We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Vela Guest House
Ranked #1 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a great place. Nice, comfortable rooms, personal and relaxing atmosphere. The garden is great, nearly a botanical garden with trees and flowers. And with a nice swimming pool. a wonderful. The only drawback (for some) is that is 10-15 minutes walk from Cascais center, but a nice walk though an intersting area of the town.

Room Tip: We only saw one room, but it seems that all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 473 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed 5 nights, and found it a delightful place. We were upgraded to their largest room in the old house (tea) and it was very comfortable. Breakfasts were lovely and the flexibility of the finish time meant you had the opportunity for a lie in. Agree with all other contributors about the gardens, with varied paces to sit, the same indoors. Large screen TV in the lounge usually on playing classical music, which was lovely. Slight hiccup on breakfast meant we missed it one day, no issue as we were going to Sintra and had a snack at the station. Only reason service down a notch - just a short apology on the day was all that was missing. We enjoyed the 10 minute walk into the centre through quiet back streets.

Room Tip: Ask for "Tea" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJG_KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had the opportunity to spend my short honeymoon at Casa Vela by the end of May.
My wife and me just loved it! All the staff, is very friendly. The host is amazing, chats with you and has very good tips for restaurants.
Very good internet connection and the rooms are very charming. The house is divided into two parts. The original house (8 rooms) + the recent house, which is connected (8 rooms more).
The breakfast is outstanding and the garden/swimming pool are very nice.
10 minutes walking from Cascais city centre, which is also perfect if you want to go the beach, to a restaurant or simply to walk around and see the world passing by :)
If you´re just tired of the old hotel lifestyle and looking to relax in the sun, in a more cosy and romantic place, Casa Vela IS YOUR PLACE :) Go for it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marqup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very quiet. Feels like home. Macau Room was wonderful with a very nice almost private patio. Charming guest house and nice owners. Nice homemade breakfast with high quality products. Wonderful little city to visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The above says it all, the place was stunning, the service from booking to checking out was fantastic..... The gardens are quaint and beautiful and a lovely place to just sit and relax, or take a dip in the pool... All recommendations given were brilliant, and the hosts were very accommodating, friendly and made the stay even better.... We would definitely stay here again.. Hopefully very soon....

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have access to gardens.... we had a suite and it was amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1982sofia1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wonderful room (saffron) with a terrace and view on the lovely garden and swimming-pool . Magnificent breakfast, with fresh orange-juice, pancakes and Nespresso-coffee. Wifi works excellent.
Hotel management was very helpful and friendly. We want to go back.

Room Tip: Saffron room was very nice with terrace and nice view of the garden and swimming-pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the second time that my wife and i have stayed at Casa Vela, the first time being October 2013 when it was just the 2 of us. We had a wonderful suite (Mozambique) which could not have been more perfect. Huge sliding doors allow the entire room to be opened up with views of the beautifully landscaped gardens and the faint sound of tricking water from the amazing water features throughout the grounds. The room was perfect, light, airy, full of fantastic facilities. The main house is beautiful, tastefully decorated and giving it's guests an immediate feeling of relaxation. Breakfast was superb, simple yet perfect - freshly baked pastries, freshly squeezed juices and perfect coffee (Nespresso!) The staff are so attentive yet not at all intrusive, they can not help enough. That was October and it was superb!!
We returned to Casa Vela again in late April 2014 this time with pour 18 year old daughter and having described the property to her it had a lot to live up to - it didn't disappoint! Our room was again immaculate, this time with huge bathroom and whirlpool shower. The staff were equally as attentive and again you feel like you're at home rather than in a guest house. We spent time in the lounge, relaxing on the comfy sofas with a bottle of red wine and our visit could not have been any better. The house is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Cascais (or a 2 minute taxi!) in such a peaceful area of the town. If you are looking for a comfortable break in Cascais without feel ing like a 'room number in a large hotel' the Casa Vela is perfect. We cannot recommend it highly enough and will definitely be back for a third time. Well done to all involved!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 40 in Cascais
836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#15 of 40 in Cascais
740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 40 in Cascais
1,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#11 of 40 in Cascais
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vela Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vela Guest House

Address: Rua dos Bem Lembrados 17, Cascais 2750-306, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $84 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vela Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vela Charm GuestHouse: An oasis of tranquility, set right in middle of the old historic quarter of Cascais…Casa Vela offers you a discrete, sophisticated and unique ambiance. It’s embraced by a real oasis of greenery. The 3.500 square meters of perfectly manicured gardens, waterfalls and lakes, provide an environment of harmony and relaxation. All of the 18 rooms and suites are named after a common theme – The XVI Century Portuguese Discoveries and the Spices brought by the Portuguese sailors from the far East. The names range from Timor, Goa, Mozambique, Macau to Cinnamon, Pepper and Curry. They are all individually styled and decorated with more than a dash of simplicity and grace, inviting you to a homely feel. Centrally located though in a tranquil and calm residential quarter, you’ll find at a walking distance Cascais’s main attractions such as Museums, Marina and Public Gardens. And not to forget that Lisbon is only twenty kilometers away…Built Year: 1947, Last renovated in: 2011, Nr. of rooms: 18, Nr. of floors: 2, Property type: B&B, Hotel class: Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Vela Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing