We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fish but expensive”

Restaurante O Pescador
Reserve with
Restaurante O Pescador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 543 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
258 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lovely fish but expensive”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had eaten here several years ago but the restaurant has become more touristy and dearer. We shared a large piece of fish which was salt crusted and prepared for us. It was delicious as this is their speciality. Service was good, the staff are friendly and the restaurant was busy. However, you can get good fish at many places in Cascais so would probably not return as here it is overpriced (as is the wine). Not impressed by photos of so called celebrity clients.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    167
    71
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a shop where we bought a pair of shoe's.
We had found the rest of the restaurants a bit too touristic, so we asked the sales person a tip where to eat. And they told us to go to O Pescador.
We had "Cataplan de langoustine " a speciality of the kitchen and it was delicious.
Also the recommended wine was excellent .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat like a prince...”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

...and you can see photos of the royals (Spain, Denmark) and politicians (Mario Soares) and others (Peter Lawford, Mick Jagger) who must have been told it is the best restaurant in Cascais, as we were, by a local writer. Have been there twice and it seemed like an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the many choices in a busy resort town. Don't want the "couvert" of olives, bread, cheese, etc.? Just say no-thank-you when the waiter brings it. The fish dishes we had were delicious, including the fundamental grilled sardines with salad on the side, including roasted green peppers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great people dined there”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was highly recommended but on both occasions we found it a bit too pricey, fish was ok but not spectacular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blond_Matylda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've had dinner in O Pescador with my wife and we liked it very much.
We stayed in the outdoor seats and we ate grilled codfish for dinner and cheesecake for the dessert.
It was really great and the cheesecake is unbelievable! :)

It's a very nice restaurant, especially in the Summer days!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoRSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Pescador also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing