We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful stop outside of lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charm of Cascais
Ranked #3 of 39 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a beautiful stop outside of lisbon”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the wonderful Charm of Cascais and could not have been more pleased. The owners, Ruy and Susana, are great hosts, the lodging was fantastic..and the dinner we had at the inn was delicious...and relaxing...no drive time at all. Pool water was delightfully cold and clear breakfasts were fresh with a wide offering of breads, cereals, cakes and eggs. The entire staff was friendly..We couldn't have started our trip off on a better note.. Didn't get a chance to sail...but will definitely get on the sea next time we come...which hopefully will be soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice...master suite was killer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillydave1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
143
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terneuzen
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked 2 rooms, and did receive an upgrade, the chef cooked 2times for us, and he did very well. We enjoyed the food wine combinations as well as the port and portuegese brandy. Very clean and big room, beautiful breakfast, you just need a taxi or bike to go to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankTerneuzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This guest house is indeed a charm. The hosts are fantastic, the rooms are bright, the beds are comfortable. We had 4 perfect nights of rest and relaxation. Superb breakfasts and the pool area and loungers are most enticing. Who needs the beach? Can't recommend it enough. We want to go back....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZionBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I came across The Charm of Cascais via Tripadvisor, and the reviews indicated it was just what we were looking for.
We arrived in Cascais by the delightful 35 minute train ride from Lisbon and were immediately entranced with the resort, its beaches and things to do. On arrival at The Charm of Cascais we were met by the owners Ruy and Susana, who showed us into a beautiful first floor room with an enormous bathroom featuring a bath, bidet and two wash basins. And this was only their standard double room! The beds were extremely large and comfortable - I'm 6ft 4ins tall and really appreciated the extra size. Everything was brand new and top quality, from the linens, towels and toiletries, to the silent and efficient air conditioning, satellite flatscreen TV and free wifi throughout the building.
The garden and pool area was a relaxing sun trap with comfortable loungers, and the pool itself was always clean with water at the right temperature. The weather was beautiful during our stay, and after a day in Cascais, Estoril or the nearby magical town of Sintra a dip in the pool was just what was needed, followed by tea and delicious home made cakes. In fact, all the food served was delicious, from the excellent and healthy breakfast (with home made yogurt, bread and preserves) to dinner each evening.
The house itself is beautifully decorated and comfortable without being precious in any way, and you don't need any encouragement from Ruy and Susana to feel completely at home. They really are the perfect hosts with no request too much trouble for them, and their care and consideration shows in all the details. A highlight of our stay was a morning trip along the coast in their 30 foot sailing boat 'Hippy Chic', moored at the nearby Cascais Marina, only a 15 minute walk away.
The Charm of Cascais is wholeheartedly recommended, and we're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here for two nights at the end of May, and would definitely recommend it for a longer stay. There is a relaxing pool area, a nice garden and a large lounge with pool table, where cocktails are served during happy hour. The owners are very helpful and are clearly keen that their guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay. The breakfast is delicious. Lots of fruit, cereal, pastries, choice of eggs (with bacon) and a delicious orange"trifle" More what I would call bread pudding, but surprisingly good for breakfast.
It is definitely walkable into town although some of the pavements are a bit uneven if you're are not a confident walker. Taxis are easy and cheap.

Room Tip: We stayed in the master suite which is great. Large room with dressing area and large bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. Very comfortable room and a spacious lounge with extensive library (mainly portugese). The hosts take great care to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The property is about 1.5km from the centre of town, a pleasant walk but you can take a taxi for €3.50. We also dined there twice and were impressed by the cooking, certainly better than some of the restaurants we ate in in town. Breakfast was also well catered.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonJay48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights as we traveled the coast of Portugal. The house is stunning, and our room was huge with a gorgeous vintage bathroom. Breakfast was delightful, and the owners were so kind and helpful. They have wireless internet, TV, and a nice pool which the rooms overlook.

It's not far from the downtown/beach area. We walked a few times, but it may be a bit of a hike if you're not a big walker. The location is just a short drive from Guincho beach, Cabo da Roca (westernmost point of Europe), Sintra, and other sites. We had a rented car, which certainly made things easier.

Definitely book a few nights here if you have the time! I could have stayed even longer!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moriah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.9 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#4 of 39 in Cascais
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#3 of 39 in Cascais
242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#12 of 39 in Cascais
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charm of Cascais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charm of Cascais

Property: The Charm of Cascais
Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 669, Cascais 2750-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charm of Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charm of Cascais is a unique property located on a peaceful and residential area at a walking distance from the town center and the sea , the Marina and the Guincho Road fish restaurants. It is an impressive beautiful and well balanced house surrounded by a nice Mediterranean garden with some fruit trees and a bio cooking herb agriculture production used for the home cooking at our restaurant .A 10x5 swimming pool will make your days fresher . Free use of hotel special towels at the pool. Enjoy our Sun lying on our sun lounge beds .Only 8 en-suite Rooms with all the comfort, large private bathrooms , bathrobes , safe deposit boxes, deluxe amenities, LCD TV , direct phone (at a cheap price to keep you in touch) , WIFI free internet, air conditioning/heating, Hair Dryer etc .The lounge will be the meeting point , Pool table , bar sofas e maples , LED TV Tea room - every day at 5pm your tradicional Tea and Scones Vinoteca - Oporto Wine tasting AreaGarden Restaurant – Light meals at lunch time by the pool and garden Breakfast room Restaurant with fine wines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Charm of Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing