We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Pestana Cascais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Cascais
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I found the staff very helpful. The hotel was clean and the facilities were good. There were only two thing s that annoyed me. The first is that we had to pay 10.00 approx for the safe key, The second is that the broadband was so expensive. Nearly 30.00 for the week. (They do give you a small allowance free). As a result we went to the village every evening and got free broadband at practically every restaurant. The village is about 20 minutes to half and hour away. Taxis cost about 5.00

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Majex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    309
    122
    33
    21
See reviews for
214
272
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterbrough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just got back from the pestana cascais conference & apartment hotel and was very pleased with our stay. It is the most friendly hotel i have ever stayed in, nothing was to much trouble for the staff and they always spoke to us with a great smile on their faces, really friendly. Ideal for families and couples looking for a relaxing holiday. Room was a good size and also we liked the fact iit had a fridge and small hob, ideal for making drinks an storing food stuff etc. It is a little walk down to the centre, about 25 mins on the front but you can cut that in half if you walk along the back road. we enjoyed the walk but there is a free bus that the hotel provide and also the buscas you can catch at the pizza place, 85 cents per person and runs every 10 mins. We didnt use the facilities much because we went down to the town every day but it has everything you would want, pool, outside bar, internet, etc. Breakfast was good, maybe could have had a little more chioce of hot stuff but thats just a minor thing. All in all, a great holiday, thankyou to all at the pestana, Andy and Sandra, Peterborough

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at Pestana Cascais Conference & Apartment Hotel in May of 2012 for 11 days.
I would give this hotel 3 stars for sure, but 4stars is too much!
We have slept the first night in a smoking room (although we have booked a non-smoking one). Nevertheless the staff is friendly and helpful as after our request they have immediately offered us non-smoking room. We came at night and they told there were no non-smoking rooms available!!! No way..we have left our comments on ebookers for with non-smoking room request. Smoking rooms have this terrible smell (curtains, carpets, everything smells as hell). My husband smokes but even he could not stand this awful smell!! You feel it immediately when you open the door. Although the view from the smoking room was much better we have moved to non-smoking room overlooking the other hotels.
One part of the building is a hotel and the other part is used by local citizens for living.
There are very nice sea view rooms, if you can afford you should definitely book one overlooking the sea.
The rooms are cleaned every day and the maids do it perfectly. The hotel needs renovation!! The bathroom, the bed, the closet everything is relatively old.
There is a small kitchen in every room, but it isn't not a pleasure to cook there. Near by a small local shop is located (the prices are a bit higher than in the center of the town).
We also had breakfast at the hotel. I wish we didn't. The same everyday menu with cheap green tomatos etc. The food didn't taste at all. You will need to come earlier for breakfast as later there is a little "struggle" for a free table. I would suggest to enjoy breakfast somewhere else.
The town Cascais itself is nice and lovely. The hotel is situated rather far away from the center (its about 30 min by foot). There are shuttle busses going from the hotel to the city center every hour starting from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., except lunch time-there is a break. Be careful once the shuttle can leave earlier!!
The public transportation (busses) exists as well, but they are not punctual, although we used one public bus to get to the hotel from city center at night. The price is starting from 0,90 euro cents, and up to 1,40. You need to explain where exactly you are going otherwise you will pay more than required. There are trains that go along the coast straight to Lissabon. We recommend to buy a Lisboa card at tourist center-then you will have discounts for museums in Lissabon and have opportunity for free transportation usage.
From Cascais we have also visited Sintra with a wonderful castle Pena and some other cities near by. The tickets to Sintra costs about 3,80-4 euro one way per person.
You can also reach the most Western point in Europe (Cabo da Roca) by bus (its on the way to Sintra). In Sintra the entrance to the museums and castles is relatively expensive. Lisboa card also gives you opportunity to visit some places of interest in Sintra.
There is a free bicycle rent next to the hotel. Just you need to come earlier until the bickes are available. Its a wonderful bike ride along the coast.
The hotel is located right near the ocean, but in order to swim you need to go to the city center. There is no possibility to swim near the hotel.
We have been to Cascais in the end of May and the ocean was terribly cold.
The hotel offers 2 small swimming pools, inside and outside. The water in outside pool is also very cold.
The hotel suits for calm relaxation, if you need bars and clubs you should definitely book a hotel in the center of Cascais.
We have been to the hotel bar several times. After you check out they include bar tips and charity donations in your bill, of course, if you ask they eliminate it-they will do, but who will care about 3-4 additional euros? Well, we did pay although had a surprising situation: once when I ordered the coctail "Sex on the beach" the barmen brought me a glass of a coffe coctail with rom and insisted that this is what "Sex on the beach" should be made of. We argued and he brought me an old book where he reads what should be included to the coctails. Unbelievable!!! wherever I order the coctail it's the same as I am used to: should it be Italy, Germany, Spain, Greece etc. But only he makes it differently according to his book.
Enjoy your time in Portugal!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olesusi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose this hotel a little bit at last minute, we didn't have great expectations.
The location is a little far from the center of town: 20 to 30 min walk to the Marina.
We were positively suprised to find out that a free mini-bus drives hotel guests to town several times a day. It also drives 3 times a day to a beach up north called Guincho. That was a very nice surprise.
The decoration is a little bit old fashioned but the hotel is clean. The beds and bed covers are nice (pillows and duvet made of feather... There is a small kitchenette which only allows for basic cooking but really nice to make a light dinner or a nice salad for lunch. Note that a small supermarket is located just across from the hotel, a little pricey but very convenient.
The breakfast had nothing special, very basic buffet with a few fruits from a can, bread, eggs+sausage, yogurt and cheese. The "usual". Not many healthy options.
The swimming pools are nice: a main one outside, a small outdoor one for kids and a big indoor one. The gym is small, only 2 bikes, a treadmill and a step machine. If you stay for more than 20 min doing cardio you will feel that the room gets extremely warm, no air con...
On the good side: you are 5min away from a bike "rental" (it is acutally free, organised by the city) and some very nice restaurants with a great view.
The service was great, always patient and with a smile. They go the extra step as well: we were leaving very early in the morning, couldn't make it to breakfast and checked out the day before. We found a little breakfast pack ready for us with apples, yogurt, juice and sandwiches! a very nice attention !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Pestana and really enjoyed our visit. There are lots of reasons why I would recommend this hotel

* The Hotel is quite it is lovely and clean. It is situated close to the Promenade and within walking distance of Cascais. You walk past the Boca Do Inferno on your way into town. Take note make sure you have comfortable sandals with a good sole as all the area is cobblestoned and it is really easy to pick up a blister from the uneven surface.
*Staff - All the staff were very helpful and pleasant, from reception, to dining room staff, pool staff to the ladies that cleaned our rooms. The staff at reception were very willing to assist in the booking of tours, taxis and also took responsibility to post your postcards for you, helping to make life hassle free.
* Rooms were cleaned and towels replaced every day. All rooms have a balcony and a little kitchenette with cups, saucespans, pan etc.
* Swimming Pool area - plenty of sunbeads available and there is a lovely grass area where you can place your sunbead with trees for shade. Note if you are staying at The Pestana you don't have to pack any towels as the hotels provide towels for use at the pool and beach just ask at reception. That is a BIG plus when you are packing as towels are so bulky.
*Breakfast - there is a very good choice at breakfast, fruit, yogurts, cereals, meats breads etc. We didn't eat in the hotel at night so I can't comment on their evening meals.
* Transport- There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the town and to the beach. We also used the Buscais which is the public bus and will bring you into town for 85 cents. It is around the corner from the hotel and has a number of stops on the way into town ending up at the train station. The train to Lisbon is very reasonable and only takes about 35 mins. Taxis are cheap and we often used the taxi service at night, returning to our hotel for €5 for the two of us.
* Walks - apart from the walk into town, we used to stroll down to the Casa de Quia in the mornings for a coffee. This is a lovely park with a variety of restaurants, with the added bonus of being able to buy an Irish Newspaper. The Casa is on the promenade and you turn right rather then left in to town. It is only two minutes along the road on the left hand side.
* Shops - Across the road there is a little supermarket and up the steps beside the supermarket there is a chemist where the staff are very helpful and give good advise. We also went into the big supermarket across from the railway station where we were able to buy a bottle of brandy at a very good price. Lovely to sit on our balcony at night with a nightcap
SO HOW COULD THIS HOTEL BE IMPROVED? What would make it perfect ? - very little really it is already very close to achieving this status.
a) It would be a big bonus if you could access the Promenade directly from the hotel, the gates are there, they just need to be cleaned up and opened. I know that maybe it might be a security issue but these gates coud be closed in the evenings or gueats could be provided with a swipe card or key to allow them access.
b) Also we travelled with Sunway we flew out at 7am landing in Portugal at 9.30 am.and arrived at the hotel around 11.45am. I think the hotel should provide some facility to facilitate an early check in. We didn't get our room untill 2.20 pm and an elderly couple had to wait until 2.40 pm. The morning we were leaving we were all checked our by 6.30 am so I'm sure this could be facilitated.
So as you can see an a lovely hotel with aloot to recommend it.

Room Tip: This hotel has alot to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Junior suite = king sized double in one room and 2 put up beds in lounge for children. Overall comfortable although had the children been teenagers it may have been different. Pool and facilities are excellent and very clean and great that the hotel provides beach towels daily. Hotel is 30 min stroll from cascais centre but the hotel does provide free half hourly courtesy bus. Several good restaurants within 15 mins of the hotel and as others have said, a great patisserie over the road. We would certainly return. The resort is ideally located for visiting Lisbon (the oceanarium is a must) by train (4€ return) and Sintra by bus/taxi. We had been to the Algarve before but never this part of Portugal. For a family holiday this wins every time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was our home for two weeks a couple a weeks back, and a place where you can call 'home' has got to be OK. Though like all homes they're not exactly perfect.
We paid extra for a sea view and what a lovely sea view it is from the Hotel. And worth every cent. However in our room, the air conditioning wasn't working as expected which meant an uncomfortable first night. We complained to the hotel management and we got moved. But the second room didn't have a full view of the sea (though it did have a great view of the pool that our 5 year loved - no pleasing everyone). We complained again, and we moved for the last time to a much bigger room and a full view of the sea which was perfect. So top marks to the hotel staff.
It was two pools, one indoor, plus it has a lovely lawn with welcome shade giving mature trees. This was great as it meant that you weren't confined to the swimming pool area. It also meant that you could totally relax and while away the afternoons in comfort.
The hotel does provide free wifi, but only for the first 30 minutes. Though the quality wasn't great and if I was staying that the hotel on business I would have been annoyed by that. But I was there on holiday so it didn't matter to me. More and more hotels are providing free wifi, but providing a free system to guests that meets their needs is a bigger undertaking. This is something that not all hotels will be to provide.

All in all this was a very comfortable hotel and for a family it was great. It's well situated, within easy reach of Cascais and Lisbon. And great staff too - they made you feel at home; I'd easily come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdhannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#12 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Cascais

Property: Pestana Cascais
Address: Avenida Manuel Julio Carvalho e Costa 115 | Alameda Guia, Cascais 2750-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Business Hotel in Cascais
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Cascais 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6 story hotel - situated yards from Atlantic Ocean; in close proximity to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Cascais Hotel Cascais
Pestana Hotel Cascais
Cascais Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing