We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is good for a rest. The rooms are large, the location is perfect. I didn't like the pool- small and there was not much space around. I will definitely stay there again. The food was good and the staff-friendly.

Room Tip: Sea view, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and therefore hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    488
    175
    54
    19
See reviews for
233
415
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in June with our 3yr old. Everything about the hotel is pretty good, cleanliness, balcony, room layout, location etc. On arrival our room was not available but we could leave our bags. Didn't get a welcome from the receptionists just told to return at 2. The guy who took our bags was great though, helping us get orientated etc. Good choice at breakfast and the staff were lovely - hot food and coffee wasn't great, not always hot. Few small things that I would note - the fridge in our room was very noisy, very noticeable at night. The baby pool was quite deep so my 3 yr old couldn't stand up comfortably so he wouldn't settle there to play so we just used the beach more (20 mins walk). Playground was a big hit with kids of all ages. Great location - just outside Cascais, 15 to 20mins walk with a buggy

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It's for your satisfaction that we work every day, so it's really thankful to know how much you appreciated your stay at Vila Galé Cascais.
We do appreciate your observations regarding the fridge, the hot food and the playground.

Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey c.i
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just returned after a ten night stay and enjoyed every minute ,
Hotel spotless and rooms are a good size,
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
Fabulous location.
I thought we had an extra row of wardrobe space and I was shocked to find a kitchen area behind it on opening (how nice of the hotel to think about our wives ) JOKE ,
Would I return to this hotel ? Without a doubt.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and it was a great room , At night very peaceful but in the morning you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobydooJerseyC_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Galé Cascais.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff.

Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is beautiful located at the banks of Ocean, and near the city center of Cascais. All center locations and restaurants are on walking distance. It is a pity that the hotel is "old" and never redecorated. The hotel is painted in brown, ceilings are very low causing extreme high temperatures in the corridors, and due to the high fences around the garden it is impossible to look from any public area on the sea. It would be a great idea to rebuilt and have the dining room / breakfast area on the highest floor level. Breakfast is OK but very crowded.
Jan B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at higher floors if you want to see the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé cascais.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelos, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at The Vila Galé Cascais. I had a room with sea views and balcony. It look very calm and relaxing. Lots of things to see and visit and not far from Sintra. Seaside path going all the way to Casa da Guia.
Friendly staff and good breakfast. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie28J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It's with that eager to please, that we work every day, so that all our costumers, like you, can get the best rest/vacations.

Hope to see you soon,
Kind regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Having read some mixed reviews here, we were a little anxious about our planned two week stay in Vila Gale. We need not have worried.

We have come away probably having had one our best family holidays ever. As parents of a very active toddler, getting the perfect location is key. Vila Gale delivers this, it's right beside a fantastic park full with safe, varied and exciting children's playground. Plenty of options to burn up some toddler energy.
The centre of Cascais is a 10 minute leisurely and scenic stroll. We'd been to Cascais before (whilst based in Lisbon). So knew what to expect from this beautiful town, it didn't fail to deliver. Plenty of shops, loads of activities (especially on Children's Day on June 1) and many wonderful small beaches to choose from. For us Cascais is the ideal destination with Tip&Tapas being our favoured restaurant. We are there 5 times over the course of two weeks. So would highly recommend it.

But back to the Vila Gale. The staff are friendly beyond belief. The Housekeeping staff are so professional and one lady in particular went out of her way up befriend our son. We felt sad to leave her on our last day. Nothing is a problem for staff and Michael on reception went out of his way to help us (on more than one occasion). This experience with staff added to our overall view of Vila Gale.
Yes I agree they need new towels and the kitchenettes could do with a little revamp, but it served its purpose for us. We booked Wifi for the two weeks and it worked well most days and when it didn't we reported it and were given new codes immediately. But you do pay extra which maybe isn't the norm these days.

Breakfast was varied and the service was speedy and friendly. We enjoyed delicious options every morning.
We ate lunch at the hotel on several days and enjoyed having it whilst sitting on our sunny balcony (during our sons afternoon nap). Lunch was typical pizza, burgers, salads and sandwiches but we were never disappointed. We didn't sample the buffet at night, so can't comment either way.

If we were to change any element of Vila Gale perhaps some form of children's activities would be worth considering. Only because the pool can sometimes be a little chilly (even on hot days). Which means you move outside the hotel more frequently (park, beaches etc.. But that's the joy of a central location!)

To summarise. Would we return? Absolutely! We like to vary our holiday destinations but have already decided that Cascais and Vila Gale will be where we head next year. I'd recommend the suites (for the extra space) and perhaps that you pack at least one of your own towels from home.

Thanks to all in Vila Gale for making our holiday such a wonderful experience. We've returned home relaxed, happy and full of many happy memories.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EMcPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

.. and we also thank you for your review and it's with a big smile to see how much you and your family enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Cascais.

Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A quick night stop for business. Room was slightly chilly but seemed clean. Room was tired and would expect better for a 4* place. Outdoor pool is small so any fitness freaks forget it. Breakfast was good with a buffet mix of hot and colds. Reception weren't the most welcoming

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet due to time of year so can't really help with a suggested location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsetdonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.
We hope you may visit us again in the near future

Kind regards

Margarida Antunes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Property: Vila Gale Cascais
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing