We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well run guesthouse/beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Vela Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“very well run guesthouse/beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had started are travels in Lisbon and after 4 days of covering the whole of Lisbon/ Sintra, we had booked casa vela for a relaxing 2 days, before continuing our travels. We were not disappointed, what a great place to stay. It was our anniversary on the day of arrival, and my girlfriend had emailed to see if they could do anything. On arrival the owner gave us a tour of the grounds and a bit of history of the villa. When we arrived back to our room, they had laid on a lovely bottle of sparkling wine, with cake and fresh fruit. So we sat on the ample balcony in the sun and chilled out with our wine. The rooms are all based on spices, our room was saffron, beautiful modern room, with a great balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. All the staff are fantastic and very helpful. Breakfast is superb, meats, cheese, pastries, scrambled egg and very fresh orange, with a great coffee machine. ate breakfast every morning in the sun overlooking the gardens. Location is great, very quiet street, 5 mins walk into centre, couldn't fault any part of our stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossiliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    74
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
58
279
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in July for the second time in Casa Vela Guest House and as soon as we arrived it felt like coming back to dear friends. I really cannot find anything negative to say. We were staying in the Walnut room this time. A very nice room with a little kitchen, and a beautiful bathroom with a huge shower. No balcony but that doesn t matter, because you can sit anywhere in the beautiful garden. The room is on a corner with a view at the garden and the pool. Jean Paul,( the charming manager), carla, alexandra and Joao C.they all make you feel very much welcome and at home. So if you are searching for a little paradise in cascais: this is it!!
One last advice: if you get the chance to participate in a dinner at the Casa Vela Guesthouse with chef Paulo Reffoios: go for it! We had dinner twice and it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gremmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were once told not to believe all of trip advisor reports. This guest house was a perfect example of this. We booked a superior double with garden balcony 9 months ahead of time for a 10 day stay based on the excellent trip advisor reports. We e mailed the guest house a couple of weeks before our stay to confirm our visit. When we arrived we were shown to our room with a vague mention of an upgrade after 5/6 days. When we were left in our room (Timor) we were frankly so disappointed. It is so small we couldn't unpack our cases and it was a standard double bed. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet arrangements have no privacy at all. As it was late evening we went for dinner and decided to speak to the management next morning. We then checked on various web sites and discovered we had been given a standard double not the superior we had booked so long in advance.(A fact not disclosed when we checked in) We challenged the manager at breakfast and he waffled quite a bit then implied that the guests that were due to stay in Timor didn't like green and had complained so he had given them OUR room.!!!! We had to wait for 3 nights until they left to finally have the room we had booked. We were switched into Pepper. This room from the photos looks lovely. When we were in Timor one day a tray of kettle, cups and tea bags (no milk sugar or coffee ) appeared. When we were switched this disappeared.
The new room certainly has a better location in the new wing. Again the toilet facilities totally lack privacy being separated from the bed by just a net curtain. The shower had a missing soap tray which was rectified after a few days, There were missing tiles in the shower and it was very dirty around the base. Breakfast was dull and repetitive, ok if just staying one or two days but not so much fun when you are on your 10th day of ham and cheese. It is served in a tight corner so if you hit peak time it can take quite a bit of manoeuvring to actually serve yourself.
On a positive note the grounds are very pretty and plenty of shade to relax in. The pool was only cleaned once during our stay so it got quite murky and vegetation from the garden ended up in there too.
The walk into town takes about 10 -15 minutes however the pavements in Portugal are very uneven so no good if you have any mobility problems. There are lots of lovely local restaurants within a 10 minute walk too. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Cascais and would recommend the area however again we would say beware which room you book and get it in writing to confirm.

On a final note when we arrived home we received an e mail from Casa Vela asking us to give them a good review on Trip Advisor. Surely this is not the purpose of Trip Advisor and certainly no good accommodation should be asking any one to do this. We tell it as it is!!

Room Tip: Make sure which room you are getting and check it out. Some rooms have no view and some are minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wiganduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Casa Vela was perfect from the minute we arrived to the minute we very sadly said goodbye. The manager Jean Paul is a perfect host, offering us complimentary breakfast after our very early flight to Lisbon, this after a guided tour of the property which is perfect in every way. Not very often does a place live up to its website, Casa Vel surpasses it. The simple breakfast was everything we wanted, especially the Nespresso coffee machine, available almost 24 hours. The honesty bar was a lovely touch in a setting that offers you as little or as much contact with staff as you wish, there to help but not to hinder. I cannot say enough good things about this special place, it is misleading to call itself a guest house except in essence that is what it is, a beautiful place to stay where you feel as comfortable as being at home. Lovely, lovely, lovely, it will not be long before we return.

Room Tip: we had the smallest room but with our balcony opening directly onto a private lawn with sunbeds it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

All of the rooms in this small hotel are done in a different style, which reflect different countries and foods, such as coffee, walnut, cinnamon, Goa.

The welcome was great and we were given a guided tour of the hotel and told to help ourselves if we needed anything. Although there is no minibar in the rooms, there is an "honesty bar" in the lounge and a fridge, hob and cutlery in each room.

The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll to the main restaurant area of Cascais and the same distance from the popular marina. It is beautifully quiet at night and you can park outside the hotel free of charge.

There is a strong feeling of a family business, where everyone cares and treats their guests as customers and not just as a source of profit.

We will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stay at the casa vela for 5 days. It is a very nice small boutique hotel. The staff is great and very helpful. I have nothing to say about that, could not be nicer. The breakfast was very good too.
It is well located (10/15 min walk from everything) and very quiet. The only thing that is missing is some kind of service by the pool. and/or small minibar in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgouny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Casa Vela is situated in a quiet residential area about 10 mins walk from the Old Town; a taxi from the railway station cost us 5 euro's. From arriving we were made to feel very welcome with the staff encouraging us to treat it like our own home. It was easy to relax in the gardens and around the swimming pool and there were always plenty of spare sun loungers available. We were staying in the Mozambique room which opened up onto the garden. The décor in the room and the public spaces was very tasteful. Breakfast was available anytime between 0800 - 1130 and could be taken outside on the terrace. We attended a gourmet evening at the Guest House which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sideburnsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 39 in Cascais
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
788 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.6 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vela Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vela Guest House

Property: Casa Vela Guest House
Address: Rua dos Bem Lembrados 17, Cascais 2750-306, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vela Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vela Charm GuestHouse: An oasis of tranquility, set right in middle of the old historic quarter of Cascais…Casa Vela offers you a discrete, sophisticated and unique ambiance. It’s embraced by a real oasis of greenery. The 3.500 square meters of perfectly manicured gardens, waterfalls and lakes, provide an environment of harmony and relaxation. All of the 18 rooms and suites are named after a common theme – The XVI Century Portuguese Discoveries and the Spices brought by the Portuguese sailors from the far East. The names range from Timor, Goa, Mozambique, Macau to Cinnamon, Pepper and Curry. They are all individually styled and decorated with more than a dash of simplicity and grace, inviting you to a homely feel. Centrally located though in a tranquil and calm residential quarter, you’ll find at a walking distance Cascais’s main attractions such as Museums, Marina and Public Gardens. And not to forget that Lisbon is only twenty kilometers away…Built Year: 1947, Last renovated in: 2011, Nr. of rooms: 18, Nr. of floors: 2, Property type: B&B, Hotel class: Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Vela Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing