We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark Hotel”
Review of Hotel Cidadela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cidadela
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Landmark Hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived in Cascais and were immediately greeted by the warm and welcoming staff. Yes, the Hotel has seen better days - but you can almost hear the chatter of the socialites that presumably once roamed the corridors. We stayed on the 5th floor in the suite at the end. 100 Euros per nght (including breakfast). We had an enormous sitting room where my daughter slept & an incredible view. A hallway and double glass doors divided us and we had a grand bedroom facing the back. Quiet, charming and comfortable. The cleaning staff was invisible and yet the room was always made up almost before we returned from breakfast. The pool is hidden and yet surrounded by banana trees. We walked everywhere..including the Farmers market on the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    86
    27
    23
See reviews for
54
121
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a good quality 3 star hotel. Comfortable rooms,helpfull staff,food at breakfast excelent. The resturant was also of good quality.
My only "moan" is the bathroom we had needed up dating. The shower was a tad feeble!
We will be returning in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inertiaanne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

08/11/13, just arrived home to ireland, after a 7 day stay in the cidadela hotel in cascais.
as regards, hotel,staff,food,rooms,
location, 10 out of 10. i stayed in room 414 on the 4th floor, with a stunning view of the sea and beach, my first stay at this hotel, but after this experience, i will be returning, for many years to come. GERALD

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel did not change and is the same than 8 years ago, no fancy place but great to stay at. The staff was still the same and very helpfull and friendly. Clean rooms, good beds and close to the beach and train and bus station. I would certainly recommand to everybody to go there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria26012012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is incredible. I loved everything about it. Food was great, room was great and the bed was like a cloud. Everything that you could possibly want to do is within walking distance. We enjoyed a great bike ride up and down the beach.
Perfect.
In case you were wanting a pool, it is not so great. But with beaches all around, who cares.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just come back from another great trip to Portugal staying at the Cidadela. It simply reinforced my view on just how good a hotel this is for me and how reliable it is. The rooms are great (no, they are not re furbished every year...), bathrooms huge and the views are great from 4th floor up. Alas the trees on the Avenida in frfont have grown just that little bit to give clear views from there - or the sea at least. Breakfast is good, the staff are exceptionally helpful, and the cleaning staff are simply the best you will find anywhere. Impossible to fault, really.
No fitness centre or spa, but an amazing private pool right below, with bar and snacks - a real gem.

Room Tip: Higher you go, the better the view over the town and the Tejo - all the way across to Caparica
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedodgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I had booked a weeks stay in a 5th floor room, with sea view via Clever Hotels. Upon arrival at the hotel the front desk staff informed us that the company that booked the hotel went insolvent in August and we should have been informed - we weren't. Due to this our booking had been cancelled.

You can imagine the panic.

The hotel staff were great. They went out of their way to find us a room as there was limited availability in the whole of Cascais. We ended up staying in a one bedroom ground floor apartment for the first four nights (which was fabulous), then had to move to a basic room on the second floor for the remaining three nights.

We found that the staff went out of their way to be helpful, ringing for taxi's when required and even going on google to find us the nearest surf shop!

The hotel itself is old, but is kept very clean and tidy. The pool area is great - always plenty of sun loungers and free towels to use. The pool isn't heated but this is very refreshing on a hot day! It's about an 8 - 10 minute walk to the sea front down a hill and cobbled streets. The breakfast is standard - breads, eggs, bacon/sausages, croissants, fruit, ham, cheese etc, which is suffice to start the day.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay after the initial room scare and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are great - large bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, lounge/dining room and outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Saboia Estoril Hotel
Saboia Estoril Hotel
#6 of 17 in Estoril
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Cascais
Vila Gale Cascais
#13 of 39 in Cascais
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#12 of 17 in Estoril
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Londres
Hotel Londres
#5 of 17 in Estoril
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Cascais
Eurostars Cascais
#24 of 39 in Cascais
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidadela

Property: Hotel Cidadela
Address: Av. 25 de Abril, Cascais 2754-517, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cidadela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment-style Hotel in busy residential area, about 600 yards from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cidadela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidadela Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing