setting and it made our short stay in Cascais very memorable. If you're looking for pure rest and relaxation - you couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room, if possible with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Broger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This Charming hotel was perfect for our weekend stay by the Ocean in Cascais. Between Pinetrees and golf courses we felt Nature was with us, went for some walks and took a great 4x4 trip to Sintra Mountains! The rooms are very comfortable and the pool with ocean water, daybeds and homemade ice teas is great. Staff was very attentive special note for Joana that made our dinner memorable. The food is fantastic with real homemade pasta and the lobster was a real treat! We will be back, thanks you to all!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allangunnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.9 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
823 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
594 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#12 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 Family Hotel in Cascais
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $126 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding breathtaking views to the Atlantic Ocean and surrounded by pinetrees, Senhora da Guia is a 5 star charming boutique hotel offering a relaxed and a very comfortable ambiance amidst nature on the Lisbon Coast. For more than thirty years Senhora da Guia is synonymous with great accommodation, attentive service and delicious food.Senhora da Guia is conveniently located in between the many delights of Cascais and the beauty of the Guincho beaches. Our guests appreciate the perfect setting for relaxation right on the doorstep of the Atlantic Ocean, with a neighboring golf course and the picturesque town of Sintra a short drive awayEach of the three buildings making up Senhora da Guia is charming in its own right. The main building in subdued, sun-kissed orange hosts our reception, lobby, restaurant, spa and several of our rooms and suites. The adjoining building in a warm shade of yellow is surrounded by pine trees, with all the rooms overlooking a lush green lawn with palm trees. The third, terra cotta colored part of the hotel is built around a courtyard with a delightful little fountain. The ambience is incredibly warm and welcoming! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senhora Da Guia Hotel Cascais
Senhora Da Guia Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing