We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More personal experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Vela Guest House
Ranked #1 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Casa Vela is a lovely guest house comprised of a more traditional house with a new building attached. It is in a quiet area of Cascais within walking distance (10 minutes max) of the quaint downtown. Rooms are very clean and roomy and each has it's own flavor - with some named for countries that have a connection to Portugal ( were conquered by ...) or for spices. We travelled here fron Lisbon by car and there is free street parking in front. The streets are a bit confusing for newcomers but still navigable. Beds are comfy ( not as good as our amazing LX boutique Hotel beds in Lisbon!) and the rooms in both the new and older part of the guest house are quiet and private. They have an amazing backyard with a pool, fountains and lots of places to sit outside and enjoy the tranquil setting. The breakfast is very nice although we had to wait for a seat for the four of us as it is a smaller breakfast room and when there is a full house there can be up to 30 people staying here (15 rooms). The hosts are wonderful and helpful and very welcoming : Karla, John and another John. They have a stocked fridge ( first drink is on the house) and there are nice spaces to sit out and dine or drink on the patio. We walked to the Jumbo supermarket and bought the inexpensive but excellent wines, cheese and bread you can find there and came back for a lovely cocktail hour before going out for dinner. All in all I would recommend this as an excellent choice for enjoying a more relaxing side of Cascais.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the new section have a walk out into the backyard. Still very secure and private.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guelphgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Casa Vela Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews, we booked a 5 night stay at Casa Vela for at the beginning of October and we were not disappointed. The B&B is more like a boutique hotel. Its in a quiet part of Cascais about a 10-15 minute walk from both the town centre and the sea, Our room (Macau) was as described on their website and all the staff were really helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A really spectacular little guest house. We only stayed for one night but were really smitten with the place. Our room (Macau) was really modern, large and very stylish with a view of the beautiful gardens. The pool area is gorgeous and the large communal sitting room with adjoining breakfast area with an honesty bar is a really nice feature. It takes around 10-15 minutes to walk to the beach but if you don't mind a stroll it's the perfect place to stay in Cascais.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Disappointed, I booked 8 months ago at full price and got their worst apartment (for 4 nights). We had a view of a stone wall, not shown on their website of course. If you book, get the room name confirmed before going.
The garden was very nice as were the breakfast and staff

The open plan bathroom/bedroom was not to our taste but all very modern
with a plastic garden settee! So not comfortable, luckily the pool chairs were though

Would I go again? No – I thought I’d booked a room shown on the website with lots of glass and views of the garden and sky! It was twice the price of our other Hotels in Portugal and poor value

Room Tip: Get them to allocate a room with a view when you book - they do have some nice rooms there!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kei186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our stay here was very relaxing and pleasant. It was like having your own home in Cascais as you saw so few people during your stay despite it being fully occupied. Each of the 15 rooms are unique, have good showers and are nicely decorated. The staff are very helpful and friendly without in any way being obtrusive. The gardens and pool area are secluded and very relaxing. It is a bit of trek to walk down to the town but overall it is a fabulous place to stay and we will endeavour to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMH1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Casa Vela is a beautiful guesthouse in Cascais.

The property is really nice and well kept.
Our room was modern and comfy.

Staff is really kind. Good breakfast.

The only downside is that the city center of Cascais is a bit far away but definitely this was not an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milaneseinvacanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed 1 week (August 10-17) at this hotel. The rooms are named after Portugal's former colonies and spices. It is a very clean and well-looked after hotel. The area around the hotel is very clean and safe, and about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre. Initially we were in the "India" room, which is quite large and comfortable. But later the manager was able to accomodate us into another room (Peppers), which was smaller but had its own private terrace with a table and chairs. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace and reading. The manager (Jean Paul) is extremely helpful. The breakfast was excellent and from 8.30-11 am. Overall, we were most staisfied with this hotel and the service; and would go back there. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and have different virtues; some are bigger, some with a private patio o...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Selenium-Tellurium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vela Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vela Guest House

Address: Rua dos Bem Lembrados 17, Cascais 2750-306, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $83 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Vela Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vela Charm GuestHouse: An oasis of tranquility, set right in middle of the old historic quarter of Cascais…Casa Vela offers you a discrete, sophisticated and unique ambiance. It’s embraced by a real oasis of greenery. The 3.500 square meters of perfectly manicured gardens, waterfalls and lakes, provide an environment of harmony and relaxation. All of the 18 rooms and suites are named after a common theme – The XVI Century Portuguese Discoveries and the Spices brought by the Portuguese sailors from the far East. The names range from Timor, Goa, Mozambique, Macau to Cinnamon, Pepper and Curry. They are all individually styled and decorated with more than a dash of simplicity and grace, inviting you to a homely feel. Centrally located though in a tranquil and calm residential quarter, you’ll find at a walking distance Cascais’s main attractions such as Museums, Marina and Public Gardens. And not to forget that Lisbon is only twenty kilometers away…Built Year: 1947, Last renovated in: 2011, Nr. of rooms: 18, Nr. of floors: 2, Property type: B&B, Hotel class: Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Vela Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing