We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very pleasant stay”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nice hotel, rooms were clean and very quiet. Some restaurants are in walking distance. A bit annoying that in order to get the lock for the safe in the room you need to pay EUR 1,50/day (!!!). The walk on the coast from behind the hotel to downtown Cascais and Estoril is beautiful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing the street and it was perfectly fine (if you do not want specifically an o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MN_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Cascais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 713 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very nice hotel. We had a suite which consisted of a very spacious sittingroom cum kitchen with 1 bedroom. There was a huge bed with feather pillows and duvet, very luxurious if one doesn't have an allergy to feathers. The room was a little jaded and could have done with a lick of paint. The restaurant was adequate with a buffet breakfast. The breakfast was mostly continental with a very limited choice of hot food. Basic comes to mind. The pool area was quite large and almost empty as the weather was awful when we visited.
It is quite a distance from the centre of Cascais and it is probably a half hour walk to get there so a taxi is a must in my opinion.
Very accessible to Lisbon as a train journey is approx. 40 mins.
Lots of excellent restaurants in the area e.g. Entreaguas and Ou Pravernes. Please excuse the spelling as I don't have a business card for either one. The Crepe Grill in the centre of Cascais will not be on my list of return venues. Our order came out to the table wrong but we were waiting so long, at least 45 minutes, we decided not to wait for the correct dish. We didn't get a reduction on the bill even though one of the dishes wasn't touched.
Pestana Cascais is probably suited more to an older clientele than younger and if you want relaxation then this is the hotel to pick

Room Tip: Front of the building overlooking the carpark with a very nice balcony off sittingroom and bedroom...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have just returned from seven nights at the Pestana and we had a great time. To be honest I was a bit wary of going after reading some of the reviews but I needn't have worried. The hotel is lovely, much better than it looks on the website. Our room was a good size and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom.Only complaint I had was the hairdryer in the bathroom which wasn't really of any use, they would be better having hand held hairdryers in each room. We really appreciated having the small kitchen area in the room. There is a small supermarket just across the road and a great bakery/patisserie which we made good use of. The pools and and gardens seem well maintained. Breakfast was good, mainly continental style i.e. cold meats, cheese, fruit etc and there was plenty of it. There were a few hot items that seemed to be replenished regularly. All the staff were very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. All areas of the hotel were clean and tidy. The hotel seems to be in the middle of a residential area but you only have to walk about ten minutes and you will find a selection of restaurants. It takes about thirty minutes to walk into the centre of Cascais along the coast road which is lovely.We also used the shuttle bus provided by the hotel to take us into Cascais several times, a great service We had a great holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area, we would certainly book it again if we ever go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank debbiemoore1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A wonderful holiday: a pleasant flight with TAP Portugal, Lisbon is a wonderful city. Cascais :beautiful resort. We stayed at the Pestana Cascais, a lovely hotel, quiet, near the Atlantic coast (the rooms are clean, with comfortable beds, clean bathroom, I liked the staff, very good food.) Thank our guide Dragos Laurentiu Barcan from Karpaten agency for the beautiful memories.,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DANIELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for seven days and it was very nice.The location is good,it's an easy walk to the Atlantic coast(beautiful) and to the centre of the town.The rooms are clean and spacious, beds are comfortable.The staff -very helpfull and friendly.We had an excellent guide, named Dragos Laurentiu Barcan from Karpaten Agency,very good recommendations.The breakfast and dinner are buffet style,good service.Internet wi-fi free.PORTUGAL is very beautifull.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MIRUNA MIHAELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for five days in April. Despite the way it appears on their website, this hotel is NOT directly on the beach. You can see the ocean, but even the rooms that are "ocean view" are really "garbage can view with some ocean" or "back of local restaurant view with some ocean."

The hotel is in a pretty inconvenient part of the area. If you need a grocery store, there is one a couple of blocks away. The hotel itself didn't have any kind of shop, which I found odd. If you want to walk into Old Town Cascais, you will have quite a journey ahead of you. The cobblestone walks are in bad shape, and traffic is nuts. There are lots of people with dogs, and cleaning up after them is NOT a priority. You *will* trip over cobblestones or step in dog poop.

Everything you will want to do or see is going to be near the Marina. You can park near the marina for just a few euros in an underground garage -- we found that to be the most convenient. The hotel has a shuttle that will bring you to the marina, and there is a train nearby that will take you to Lisbon. And if you go to Lisbon, TAKE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION because it is impossible to find parking there.

We had trouble with our air conditioning on the first day. It wasn't working, and it was very warm in there. We had a maintenance man come in and look at it, and then again, and somewhere around midnight we were informed that the air conditioner was just turned on for the year and that it needed a day or two to get cold. The next day, we were moved to another room and it worked just fine.

The website shows a room that has to have been computer generated. I saw about five or six of the rooms, and not one of them looked like that. The TV's were not flat screens, and appeared to be at least 15 years old. The furniture is not horrible, but very warn. The fabrics on the chairs were stained. Everything just had an "old" feeling, but it was pretty clean and comfortable.

Also, on the website the hotel is this shining, gorgeous building of white with bright blue accents. In reality, the white is very faded and covered in rust. It definitely needs some sprucing up.

We never had trouble parking.

The breakfast buffet was above average. Everything was fresh and there were many choices.

If you use a hair dryer, BRING YOUR OWN. I can't even begin to describe the monstrosity they have in the bathroom there. It's a box with an accordion-like hose attached to a hand piece. It has all the power of those pretend battery-powered hair dryers you played with as a child. The heat builds up in the base of the handset and your palm gets burned but your hair stays wet. Add this to the hard water they have, and you've got yourself lots of bad hair days! Also, don't rely on their toiletries. You'll get a shoe-shine kit but no conditioner.

There is a horrible kitchen area in each room. They should just get rid of it. There is an old cooktop and an old sink and some pots and pans. No microwave. Small fridge.

If you open the door to your balcony, the air conditioner shuts off automatically. That was super annoying. You also need to put your room key into a slot near the door in order to enable the electricity.

It sounds like I am doing a lot of complaining, but overall it was a nice place. I've got to say that the staff was exceptional. They were friendly, sincere, and professional in every way. They went out of their way to help us whenever possible. I wish I could remember everybody's names, but we dealt with Peter and Goncalo and Telmo, and they were all excellent at what they did. We were very impressed with their professionalism.

Room Tip: Even the non-ocean-view rooms have a bit of a view. We noticed a HUGE different in the temperature...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very good hotel stay where the title of "excellent 3 star hotel" is probably more accurate. Staff were always on hand to help with any questions for internal or external hotel activities- [40 mins] walk into Cascais but is a beautiful coastal walk and some excellent local restaurants. Brill supermarket and bakery across the road. Excellent Pool area indoor and outdoor with very comfortable areas to relax by the pool or in the grassy area. Only minus would be the breakfast which was only ok, not much to the hot food and the Sauna and Turkish bath areas are not great. All and all though would have no problem going back because overall value for money was very good.

Room Tip: worth the sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevororeilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Cascais
Eurostars Cascais
#24 of 39 in Cascais
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa, 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2754-518, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $82 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Cascais is a 4-star hotel located in one of the most luxurious areas of Lisbon's coastal region, Vila de Cascais. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfer's paradise Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. It offers both an outdoor and indoor swimming pool with whirpool bath, sauna and Turkish bath, as well as a restaurant and a bar. During the summer, enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and gardens with views of the Atlantic ocean. All rooms feature a kitchenette, balcony, air conditioning and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing