We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views in a windy fortress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fortaleza do Guincho
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Fortaleza do Guincho is located on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic ocean. It is a beautiful hotel that looks like a medieval fortress, right down to the rooms. Our room had a private balcony that looked out to the ocean, the view was incredible! This was also the windiest place I have ever been to in my life! I didn’t go down to the beach because the wind was so strong but my husband did and the wind almost blew his sunglasses away. Still the hotel has an incredible location and view, however it is not within walking distance of Cascais. The staff is very friendly and attentive and we ate at the restaurant (which has one Michelin star) for dinner one night. The food was incredible and the service was very good as well. This dinner was one of the more memorable meals of our 3 week trip. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from Lisbon as well so it is still possible to stay there when visiting Lisbon as we did. For a different hotel experience and an incredible ocean view, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Good morning Toronto !!!!

We thank you very much for your nice comments about our property.
It is always a great pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed the stay in our Hotel.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your friends in Fortaleza do Guincho soon.

Warmest regards from all the staff.
Have a great day !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Fortaleza do Guincho
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 545 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel and the service they provide is top notch. Upon arrival we were upgraded and given a bottle of Champagne on ice. The room was lovely. We ate twice in their restaurant which was as excellent as you'd expect given the Michelin stars, and the service matched, although thankfully not over formal.
We asked for advice when going out and were given perfect back-up. All-in-all we had an excellent stay in a lovely place, and felt extremely well looked after in every aspect whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We thank you very much for your nice comment about our property.
We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the last 3 days of our honeymoon trip and we were really impressed by the location and by the politeness of the people.
Because we were in honeymoon they offered us a bottle of sparkling wine and a dinner at their restaurant, which is now a 3 star Michelin and probably the best in Cascais. If you want to eat great food you definetely have to go there.
It was really pleasant to be there, they even had free bikes for the guests to travel around the coast! Besides the stunning view....they have a great attention to client experiece and we will definetely recommend to anyone willing to enjoy the portuguese coast close to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Federic0_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We hope that you had a nice and safe trip back.

We thank you very much for your nice comments about our property, and are happy to know that you have enjoyed your time in our property.

We really hope to welcome you again next year to celebrate your wedding anniversary; by the time we may have a second Michelin star !!! I believe that by mistake you have mentioned that we have three star Michelin, at the moment we only have one but working hard to get another one.

We wish all the best and really hope to welcome you again next year.
Best regards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spend 1 Week in the Fortaleza do Guincho and I have already written a review about their Restaurant separately as it is very special.

The Service in the Hotel was fantastic, we met only very nice Staff Members, answering questions about their region with a lot of passion and giving fantastic advise about the surroundings must see places. (Thanks for that again).

We had a wonderful time in the Hotel. The Rooms are small but enough, with Air-con, but actually never used it as we loved the sound of the Waves and had the balcony door opened all night.
I can only advise to ask for a Room with Ocean view its for sure worth it.

The Breakfast was very selective with fresh baked bread, homemade yogurt and a good selection every morning. I really enjoyed the easiness and relaxed atmosphere in the Hotel. And you should ask for a Jug of Sangria at the Bar, they are very nice. In general I can only advise to ask the staff a lot of questions about Portugal, one think I loved in this place was the passion how they described the places to see, the wine to try and the food to eat. Nearly every evening we been watching breathtaking sunsets, plain awesome.

This is a fantastic place and we will come back for sure.

PS: The beach next door are very well suited for Surfing as it is quite windy.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with Ocean View, it is breath taking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Andre,

Thank you very much for your warm compliments.

We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again as an Hotel guest or simply using our facilities.

It was a pleasure to welcome you.

With our warmest regards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Truly wonderful if you appreciate in advance that one is paying for exclusivity, service, the best of everything, and a unique location. It won't be for everyone, but that's the point.

For the person who complained about rust outside: it's in one of Europe's windiest and most exposed places: salt water corrodes metal! It can't be helped.

Of course, nowhere is perfect: my mattress was a little too hard, but quickly rectified.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireChap12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We thank you very much for sharing we us your felling about Fortaleza do Guincho !!!

We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Fortaleza do Guincho.

For your next stay we will try to get a better mattress.

Best regards.
Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First things first... the location is not remote (as might be suggested by the professional photographs). They are very mis-leading. The hotel is between two very busy, often crowded, beaches with cars parked (abandoned?) in the roads surrounding the hotel.
Having said that, once you are inside the hotel it is very quiet and there is no disturbance from outside. We had a lovely suite and the terrace was very private.
Service varies (as it does in many hotels). Some good, some a bit indifferent. I have written a separate revue of the restaurant - we only ate there once during our four-night stay. It was good, but there are many other comparable restaurants to enjoy in Cascais and on the road between Guincho and Cascais.
I loved the wind - it certainly helps you to withstand the 35 degree heat! My wife and I hope to return to this hotel one day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good afternoon from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing with us your feeling about Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Fortaleza do Guincho, and please be sure that with will do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

In what regards your comments we will try to improve all our services in order to provide you a better service.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is very special...due to its past ( a fortress, as its title says, built in the XVII century), due to its position ( between two beaches, one being the most famous beach for windsurfers), overlooking the wild Atlantic ocean, could give one unforgettable moments.
We stayed 5 nights and had a superior room. We went for dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, because we were too tired to go somewhere else, the food was good,yet not fantastic, and a little overpriced.
What I liked very much was the kindness and friendliness of everyone working in the hotel, smiling and always ready to help you. The location of the hotel was great, 15 min to Cascais ( lovely place to spend time), close to Estoril, Sintra, Cabo da Roca ( the most Westerly point of Europe, but also the windiest place on Earth!)
What was less pleasant was the terrible wind, which made our sleep difficult ( there are a lot of flags on the roof of the hotel, and , while windy, the supports make a lot of noise). The room was spacious enough, the bathroom smaller , but it was ok overall. The breakfast was rich enough to meet all requests.
In the end, it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with doors in the inner lobby and not in the main lobby, want they are a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihaela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guincho0, Director of Sales at Fortaleza do Guincho, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho,

We would like very much to thank you for taking the time to share with the TripAdvisor family your feeling about Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again, and improve the experience you had in our restaurant.

We remain at your entire disposal for any further information.
Best regards.
Mariana Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
3.8 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
804 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,207 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
568 reviews
4.1 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortaleza do Guincho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortaleza do Guincho

Address: Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Family Hotel in Cascais
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#7 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $163 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortaleza do Guincho 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaning over the Atlantic Ocean, the Fortaleza do Guincho welcomes a charming five star boutique hotel - integrated into in the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association - with a range of services that focus on the well being and peacefulness of the customers. The Hotel's restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star, offers an unforgettable dining experience of Portuguese cuisine, made from the finest national products. The Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho has a warm and personalized service, making it the ideal place for a family holiday, board meetings or the perfect refuge for a romantic getaway. It has the perfect conditions for company meetings, special parties and events or banquets. Located just seven kilometers from the town of Cascais and 30 kilometers from Lisbon and the International Airport, the cultural and leisure offer in the region is rich and full of varieties. Along the cost line you will find Sintra and its magnificent monuments and natural landscape, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For sea lovers abound beaches along the coast and all kinds of water sports and outdoor activities . The Hotel is surrounded by the best golf courses, while the Estoril Casino, the largest in Europe, is just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fortaleza do Guincho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortaleza Do Guincho Cascais
Fortaleza Do Guincho Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing