We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante O Pescador

Restaurante O Pescador
Reserve with
Restaurante O Pescador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 525 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a local from Cascais. Its very much a sea food restaurant and not so much of a fish restaurant. We had the swordfish and Tuna. Each of our mains was about twenty euros each. Everything else was quite costly. I was also not impressed with the bread, cheese and olives they put on the table without explaining the cost. Luckily we knew better and explained that we didn't want any of it so they removed it right away. We ate outside but I did have a peak inside. There were a lot of celebrity photos, Mick Jagger etc. The restaurant was ok. I've had better and worse.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leena_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    147
    63
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely evening of food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend went here through recommendation...although some of the waiters were a little quiet and moody (apart from one who I had the most fabulous chat about lobster and crabs and in fact let me hold some of them), the food was really great, not too busy and loud a nice place for a romantic dinner...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireJANEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was recommended by the local Pousada, but our experience was very poor. Waited over an hour for our food; one meal was ridiculously overpriced and the food was tepid. Complaint was met with indifference and no attempt at redress of our dissatisfaction. We eat out a lot and are not prone to complain, but this place is no longer good, if it ever was. There is a really good place up the street - see my other review. Give this place a miss.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Typical fish restaurant - not blown away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended this by our hotel. It is situated on the same street as Beira Mar which I thought was better.
We shared a fish and seafood platter which was quite generous, but I thought the quality of the fish was not quite as good as at other places.
Service was generally good though.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It is always busy however the food is not better than much cheaper places in Cascais. Service was alright but we found the food to be disappointing given that it is a highly recommended place to eat. It is not well presented at all and the prices are too high for average food. We were charged 15 euros for the cheese that is plonked on your table-absolute rip-off!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PMH1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Pescador also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante O Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing