We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Stockholm, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a month, travelled with the travel agency Albatross. We had ocean view and a large room. The personnel where very nice. We had a kitchenett in the room with was very good. Good food and beautiful surroundings. Cascais is a wonderful village with lots of restaurants and has a beautiful dramatic coastline. We can really recommend both the hotel and Cascais. The closeness to Lisabon makes it even better, only 30 minutes by train. Lots of museums and land marks to visit both in and outside Cascais.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very proud of the compliments adressed to our Hotel.
We have just received the confirmation that Albatros operation is retourning to our Hotel this year. We would be very pleased to welcome you back in Pestana Cascais and continue to provide you Memorable Moments.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    322
    126
    34
    21
See reviews for
223
284
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled a month in Portugal, on our last week we looked for a place near Lisbon to relax.
We booked 7 nights, an off season rate through their own website with a request for a suny site ocean view room.
Upon arrival the front desk clerk on duty adised us sternly that ocean site rooms are premium rooms and a higher rate does apply for such.
Considering it was the second week in January the hotel was app. 20% occupied during our 7 nights stay. Therefore it would have been a great gesture for this clerk to assign us in an ocean site view and more suny room.
Such was our expectation.
Instead our room # 614 with a view over a tennis court and several apartments buildings was the best he would do for us.
Yet we noticed daily that on the sixth floor we were the only guests, and maintenance or housekeeping kept most rooms open during the daytime, all were unoccupeid but made up to rent out, so we could see that oceansite rooms are exactly a mirror image of the opposite apartment building site.
Perhaps some training for front desk staff is in order.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xeny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Cascais Ocean & Conference Aparthotel as your holiday accomodation for for last stay in Cascais.
It seems that we have not fullfiled your expectations with regards to the room atributed. In fact, your reservation was made for a Standard Room. If a free up-grade was given, we would not be fare to the other guests who paid extra suplement for a Sea View Room.
Nonetheless, we hope to have exceeded your expectations with our services and staff and we would be very pleased to welcome you back in our Hotel
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. We stayed for quite a while and had a great winter break based here. It's worth mentioning the staff first of all, who are tremendous: friendly, helpful, welcoming - just really nice people. Second, the location. The sea view we had from our room was a daily inspiration, and the hotel itself is well-placed even though not in the centre of town. Third, about the hotel overall - we were too busy (!!) to use the indoor pool and spa, but we probably should have done, as it looked pretty inviting. We viewed that pool each morning at breakfast - and breakfast was good. As for our room, apart from the view, it was comfortable and had a little 'kitchenette' facility - two hotplates, a sink, a fridge, some pots and pans and enough glasses, cups, plates, cutlery and so on. For the first time ever in a hotel we were pleasantly surprised to find more than enough coathangers for our clothes.
Be aware that the hotel is perhaps ten years old, and the decor sometimes reflects this. Several times a day we had a good workout for our biceps on the sliding wooden wardrobe doors.
In general, the hotel and the area are quiet and peaceful.
In the week before Christmas the courtesy bus was discontinued (not many guests) but it's easy to get a local Buscas bus which runs from near the hotel into town every ten minutes or so and costs 85 cents flat fare. This takes you to the rail station, with the central bus station nearby. Buses to Guincho beach also run (hourly in winter?) from opposite the hotel and there is a bakery/cafe and small supermarket nearby. The actual area where the hotel is located is upmarket but pretty dull, but a five-minute walk takes you to nice eating and drinking places on the cliffs by the sea.We didn't eat so often in the hotel restaurant as we were out and about a lot, but the food we did have was fine.
I should add that the B&B room rate (booked well ahead) was very good value and we were well satisfied with the terms on which internet access and a lockable safe were provided.
So: this was a really very good experience, and we warmly recommend the hotel. Home from home! We hope to get back there some time soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your kind comments about your last stay in Pestana Cascais Ocean & Conference Aparthotel.
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel in a near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had a very successful seminar with 70 employees at the Pestana Cascais. The service was indeed above what could be expected and the seminar facilities were very good – good sound quality and lightening, precise catering and of a very good quality.
We had to pay separately for the internet connection – a bit annoying but that is the case at many hotels.
The rooms were very big – I had a suite – and they were clean. Maybe the bathrooms especially could need a little refurbishing but nothing to take notice of. The bathroom was rather large and the balcony was impressing with a view of the sea. Many of the participants used the pools – one indoor and one outdoor, and the gym.
Good track for running along the ocean.
We had some of our meals at the hotel and some at the many good nearby restaurants.
Pestana Cascais is recommendable as a very good place to have seminars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Cascais Ocean & Conference Aparthotel for the venue of your seminar. Apart from the rooms and amazing views overlooking the pools and sea, the Hotel also has great conference facilities and it is always challenging to receive such events.
With regards to the Internet, please note that since last December we have improved our Internet connection. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and be able to show you our improvements.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed here a couple years ago and nothing really has changed, well one thing: the staff was the most positive experience for this one night stay, very helpful about lost luggage and the bar tender even took the bucket with ice himself up to our room - very nice considering that we brought our own special bottle. this time I had a sea view room which is the least you should get when staying here, then you have at least a balcony looking out at the sea at an angle and everybody else across you as well and down to the pool. the room was large with a mini kitchenette with small fridge (no mini bar) and across the hotel is a VIP-supermarket...anyway it was clean, ok, but not special in any way. not a romantic spot. Breakfast also is average especially if you look at the quality (pressed ham and canned fruit)and not quantity of the things served. To be competitive it would need a complete makeover, but then the prices are competitive enough, I paid 101 Euros for a double seafood including breakfast. (our door to the balcony room 509 was impossible to lock and the bathroom door inside was missing some parts).
But again compliment to the staff for being very helpful and polite this time.

Room Tip: hi up and seaview at the end of the 'wings' of the hotel and not next to a service room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Barbara,
We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel as your last accomodation on the Estoril Coast! We are proud of the compliments adressed to our staff, as the Team is really our "Jewel of the Crown".
Please note that corrective measures have been taken with regards to breakfast and doors in room 509.
We would also like to inform that we intend to refurbish the Hotel in a near future. We will keep you posted.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel really exceeded our expectations. We stayed here for one night as part of a bigger trip. We felt really relaxed when we left. The spa facilities were great and not too busy. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to make our evening easy (booked our taxi, restaurant). The beds were super comfortable- the linen was excellent quality which made for a great nights sleep. The bar downstairs was lively as there was a confference on- cocktail happy hour was a treat! The big highlight however was that they upgraded our room to a suite and sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room when we arrived (we had just got engaged). Loved our stay again- will be recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mareesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the great compliments adressed to our Hotel and staff. We are always committed to exceed your guests' expecations, providing Memorable Moments.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pestana Cascais in a near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is a half hour walk from town and if arriving by train the entrance is not on the seafront so ensure you have a map and the address. The shuttle bus into town is useful during the day but does stop early in the evening. The hotel has large rooms and the bathrooms have showers and baths. There are hairdryers and plenty of toiletries. A deposit is required for a room safe. The decor although spotless could do with some updating as it is starting to look a little shabby. The breakfasts are fine and included in the price of the room and eggs can be cooked to order if required. The staff are excellent and efficient as well as friendly and all work hard. The pool area is clean although again the loungers could do with replacing and the area being spruced up. It is a lovely quiet location.

Room Tip: Rooms overllooking the sea on the upper floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Cascais, Manager at Pestana Cascais, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Cascais for your last accomodation on the beautiful Estoril Coast.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
With regards to the comments adressed to our rooms and sunbeds, please rest assure that all of them will be taken in consideration in future refurbishments.
Looking forward to have to again in our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
986 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
739 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Property: Pestana Cascais
Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2750-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6 story hotel - situated yards from Atlantic Ocean; in close proximity to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing