We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in Caiscais”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charm of Cascais
Ranked #3 of 42 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Portugal but had never visited this wonderful little piece of paradise. Here is the bottom line--believe the positive reviews! We are platinum level members in a major chain and so I considered a few days at one of their properties, but Charm of Cascais caught my eye on Trip Advisor, and this was the right choice. Located in a nice residential area about a fifteen minute walk to the city center, the property is wonderful, rooms are comfortable, amenities are first class, and the attention to detail and care and concern of Ruy and Susana is lavish and abundant. They truly set a high bar of inn-keeping, from offering a book on a topic of mutual interest, to advice on other spots in the country, or sharing knowledge and love for wine, food and life in Portugal. Here are some tips: 1) rent the bicycles and enjoy the sights; 2) purchase a picnic at the store for a private seat along the wall at Boca do Inferno; 3) indulge in the dinner and wine event at the home with their superb food and service; 4) relax pool side and wait for the welcome bell at happy hour at 1800. And above all, splurge on the incredible baking of Susana--you will be amazed with the Charm of Cascais!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Randy & Ruth

What an amazing review you have done , thank you very much. And thank you also for the nice comment on the Guestbook and the beautifull drawing from Ruth.
I know that you will come back soon and I hope to have the oportunity to wellcome you again . Pls go to our facebook and make a "like" because so we will always in touch.

Susana is very touch by your apreciation

Best Regards
Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Ruy and Susana's beautiful guest house for almost 2 weeks. It was an absolute joy from breakfast until we went to bed. The only thing they don't do is tuck you in at night although I am sure if you asked they would! The Charm is a wonderfully relaxing retreat, the staff fantastic and the hosts are amazing. It must be hard work keeping everyone happy but they do it without obvious effort. The house and grounds are beautiful and impeccably kept. If you are looking for a relaxing break and want all your needs attended to without fuss then don't hesitate to book.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Gary & Wife

Your review shows how a nice person you are , thank you . You know that our behaviour and hospitality is realy an handmade one , guest by guest , case by case but always made with joy

You need to come back in order I can give you a hug of thanks


See you soon

Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As most other reviews on the charm of cascais will testify this is a stunning property run by Ruy and Susana to a degree that borders perfection. Nothing is too much trouble for Ruy Susana and their wonderful staff. Set about 25 min walk from the centre of Cascais it is perfect for that relaxing holiday with such a warm welcoming feeling that it is more like staying with an old friend rather than just another holiday property. If holidaying were an Olympic event then The charm of Cascais would come home with a host of gold medals. This is indeed a absolute gem in a lovely setting, if you are looking for the perfect holiday in this area look no further than The charm of Cascais.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Keith

How can I thank you for this fantastic review ? No way and no words .

This job is quite demanding as you know, 12 to 14 hours on dutty but has a lot of pleasure when we get the opinion of our beloved guest .

Dont forget that you have told me that you are coming back . I hope that it will be soon .

Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just confirming the other reviews that Ruy and Susana were THE best hosts ever! Although we really didn't need much of anything I know they would bend over backwards to accommodate our every wish. Our room was immaculate and spectacular ( their cleaning staff is top notch!) Breakfast each morning was an absolute feast and we eagerly anticipated Susana's "goody of the day". Highly recommend doing a sail with Ruy (and we had a helper Lynden with us who was very knowledgeable as well). So nice to get to know Ruy a bit while enjoying the water. Our only regret was that Susana could not also be with us. What a great way to see the scenery up and down the coast. It was about a mile walk down to the historic center which we did every day at some point. Just beautiful and lots of good restaurants ( Masala Indian was our favorite). We also walked the entire promenade and took a cab back. Worth the walk. At the Inn the WiFi worked spotlessly, the pool was very refreshing and can we talk about the weather? We live in Pennsylvania where summer not only gets hot, but sticky and humid. It was about 100F our entire stay and I barely broke a sweat even with all the walking - in June - in Portugal - in full sun. Can I say "retirement destination"? We were only at the Inn for 5 nights and continued onto Paris. Even though we were in Paris we wished we were back in Cascais. Five nights was far too short. SOOOOO much to see and do! We never even made it back to Lisbon. Don't miss Sintra and in particular Quinta da Regaleira. Most impressive. Eat at Dom Lopos in Sintra. Perfect spot outside to watch the sunset over the entire town and out to the ocean. We can't get Cascais out of my systems. We just want to go back. We always thought the Caribbean was where we wanted to retire, but I don't know anymore.....

Room Tip: No tips - I think they'd all be pretty darn good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dears Kim & Kurt

I dont know how to thank you for the magnificent review you have made and I'm sure that Cascais Mayor would like to thank you as well. I like to call Cascais as the Portuguese Riviera and it is becaming better every day because of the quality tourists that choose us for a few days of relaxation and some days of culture

Hope to see you again

Ruy & Susana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for ten nights in June. We were thrilled to find this "charming" guest house and can only praise it highly. It was a pleasure and we will be returning shortly.
Our hosts, Susana and Ruy, were like old friends, so very welcoming and attentive to our every need. The girls are great, very friendly and very efficient,
The hotel is beautiful and the cleanest place we have ever stayed in. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The large lounge is a great place to sit and read, listen to music and have a drink served by the host. Luxury!
The garden is beautiful with a nice pool, cushioned sun beds and beautiful soft towels.
Breakfast is great with variety and plenty for everyone, including cakes "to die for" made by Susana, great lunch too, ours served outside in the garden but... dinner is a must... as Ruy just loves to cook and cater for every palate (even mine), nothing is too much trouble. Sharing meals with the other guests and meeting new people was delightful.
The Charm is a short walk from the centre of Cascais where there are lots of good restaurants, trains to Lisbon, buses to all the attractions nearby, free bikes and beautiful coastal walks with breathtaking scenery.
I would highly recommend The Charm of Cascais.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonorHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Friends

I hope I can treat you so because I do feel it .

Thank you very much for this amazing review, That will help us to welcome more nice guest to our humble home


See you soon

Susana & Ruy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights in June with a view to enjoying Cascais and Lisbon. It worked very well, as we had a very enjoyable time in Cascais, with advice from Ruy on local sights, and could take the train to the city in 40 min. Ruy and Susanna were excellent hosts, welcoming and highly professional. The breakfast was exceptional. We enjoyed beautiful breads, fruit, fresh juices, and homemade cakes, preserves and pastries. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also opted for dinner on one of our evenings, and had a great night, enjoying the company of other guests for drinks. Ruy recommended an excellent local fish restaurant on another night. As we were celebrating an anniversary, we wanted a special location to stay in, and were not disappointed. Our room was one of the pool rooms, not in the main house, and perhaps a little smaller, but with lovely accommodation and bathroom. Our only regret was that we didn't get to travel to Lisbon by boat, as the weather didn't oblige. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Book early to stay in the villa. Ruy is available to provide a handy and reasonable shuttle service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fionaM I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Fiona

Thank you very muvch for your wonderfull review .If I could make a review from our guests we would make one from yourself as an exceptional couple

Regards

Ruy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

In the heart of Cascais, a very beautiful Villa that transformed into a small Hotel with allot of love
and attention. very recommended for couples, but also for small families and business travelers.

A short walk from the hotel you can find good restaurants, but a great experience will be to order your dinner in the Hotel - The owner is a great sheaf

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruy F, Owner at The Charm of Cascais, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

What a pleasure to know that we have fullfilled your expectations and have left a good memory for the future . Your opinion will be very helpfull to other guests and gives us an enormous joy

Best regards and come back soon

Susana & Ruy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Cascais
Pestana Cascais
#16 of 39 in Cascais
728 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charm of Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charm of Cascais

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 669, Cascais 2750-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range: $90 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charm of Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charm of Cascais is a unique property located on a peaceful and residential area at a walking distance from the town center and the sea , the Marina and the Guincho Road fish restaurants. It is an impressive beautiful and well balanced house surrounded by a nice Mediterranean garden with some fruit trees and a bio cooking herb agriculture production used for the home cooking at our restaurant .A 10x5 swimming pool will make your days fresher . Free use of hotel special towels at the pool. Enjoy our Sun lying on our sun lounge beds .Only 8 en-suite Rooms with all the comfort, large private bathrooms , bathrobes , safe deposit boxes, deluxe amenities, LCD TV , direct phone (at a cheap price to keep you in touch) , WIFI free internet, air conditioning/heating, Hair Dryer etc .The lounge will be the meeting point , Pool table , bar sofas e maples , LED TV Tea room - every day at 5pm your tradicional Tea and Scones Vinoteca - Oporto Wine tasting AreaGarden Restaurant – Light meals at lunch time by the pool and garden Breakfast room Restaurant with fine wines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charm of Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing