We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Cascais
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is on a quite sea side road, very close to the bay of Cascais, 10 minute walk. Close by there is a Lighthouse, a museum, and a beautiful Garden. It also has a nice swimming pool and garden.
The service was good although dinner at the hotel was only ok, the main courses were very good but the desert wasn't very good. Breakfast was good with plenty og choice.

Room Tip: Chose a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RasaSarquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We welcome every opportunity to improve and therefore your review is very important to us.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regards

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    484
    174
    54
    19
See reviews for
232
415
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Welcoming and helpful staff, nice location just out of town but within easy walking distance and sufficient parking to have no problem parking our hire car each day.

Cascais is at the end of a railway line about 35-40 minutes from Lisbon making the town (and this hotel) a suitable place to stay for city visits to Lisbon, yet in a pleasant coastal area.

Wifi was available in our room at a cost (it's free in the public areas), the price was reasonable buying one-week access, although coverage in our particular room was quite patchy - good in some parts of the room and poor in others! Our room had a balcony and we had a pleasant view over the top of the pool area and out to sea.

We stayed B&B only so had the buffet breakfasts each morning which were OK. Plenty of options, if a bit chaotic round the buffet area itself at busy times.

We had dinner in the hotel on a couple of occasions (one night it was barbecue night) and again these were OK, buffet-style again, and whilst there was no real cause for complaint we enjoyed our meals out far more.

The only real negatives from our point of view was water that pooled on our balcony and didn't flow away through the drainage channel, and that the area around the pool, whilst technically very clean (like the rest of the hotel) in general, had a surface of smallish tiles between which significant quantities of dust and grit built up which quickly coated damp feet. Not an issue for sunbathers, but a bit annoying for swimmers.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay but would probably look for somewhere with a better pool area next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JupilerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rygge Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and i spend 29 days here inn november 2012,together with a group of ca 60 other.
The hotel is not old,big rooms,nice staff,but their buffet was a little borring for so long time.
Easy going to Lisboa,by train.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff make this hotel the success that it is. So helpful, so friendly, so efficient, I cannot commend them highly enough. The hotel is spotless, the breakfast is excellent. It's a 15 minute walk to the town, with a choice of routes one taking you along the main road and the other along by the sea. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room make sure you state this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My mom and I took a trip to Portugal the end of September to early October. This was our first hotel of 3 we stayed at. We were part of a Collette Tour.
After a long trip it was a good night sleep. We had a room in the back side of the hotel and it overlooked the parking lot but also a park. We woke to roosters crowing every morning. We had to be up early anyway, so this was not a problem, it was actually neat because of the symbol of the Rooster in Portugal.
The breakfast buffet was delicious. No complaints there at all. We ate our other meals in town. Several great restaurants to choose from in town. The town is about a 10 minute walk. Beautiful scenery as you take this walk, and a few free tourist stops into mansions you can do along the way.
The pool area is nice, and there is an outdoor bar. Remember to get your bottled water in town because you pay an extreme amount for it at the hotel.
The rooms are nice, beds on the firm side but it is great for your back. The pillows are weird and uncomfortable. It's like they are filled with golf ball size cotton balls, very lumpy.
Overall I think this is a nice place to stay in the beautiful town of Cascais. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: I think that pool side rooms would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2wholovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent a week in this hotel in March and were really pleasantly surprised. The rate was fantastic, this is definitely a 4-5 star hotel, but with 2 star prices. The property is large but doesn't feel too big. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It is a very pleasant ten minute walk into the town which helped to walk off the amount of food we consumed during the week.

The breakfast .... what can I say, it was truly majestic. Anything you could possibly dream of for breakfast was provided including an omelette chef. The breakfast room was packed every morning and I can truly understand why.

The room had everything required, it was clean with a nice sized balcony and all the usual facilities for holidays.

There was a great pool area, although I had one small concern which was that a couple of times a bird glided straight into the pool, which I have to admit did put me off using it.

Apart from that I had no complaints and would definitely recommend it when staying in Cascais.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionad727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review, reccomendation and for the description that you've made from our hotel.

In fact the words that you use to describe our Breakfast (truly majestic) is the recognition of our effort to provide our guest quality, variety and care on our breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back in Vila Galé Cascais or in any other Vila Galé always close to you,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,118 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Vila Gale Cascais Hotel is situated 15 minutes from the centre - just a leisurely walk for dinner.
The staff were brilliant, friendly, knowledgeable and very professional. The room was spacious, clean and with a nice seaview. The breakfast buffet was all that was required, but the dining room generally lacked atmosphere !!!
Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cascais, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Being considered brilliant, friendly, knowledgeable and very professional is for us the best reward that we can get.

We thank you for the time taken in posting your review and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Cascais.

Hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Cascais,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.1 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cascais

Property: Vila Gale Cascais
Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 80 | Parque da Gandarinha, Cascais 2750-641, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Cascais over the sea and close to the Marina. The centre of Cascais is approximately 800 m away and offers several shops and entertainment venues. A link to the public transport network is only 100 m from the hotel and the nearest airport is 30 km away in Lisbon. Completely renovated in 2004, this hotel offers 7 floors with 233 rooms of which 75 standard rooms and 29 junior suites with ocean view. The Hotel offers a 24 hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, currency exchange desk, wheelchair access, lifts and parking. In the public areas guests will find one restaurant with buffet or a la carte menu, two bars, a Health Club with Spa, outdoor pool for adults and children, gardens and a playground. Business guests can take advantage of 3 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection and multimedia devices. 24 hour room service and laundry service are also available. The tastefully re-decorated rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel's Health Club has free access for guests is equipped with sauna and a Spa where you can enjoy massages and beauty treatments for an additional fee. In the exterior will find a swimming pool with a children's paddling area, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols laid out ready for use in the hotel grounds. A game room with billiard/snooker table among the hotel leisure options and the nearest golf course can be found approximately 2 km away. Guests may select their breakfast and lunch from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may also be taken a la carte and lunch can alternatively be chosen from a set menu. Special diet requirements are also catered and special requested dishes can be prepared. Furthermore, it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cascais Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Hotel Cascais
Vila Gale Village Cascais
Cascais Vila Gale Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing