We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captivating Cascais”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a jem of a hotel, right on the coast, & just around the corner from the surfers paradise of Guincho beach. We have stayed here three times now mainly due to the friendly & helpful staff throughout the hotel, especially in the restaurant where nothing is too much trouble. We have found the food to be well prepared & the evening buffets are excellent.
The hotel lay on a bus that runs into the town of Cascais that is well worth exploring, if time permits try the Maritime museum very interesting, & rail journey times into Lisbon are about 40 minutes, if you are of a certain age ask for the senior citizens price!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 30seadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 737 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent nine good sunny days in Cascais and lived in Pestana during this period. This is a good hotel and we would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Cascais is a tourist area outside Lisbon, and maybe the most expensive town in the whole of Portugal. Prepare yourself for that and your stay will be much more comfortable. Eating out starts from 10 EUR for a main course. We, as a four family group, could not eat out for less than 50-60 EUR. Focus on the fish. Cascais is weaker on vegetarian dishes.

Pestana is close to the ocean, no beaches though, and a good 20 minute walk to the city center. The walk is nice along the ocean line with some spectacular stops which is almost a must to see. So if you plan on living just by the beach or in the city center, this is not the place for you.


In short, the good stuff:
- It is quite.
- The pool area is one of the most spacious I have ever experienced. There are chairs for you and all your relatives if need be. Anytime during the day, there are free seats.
- Overall good quality hotel
- Helpful staff.
- Room good.
- Good balcony.
- Good free shuttle bus to city center (train terminal)
- Inexpensive taxi, approximately 4 EUR to city center.
- Bus close by to city center, 0.85 EUR

The things that was not so good
- Breakfast is barely ok. Could be better on fresh fruit and on diary products.
- The gym is a joke really. Down in a cellar with no, and I mean no, possibility of some weight lifting. That is a big no no for a hotel of this character.
- I felt that the walk to the city was cumbersome in the heat and this is the drawback, it is not possible to just stroll out to the beach or city center for a quick bath or espresso.

Room Tip: We lived on fourth floor and it was nice and silent. No pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Looking for a last minute hotel in August in Cascais is not easy as everything is either fully booked or really expensive. Then I stumbled upon the Pestana and the price was not cheap but reasonable and seemed the best option of all available.
The best thing about the hotel are the friendly staff, always with a smile and eager to help. Our room was quite large, comfortable and very clean. Loads of channels on the satellite TV in the room. There a two swimming pools that are side by side, and are separated by a type of greenhouse structure on the indoor pool which also has a small warm jacuzzi. There are plenty of lougers in the outdoor pool to soak in the sun, but look out for the long bean bags as there a only a dozen and they get snapped up early because they are really comfortable. There is also a tennis court in the grounds which is free to use and reserve as long as you have your own rackets and balls, otherwise you end up paying € 8 to hire them.
The worst part of the hotel was the breakfast by a long shot. There was not the variation or the quality you would expect for a 4* hotel. In fact I would say it is one of the worst breakfasts I have had to endure in a hotel in the last 10 years. The hotel offers free wi-fi, but it is about as useful as 1 legged chair. Every 5 mins you have to keep trying to connect with the password as it keeps cutting you off. only good to check a few e-mails and that's about it.
Another annoying thing about the hotel is the fact that it's garden and pool back on to the beautiful promenade that leads to the Cascais Marina about 1,5 km away, so,in the evening it is nice to take a stroll down to the town center for dinner down this promenade. But for some annoying reason there is no exit or doorway at the back of the hotel, and you can only go out of the front of the hotel. This means to get to the promenade you have to go all the way round which is around 600 meters away. So your evening walk then turns into 2,1 km instead of 1,5 km unnecessarily. They really should sort this out as I consider this to be a very negative point to the hotel.
Overall it is an ok hotel, but I am sure there a much better hotels in Caiscas, better situated, with better breakfasts... And you can probably find good offers outside peak season.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank yggi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Gerente at Pestana Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us.
We are all delighted that you found the staff, room and facilities with quality but were naturally disappointed regarding your comments of the breakfast and the access to the promenade.
We are aware of our challenge in dealing with such a sensitive and individual matter as it is the food, and assure you we will keep working hard in order to achieve our guests expectations.

Regarding the access to the promenade, I truly understand your disappointing not have a exit door. Unfortunately we tried everything to have a license with City Council to have a door connecting the hotel with the promenade but until the moment we do not have that authorization.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future again.

Kind Regards,

Daniela Bargado
(Unit Supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked 6 nights at the Pestana and found it an excellent choice. As other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is not in the centre of the town, nor is it anywhere near a beach, but the location is still fine; it's an easy walk to the town, and the free hotel shuttle and cheap and frequent bus/taxi connections allow the traveller the best of both worlds--the bustle of central Cascais and the relaxation and quiet of the hotel area.

From the moment we arrived, it was clear that the hotel takes pride in its staff, and service was among the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. The reception staff are sincere and genuinely seem to want to go out of their way to help make guests feel comfortable.

The room (113) was perfectly located, spotlessly clean, and well appointed. This was one of the larger rooms, with a view over the pool and a large balcony, ideal for sunbathing. Huge comfortable beds, cable TV, and a very handy kitchenette made for a comfortable stay.

In contrast to other reviews, we found the breakfast very satisfying, with a rotating choice of hot options--scrambled eggs and baked beans plus bacon, sausages, or mushrooms--filled out with tons of fresh fruit, yoghurt, different types of cold cut and cheese, jam, breads, croissants, rolls, toast, etc. We also had the buffet dinner one night, which was perch and roast pork, both in delicious sauces. It's not cheap but worth doing one night of your stay (the hotel would definitely benefit from a full a la carte menu all year round). On other nights, we visited the local clifftop area near Boca do Inferno, and just five minutes from the hotel, which offers a good range of reasonably priced meat and fish dishes. The little community there is well worth exploring as there are nice cafes and interesting shops too.

This was our first trip to Portugal and we discovered the impact of it being Atlantic rather than Mediterranean--there was quite a breeze in the evenings and the pool was decidedly chilly! We were told that this year, the summer was around ten degrees lower than normal; despite this, we did manage quite a few hours in the pool (the inside one is warmer!).

In some ways, the hotel did seem more basic than other 4-star places we've stayed in the past, with very little in the way of facilities or entertainment, but it didn't seem to matter, as there is so much in easy reach. It did make an excellent base for exploring Lisbon and Sintra, and a highly relaxing place to escape. Highly recommended and our thanks to the management for focussing on what really creates a memorable stay--the quality of the service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paultea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is well located near the sea, with a large indoor-outdoor pool and free shuttle bus service to the town and beaches. Surfing, national park, cycling and many places of historical interest close at hand. Lisbon and the airport about 30 minutes drive. Very popular with all nationalities and age groups. Arriving about 9 pm, I encountered a booking error and the wrong class of room assigned to us. Total consternation! But reception managed to sort it out by swapping us with people arriving later in the evening, and who probably were not pleased! Large, bright rooms, decent bathrooms, hard mattresses, soft pillows, good a/c, balconies with view, very pleasant service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms very nice but cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel we chose this hotel as we previously stayed there about 10 years ago and loved it. Unfortunately it has not been refurbished since!! Whilst the staff are really friendly and the bedrooms spacious the hotel is clearly in need of some TLC!! The pool and surrounding is super with lots of space and sunbeds ( always able to get one any time of day as there is a large grassy area to use too ) but the sunbeds themselves are broken and badly worn!! Really annoying too that the back gate is locked so although hotel sits facing wonderful scenic bay and sea you need to walk out of the front entrance and quite a distance in a residential area to reach the sea and the lovely coastal walk into Cascais and the marina. I can understand the need for the gate to be locked at night but it would make such easy access to be open during the day!!!??? There is also no toilet in the reception area you have to go down stairs to it rather annoying and that is also the case when lying by the pool!! The pool bar does not open until 12 noon but you can get a drink at the bar from 10 30 am but this bar is situated behind the dining area which you are not allowed to walk thru once breakfast has finished at 10 30 am so you are expected to walk down stairs from the pool to get the lift back up to the bar on 1st floor and then go all the way back carrying drinks which is so silly!! For a 4 star hotel the breakfast is pretty basic too in fact I think the hotel is more a 3 star now which is a shame as it has such potential. The area is lovely and there are some lovely bars and restaurants in Casa De Guia very near the back of the hotel. Also the Hemmingway restaurant in the marina is fantastic , superb food and exceptional service, a member of staff even escorted us down stairs to our cab!! Also the Blue Bar in the marina is great for snacks very reasonably priced and again like most of Cascais very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband, 11 year old son & I spent a week at the Pestana at the beginning of July. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area outside the town & as previous reviewers have stated there is a shuttle bus & local Buscas (85c a trip) which will take you into Cascais. We also got a taxi home in the evening for 5 or 6 euro.The hotel is spotlessly clean & the staff are really helpful & friendly. The pool area is spacious with plenty of loungers & parasols though the loungers have seen better days. Our room was on the 6th floor with a seaview & it was very quiet. While those expecting a hot breakfast may be somewhat limited in choice, there was a good choice of cereals, fruit, bread etc so we were happy. The food provided at the pool bar was limited & rather expensive but we found Casa de Guia nearby to be a great alternative. During our stay there was a large number of teenage boys staying at the hotel for the week while attending a soccer tournament. They congregated in large numbers in reception at times & were noisy & boisterous (as boys will naturally be) in the indoor pool & the lifts. The staff really had their hands full & dealt with the situation very well but as one of them said to us 'groups & guests do not mix well at a 4 star hotel.' I agree & although this did not spoil our holiday it was annoying at times & the management would do well to rethink this policy. All in all a very enjoyable holiday in a lovely location with lovely staff. I would return & recommend!

Room Tip: We went for high floor & seaview & we weren't disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazyBaby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
1 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,057 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 39 in Cascais
784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
833 reviews
1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2754-518, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#11 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $66 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Cascais is a 4-star hotel located in one of the most luxurious areas of Lisbon's coastal region, Vila de Cascais. It is very close to various beaches, including the surfer's paradise Guincho beach, parks, museums, shopping centres and the Casino do Estoril. It offers both an outdoor and indoor swimming pool with whirpool bath, sauna and Turkish bath, as well as a restaurant and a bar. During the summer, enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and gardens with views of the Atlantic ocean. All rooms feature a kitchenette, balcony, air conditioning and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing