We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and best service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortaleza do Guincho
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Pure Relais Chateau service! great restaurant with the most beautiful view, great location next to Guincho beach, not the biggest choice for breakfast but everything excellent!
The rooms are logically dark but beds are comfortable.
We loved it, coming back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IngridfromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor comunity your feeling about our Hotel.

We really regret that you have find breakfast a little bit to short but please be sure we will do our best in order to improve it.

We hope very much to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Best regards from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 564 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location right on the sea cliffs. Amazing suite, a truely memorable hotel for all the right reasons. Mini bar not overpriced. People in the hotel were very aaccomodating. It was wonderful to wake up to the sound of the sea. Loads of interesting walks.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaannful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all I would like to apologige for my late response to your comments.

Thank you very much for your nice words about our property; it is with great pleasure I have learned that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned for a short break to Portugal. Staying at the Fortaleza do Guincho was a lovely experience. The hotel is in an outstanding position on the stretch of unspoilt beach and sand dunes at Guincho, near Cascais. The hotel, a former fort, is full,of character with wonderful views a fantastic restaurant, and most of all great staff who went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.
It is in easy reach of other lovely places to visit such as Cascais, Sintra and Lisbon.

Room Tip: I think they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Good evening from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for sharing your impression about our property with the TripAdvisor community.

We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early april when it was raining and stormy. It was a relaxing place to be and the breakfasts were superb. We didn't eat dinner here as it was too expensive for us but nothing was too much trouble for the staff at all times. The room was very good, with jacuzzi bath and covered-in balcony (handy in the rain). I didn't like the fact I couldn't turn on my reading light my side and that there was no pool or gym. I would have expected more amenities in a 5 start. It would be an ideal place for a honeymoon as it's on a windswept cliff top location with views of beaches and ocean everywhere. Very romantic. Strolls on the beach recommended + short drive to Cabo do Roca,Cascais or Sintra.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all I would like to apologige for being so late to thank your for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor comunity your feeling about our property.

We are really sorry that you where a bit disapointed with the services available in our property; we would like as much as you to have a SPA and a swiming pool available for our guests, but as you probably know our Hotel is builts in a protected building and therefore we are not allowed to make any changes in the building. Still an in order to offer at least a change to enjoy a SPA and a swiming pool we do have a special agreeement with a local SPA ( five minutes away from us driving ).

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from all of us.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here in February for my husbands 50th. We arrived the same time as the storms that battered the UK and parts of Europe. Watching the Atlantic from our bedroom window was spectacular! When the storm had died the beach is lovely to walk along for an afternoon stroll.

The hotel is wonderful, the breakfast is sublime, buffet style plus eggs. The poached eggs and the omelettes are the best I've tasted. Wonderful coffee which the friendly staff quickly realised I could not get enough of. We didn't use the restaurant but we did have a snack at the bar which was lovely.

The rooms are beautiful in a traditional style. Kept immaculate by the staff. The Jacuzzi bath was heaven - I could have spent the 4 days we had there in it. Toiletries of a good quality and kept well stocked. Check in was quick and everything was explained the complimentary water and port was a lovely surprise. Truffles on the pillows at night were superb. There is a minibar in the room which we didn't use but did not seem any pricier than other hotels we have stayed in.

Staff are very helpful and polite but not at all intrusive.

The location is wonderful, we hired a car at Lisbon airport and its a very easy drive to the hotel. The Estoril Coast is very pretty and very easy to navigate. Road are well maintained and well signposted, didn't get lost once and didn't have satnav.

Lisbon is a lovely city and despite the rather damp weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Transport is varied, interesting and easy to understand. Travelling from one hill to another via the elavadors is great, saves wearing the legs out on hills and steps. We drove in and parked at the huge Columbus Shopping Centre and caught the metro into the centre.

When travelling to the area a visit to Sintra is a must. Our only disappointment was that because of the storms the Palace of Pena was closed, as fallen trees had made the road up impossible. However the historic town is lovely and it just gives us an excuse to return and when we do we would love to stay here again.

Fabulous!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarKaz6457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We thank you very much for sharing with the TripAdvisor comunity your feeling about Estoril Cost and our property.

We are all really happy to learn that you have spend a great time in our Hotel, we just regret that you have not enjoyed our restaurant.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Best regards from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Arriving at the hotel we were not disappointed. The building and setting by the sea is amazing.
The service from staff in all areas of the hotel is impeccable with their politeness, helpfulness and attention to detail.

The rooms are spotlessly clean as aresult of morning and evening visits by staff.

The breakfast has a choice of buffet or eggs. There is an excellent choice ranging from fruit, cereal to cold meats, cheeses and pastries. There are magnificent views over the ocean and beaches to take in while eating breakfast.

In the evening the restaurant is a bit expensive but in line with the high quality of food and service that one is provided with and other restaurants of this standard.

Having a car car gives you easy access to Sintra and the surrounding countryside. There is a bus service that goes by the hotel into Cascais from where there is a train to Lisbon, or you can borrow a bicycle from the hotel.
The dunes behind the hotel and the beaches are interesting to explore. The miles of promenade are great for strolling along.

Room Tip: A superior room will give you a small balcony. Rooms on the left side get sun all of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB42022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho and for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor comunity.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Best regards from all the staff.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It deserves a 5 star qualification : A very good ambiance where one is always surrounded by tranquility . Confortable areas on the ground floor where one may read , enjoy the tea time or any other "times" , always with the terrific show that the Mar do Guincho offers .


The restaurant of the Hotel offers good quality/variety but it's overpriced .

The buiding is of course the result of an above the average reconstruction from the remains of an ancient Portuguese small fortress ., and my only concern are the riduculous number of country flags that in summertime over croud the top of the Hotel ...

My personal advise to the Hotel' Managment : For everyone's sake , please keep 3 of them - the Hotel's flag , the E.U.'s and the Portuguese flag , and redraw all the others ! ...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Goof afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor community your felling about the Hotel.

We are really pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us despite the flag !!!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho soon.
We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
3.9 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza do Guincho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza do Guincho

Address: Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#7 Business Hotel in Cascais
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $130 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortaleza do Guincho 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaning over the Atlantic Ocean, the Fortaleza do Guincho welcomes a charming five star boutique hotel - integrated into in the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association - with a range of services that focus on the well being and peacefulness of the customers. The Hotel's restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star, offers an unforgettable dining experience of Portuguese cuisine, made from the finest national products. The Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho has a warm and personalized service, making it the ideal place for a family holiday, board meetings or the perfect refuge for a romantic getaway. It has the perfect conditions for company meetings, special parties and events or banquets. Located just seven kilometers from the town of Cascais and 30 kilometers from Lisbon and the International Airport, the cultural and leisure offer in the region is rich and full of varieties. Along the cost line you will find Sintra and its magnificent monuments and natural landscape, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For sea lovers abound beaches along the coast and all kinds of water sports and outdoor activities . The Hotel is surrounded by the best golf courses, while the Estoril Casino, the largest in Europe, is just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortaleza do Guincho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortaleza Do Guincho Cascais
Fortaleza Do Guincho Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing