We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i will return”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel:
1. Location - Not in center of Cascais but and they have a shuttle to the center. I had a car so not an issue.
2. Rooms- Very nicely furnished and spacious. The small and well equipped kitchenette is very useful.
3. Staff- They were all truly excellent and helpful.
4. Breakfast- Good variety and tasty food.
5. Internet- free wifi was pretty good overall although sometimes disconnected or slowed down suddenly.
6. Pool and sauna are delightful

Only negatives are that the advertised "gym" has almost nothing in it: They should provide gym passes to a local gym. And they charge Eur 1.50 per day for the in room safe (i thought that was very low class:)

But overall excellent and i will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear "freqtraveller50",


Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Cascais. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us . It was a pleasure being of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Daniela Bargado
(Unit Supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 717 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent two nights at the Pestana Cascais after a 10 days trip to Portugal. It was definetly the less exciting and beatiful hotel after all the magical historical places we have stayed. But I must say that it was also the cheapest. The hotel is not really in the centre of Cascais but if you like to walk, you have a nice 20 to 25 minutes walk to the City centre. As it was winter, we did not use the pool that looked very nice. The room was really big (we were given a superior room) with a nice large balcony. Decoration is very outfashioned and the hotel really needs some remodeling. Bathroom is small and old. Very clean though. In summary, good for the price you pay but don't expect much in terms of history, cozynees or luxury. Staff was not as friendly as we found in other hotels and restaurants in Portugal. They seemed very unmotivated. Very good breakfast included in our room charge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Pestana Cascais.
We were all very happy to learn that you enjoyed the price, breakfast, the pool area, room size and the cleaning, your kind comments were shared with all the Team.
I must say that I’m surprised with your comments that “Staff was not friendly” and “they seemed very unmotivated”, We serve more than 50.000 Guests yearly and the major opinion is very different.
I am sorry that your experience at our Hotel did not meet your expectations regarding the hotel decoration, a remodeling is in study but in my opinion we cannot compare Historical Luxury hotels with Pestana Cascais Hotel because are different concepts.



We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you in the future.


Best Regards,

Daniela Bargado
(Unit Supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our family of 4 spent a week here over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are on the small side but have great balconies overlooking the pool and the Atlantic. They also have a small fidge and a 2 burner stove with a few accessories for cooking. The breakfast which is included is great. Anyone who is looking for more in a free hotel breakfast is dreaming. There are cereal choices, eggs, bacon, toast, pastries, yogourts, unlimited coffee, expresso, etc. in a very nice lounge. The large saltwater pool is enclosed for winter but is very well maintained a pleasure to swim in. The staff couldn't have been more helpful whether it was in making dinner reservations or helping to plan travel to the Algarve. Cascais is a beautiful small suburb of Lisbon that is connected by a cheap efficient metro system. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear "briguy61 ",


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Cascais.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. All the Team were very happy with your comments!


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.



Sincerely,


Daniela Bargado
(Unit Supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in September. All the hotel staff were lovely and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always courteous. The room was much nicer than I expected (with pillows that were the most comfortable I have ever had) and a small 'kitchenette' area, enabling us to store essential wine & crisps in the fridge! It's quite a walk to the centre of town, but theres a place to stop half way if needed, and maybe its not that far, as I had recently had broken my ankle, but i managed walking it most days with not much trouble. Probably because the views were amazing. Taxis are quite cheap - around 5 euros each way. It was quite a quiet hotel, but relaxing and breakfast was always varied and substantial.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 71_B_Right_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had a fabulous week at this hotel while attending a Buddhist festival. The room was very spacious with a nice balcony looking out to the sea. The bathroom was also spacious with everything needed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with very good English. Free WiFi, excellent breakfast - a great week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyLawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear JodyLawrance,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience of our hotel and for this lovely comment.

We truly appreciate your time and feedback and feel honoured by your compliments regarding our facilities and our amazing team!

Our team and I look forward to your next visit among us.

Kindest Regards,


Daniela Bargado
(Unit Supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Pestana Cascais enjoys a fabulous view to the marvelous Cascais Atlantic coast. We were originally booked for only 3 nights but we had to go back home a night earlier. Just a mention to yelow fishtransfer as they was brilliant changing our private transfer within 10 minutes. Recommended. The hotel and the area are quiet and peaceful and that was what we was looking for. We had some of our meals at the hotel and some at the many good restaurants nearby. Lisbon is 40 minutes away in train and it is a nice day out option. We recommend this hotel for couples. Excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Mike,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at Pestana Cascais Hotel! It was a pleasure and an honor to host you.We are delighted that you enjoyed our food, Service and facilities.

Please do come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,

Daniela Bargado
(Unit Superviosr)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My compliments to the Manager for employing such excellent staff. Nicholas, his female colleague - whose name I unfortunately can't remember -
and the rest of the Reception team, have been very friendly and most helpful in trying to resolve my WiFi access problem and in recommending and directing me to places of interest. Nothing has been too much trouble for the restaurant waiter "Jo" who is an absolute gem. He ensured my gluten free bread was available at breakfast and he even remembered my name! The breakfast was excellent with a great variety to choose from. My room has been maintained exactly as I requested by a very pleasant and obliging young lady. The swimming pools, general areas and everything about this hotel have more than lived up to my expectations and have helped to make my first holiday away from my husband and family a most enjoyable and stress free experience. I came to Cascais for the International Kadampa Buddhist Festival and it has truly been a wonderful and memorable week.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itsuitsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear "Itsuitsus",



On behalf of the entire Pestana Cascais team, thank you very much for providing a review about your experience with us.
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and we are delighted that you have enjoyed yourself during your stay with us.

We will of course not forget to let Nicholas and our Team know about your kind words!


Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in future!

Wishing you a beautiful day!


Daniela Bargado
(Unit supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#14 of 39 in Cascais
1,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
808 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 39 in Cascais
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa, 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2754-518, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $77 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Cascais is a 4-star hotel located in one of the most luxurious areas of Lisbon's coastal region, Vila de Cascais. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfer's paradise Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. It offers both an outdoor and indoor swimming pool with whirpool bath, sauna and Turkish bath, as well as a restaurant and a bar. During the summer, enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and gardens with views of the Atlantic ocean. All rooms feature a kitchenette, balcony, air conditioning and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing