We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charm of Cascais
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Equador(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel da Vila(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Nau(Cascais)
View Hotel
Hotel Baia(Cascais)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
201
31
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
31
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful attentionwonderful guesthousewonderful hostsmaster suitehappy hour cocktailsport tastingthe main housesmall hotelbeach towelsthree nightswalk into townwelcome drinklarge poolguest housebreakfast was deliciouscomfortable roomsa wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 242 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As frequent travellers who have stayed in a large variety of different accommodations, my wife and I always think that first impressions count for a lot. We always check out any available reviews before booking and it's usually quite obvious if they're genuine and balanced.
'The Charm of Cascais' scored highly for reviews and the personal attention we received upon our arrival (and throughout our stay), confirmed our initial impressions that this was indeed a quality place to stay.
As we arrived before the Cascais 'season' kicked off, Susanah very kindly upgraded our room and nothing was too much trouble. Both her and Ruy gave us some great recommendations for eating out and places to visit that we probably would not have found otherwise.
The quality of service as well as the tasteful fittings and fixtures was top notch and the breakfasts were yummy. Cascais and it's people impressed us, and if we manage to return then 'The Charm of Cascais' will always be our first choice as a home from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoolsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Friends

Hope you are enjoying your stay in Porto. Did you taste "Lampreia"?

Thank you very much for the exelent revue .

Come back soon

Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here the second time in December 2013. The house is beautiful and comfortable. I stayed in the pool house that had been converted to 2 rooms. I prefer to stay in the house. There was a lot of noise when the gardeners were working. No sleeping late. Also, they left one of the doors open so I could come into the house during the day... Sometimes they forgot and I had to get someone's attention. Overall, those problems were minor. The house is about a 15-20 minute easy walk. The bus stop is close if you would rather ride. I enjoyed walking and enjoying the colorful flowers; they are beautiful. There is a side street you can walk on that takes you to the water which has a wide sidewalk for cycling, running, and walking. It will take you to downtown Cascais. I love the cityscape. You can't go wrong staying at the Charm and enjoying the charm of the city!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Michele

Tanck you very much for your nice review . On the 3rd stay , maybe next year , you will get a gift from us . Pls come back soon

Regards

Ruy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

IT'S nor very often that one can come back home from a continental holiday and feel that you have actually left home to come home ..but having spent some quality time staying in the beautiful 'Charm of Cascais' that was the feeling we had. From the the moment we checked in we were treated as special guests and Ruy and his beautiful wife Susanna ( both have fluent English ) made sure that our stay was 100% satisfactory .As we had hired a car and our plan was to stay around Cascais for a few days and stay 3 nights in the 'Charm of Cascais ' and then travel to / Stay in various places north like Nazaré, Obidos Fatima etc. and then head home but we were so taken by the 'Charm of Cascais that having visited those places we booked to spend our last 4 days there as well . This is a beautiful small family run Hotel where the emphasis is on treating Guess almost as members of the family .The breakfasts were very satisfying and homemade by Susanna .We had the choice of either having dinner in or out and on the occasions that we stayed in and dined there the Food was excellent and the bonhomie with the other guests and Ruy and Susanna really made it special.and if all this was not enough Susanna took us and 2 lovely Norwegian guests on a lovely day trip of wine tasting /sightseeing etc. All in All this This was a most enjoyable Hotel to stay in and we will always have it it on our Portuguese Itinerary . Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BREIFNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Evelyn & Thomas

Your review was and always will be best we can get, thank you very much .
Thousand of future and past guest will be touched ,impressed and I hope convinced to have a look over here to be sure that we are realy as you say.
What a responsability , we can not let you down, it's your commitment .
Now I want only on more thing , to welcome you again to have the oportunity to thank you personaly . Richard from Norway is coming back on March 24th . Join us again please !
Thank you again
Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent seven nights in one of the most wonderful guest houses we have ever visited. From the moment you enter the property you are embraced with an eclectic mix of beautiful furniture and tasteful decorations. Our room was incredible and it included all of the amenities we treasure the most - comfortable beds, a large bathroom, free wifi, quiet air conditioning and it was very, very clean. Each morning a delicious breakfast was served that included a wide array of perfectly prepared pastries, breads and cakes as well as made to order eggs, bacon, sausage or flan. It seemed like every taste was accommodated - English tea, American coffee or European espresso was always available. The variety and availability of optional services was incredible for such a small guest house, but Susana and Ruy have seemingly thought of everything. If there is anything you need, all you have to do is ask. Susana's dinner, shopping, touring and transportation recommendations were all winners. In summary, the Charm of Cascais is a perfect choice for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Portugal. We can't wait to return.
George & Zoe

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear George & Zoe


Thank you very much for this wonderfull review , you couldn't say better things from us and the positive part of it is that it is all true . However this must be said by the guests , not published by ourselves , nobody will believed .

Please be nice and come back soon .

Regards

Susana & Ruy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sadly, for us, the Charm of Cascais did not live up to the hype. Plus points were a nice pool, good breakfast and a reasonable room. However, we didn't feel overly welcome (perhaps because we were a fair bit younger than the rest of the guests) and it seemed a bit like we were kept out of the loop on lots of things like eating dinner at the guesthouse, transfers etc. Whilst it became apparent that these things were available and others were partaking in them, they weren't really brought to our attention. A little bit too far out of town as well unless you want to rely on taxis every day. Not a bad place to stay but certainly not worth 5 stars on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenzo182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Proprietário at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest

I'm so sorry that you did not feel so welcome like everybody else that I dont know how to excuse myself. In fact we always try to have a personal aproach to all our guest , young or not so young and we do realy enjoy a good mix of ages and tastes . Our slogan is Handmade Hospitality and that says it all .

Sorry again and please give us another chance to please you

Best regards

Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews