We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortaleza do Guincho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fortaleza do Guincho
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The view from our rooms really took our breath away - the small enclosed balcony was perfect for staring out across the sea. The rooms themselves were very authentic, with comfortable beds, attention to detail and a very sweet bathroom - complete with jacuzzi.

I stayed here in December (just before Christmas) with my husband and parents-in-law for four nights and it really was a relaxing experience.

The breakfast was delicious, with plenty to choose from, including freshly cooked eggs. The restaurant was expensive - we just had one meal there, which was a special tasting menu. They catered well for one veggie - making sure we had our own menu. The service was excellent and we felt very well looked after throughout our stay.

We had several day trips (you do need a hire car to get to the hotel) to Sintra and to Lisbon. Neither took too long and the journey was scenic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktmy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your nice comments about our property; it is always a matter of joy for us to know that our clients had a pleasant stay.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again for a longer stay.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from Fortaleza do Guincho.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    95
    32
    16
    3
See reviews for
59
299
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Once a fort but now a five star hotel. Fortaleza has the perfect balance of staff to match. We felt so relaxed and comfortable here. The staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The hotel is well out of the frantic hustle and bustle of Lisbon. It sits on a headland which enables guests to have some fantastic views out of so many of the windows. The dinning room really excels for views. The bedrooms are comfortable and interestingly furnished. We had one with a sea view and a small balcony. if the sun had shone we would have been in our element. It is sad to see bad comments because in our experience the staff went out of their way to supply us with any requests we made and always remembered our special requirements.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good but the extra to pay for an upgrade is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Diretor de vendas at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our property and our staff.
It is always a matter of joy to learn that we have made your stay as pleasant as possible.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Best regadards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked a very nice package including a dinner at the one star Michelin restaurant, but at the arrival the person at the desk just brought us to our room without explaining anything about the dinner, the breakfast room and hours, etc, etc. The location is wonderful (old fortress on the sea at Guincho) but the rooms are a bit disappointing. The decoration is a bit kistch for a hotel of this category, our room (and we had a superior one) was quite small, smelling bad (bathroom) and the view to the see was on the side. The balcony was nice, but just above the kitchen of the restaurant). The restaurant was a must and I will review it separately.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge_Karlsruhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor community your thoughts about our property.

We are really sorry that you have been disappointed with your stay in our Hotel.

Please be sure that we will do our best in order to improve our service / information at check in time; unfortunately in what regards the size of the room there is nothing we can do, since our Hotel is built in a fortress from the XVII century although superior room have got about 25 to 28 m2.

As is concerns the decoration I am afraid we can't pleased everybody, but if you come again we will try to allocate you another type of room.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I arrived at the hotel very late one night in December and our first impression was one of amazement. Perched on the top of a cliff in a fairly remote area was this beautifully lit fort looking quite dramatic against the dark sky. Inside was equally beautiful, with a lovely reception area.
We were warmly greeted and upgraded to a first floor room which had an enclosed balcony overlooking the beach.We were to spend many happy hours sitting here. At night all we could hear was the sound of crashing waves - my idea of heaven!
Our room was very well appointed and maintained. A good selection of toiletries was provided, linen changed daily and towels twice daily. I had difficulty getting into the over-bath shower because of the static glass curtain, but a step was soon provided which solved the problem.
The dining room had spectacular views of the sea and its huge Atlantic rollers - quite mesmerizing! Breakfast was superb, with various fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses and smoked salmon together with eggs in any shape or form cooked to order. The coffee and tea were very good too. The service was impeccable.
Sadly, we did not dine there because the prices were a bit beyond our means, but we did have several bar meals which were excellent. My husband particularly enjoyed the delicious, beautifully presented desserts! There are several very good restaurants within a very short walking distance.
Apart from the wonderfully atmospheric building and its position, what stands out about this hotel is the exceptionally high standard of service, which we felt could not be faulted. As we came and went we were greeted by the reception staff, the restaurant and bar staff saw to our every need and the housekeeping staff made sure we were comfortable.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our week of complete and utter luxury, to which we are not, to be honest, accustomed and are extremely grateful to the hotel staff and to Fleetway Travel for giving us such a good deal. We thoroughly recommend the Fortaleza do Guincho.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLG324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Greeting from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
Thank you so much for sharing with the TripAdvisor community your though about our property.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

In contrast to a lot of the reviews here, my girlfriend and I were very, very disappointed with our stay here.
From the very beginning, we did not enjoy our visit. When we arrived we were shown to a room with twin beds, rather than a double despite obviously us being a couple.
We raised the issue with staff (whose attitude was surly and unhelpful), and their first solution was to shove the two beds together. That might be acceptable in one star, but Fortaleza is presenting itself as a five star hotel and charging a hefty premium based on this and it was not acceptable. Eventually and extremely reluctantly, they moved us to the room beside the reception desk.

After that irksome incident, my partner and I decided to try the Jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately, the plumbing had not been cleaned in sometime, and the pumps spit out a constant stream of dirty water. Figuring that they had not been used in awhile, I cleaned the bath and ran the Jacuzzi a further two times. Frustratingly, the outcome was still the same. Frankly after fighting earlier with the staff for double bed, I decided to let the issue rest as I didn’t want the aggravation.

The next day, we decided to rent the two bikes available in the front office. Almost Faulty Tower like, they were badly maintained and very rickety.

I was very disappointed with the place, particularly the attitude of the staff at the reception, who were rude, and unfriendly.
This was in stark contrast to the staff in restaurant, and the head barman, both of which deserve credit for their friendly and professional service.
In fact the only reason I would visit the hotel again is for the restaurant, which was superb. If the rest of the hotel was of the same standard as the restaurant, I would have no hesitation in recommending it, however it wasn't and I would not.

My girlfriend summed it up best when she described it as being five star in price, and second rate in service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We sincerely apologize for what happened and for not matching your expectations.

In what regards the double bed, I have to say that we try as much as we can to allocate double beds to couple, but unfortunately when the Hotel is totally fully booked sometimes it is not possible.

Regarding the Jacuzzi, I only can apologize.
Saying that, I can assure you that we are going to check what is wrong, and make sure that won't happen again.

Still I would like to thank you very much for the nice compliments you have made about the restaurant and the bar.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in order to show you that we can do much better.

Our best regards for 2014.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wow where to start, I treated my girlfriend to a break away to the Fortaleza for her birthday and was our first 5* experience. The service was truly 5* from the moment we arrived we did not have to open a door in the hotel, bags were taken from us and the staff were so friendly and helpful.

We was shown to our room (which we was upgraded to on arrival) up a grand stair case and into a lovely room with the most beautiful views of the beach, cliffs and sea. Everything was clean and beautifully presented. Room was very much in keeping with the hotels fort design. Fully stocked mini bar which was not too expensive.

The location of the hotel is out the way a bit but was perfect for us, we went to Cascais 3 times during our stay and taxi prices varied from 7-10euros eachway which we thought was quite reasonable.

On our last night we ate in the restaurant which was a fantastic experience, loved the fine dinning and again the service was outstanding. This was also where you eat the beautiful breakfast with even more amazing views of the waves crashing onto the rocks.

Will hopefully be back at some point. Perfect break away, (it helped the weather was beautiful for time of year 15degreesC and no wind)

Room Tip: Room with balcony have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind words about our property; we really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at Fortaleza do Guincho.

Will take that opportunity to wish to the TripAdvisor community a very Happy Christmas and all our best wishes for 2014.

Best regards from all of us.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

There’s not much I can add to the other amazing reviews, so I’ll keep it simple. From the outside, Fortaleza do Guincho looks like a squat beige box peppered with too many flags… and then you walk inside. One look at the gorgeous tiling, floral centerpiece, and vaulted ceilings makes even a ragged traveler feel regale.

The hotel is small, private, intimate, and welcoming. I have no idea how Fortaleza do Guincho manages to strike such a wonderful balance between luxury and lack of pretention. Despite it being at the high-end of my budget, I would gladly go back to listen to the waves crash while I sleep at night and to sun myself in the private sunroom in my room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SambaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi good afternoon from Fortaleza do Guincho,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho and for sharing with the TirpAdvisor community your feeling about our Hotel.

It is always a matter of joy to know that our client have enjoyed the stay in our Hotel.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Warm regards from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
3.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
4.2 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza do Guincho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza do Guincho

Property: Fortaleza do Guincho
Address: Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#6 Family Hotel in Cascais
#7 Business Hotel in Cascais
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortaleza do Guincho 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaning over the Atlantic Ocean, the Fortaleza do Guincho welcomes a charming five star boutique hotel - integrated into in the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association - with a range of services that focus on the well being and peacefulness of the customers. The Hotel's restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star, offers an unforgettable dining experience of Portuguese cuisine, made from the finest national products. The Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho has a warm and personalized service, making it the ideal place for a family holiday, board meetings or the perfect refuge for a romantic getaway. It has the perfect conditions for company meetings, special parties and events or banquets. Located just seven kilometers from the town of Cascais and 30 kilometers from Lisbon and the International Airport, the cultural and leisure offer in the region is rich and full of varieties. Along the cost line you will find Sintra and its magnificent monuments and natural landscape, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For sea lovers abound beaches along the coast and all kinds of water sports and outdoor activities . The Hotel is surrounded by the best golf courses, while the Estoril Casino, the largest in Europe, is just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fortaleza do Guincho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortaleza Do Guincho Cascais
Fortaleza Do Guincho Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing