We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of The Albatroz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Albatroz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked a last minute room at this wonderful property in October -- and we were so lucky! What a great hotel -- very clean, comfortable, helpful staff and beautiful location. The very short walk from the train station was easy. Breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the ocean couldn't have been a more wonderful way to start the day. The beach below is clean and a great place to grab a beer or a paddle board. We enjoyed the historic qualities in the property and loved the charm. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskaSkiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for The Albatroz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 569 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. Although it was a little expensive we really enjoyed the hotel. We had a fantastic room in the old part of the hotel looking out over the sea and harbour. Breakfasts were really good. Location - was very convenient for the train station (trains to Lisbon) and bus station (buses to Sintra). The beach was just by the hotel too. Cascais is a pleasant place - not too overrun by tourists and has nice restaurants and interesting places to visit nearby. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Swimming pool was a little small - but as the beach is so close this doesn't really matter!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Although this is a 5 star it may not suit people who want everything pristine. It is an old hotel in the most amazing location with the best service you can imagine. With the windows open at night you can go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves. It is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took a taxi from the Airport (€35) and it took only 25 minutes. We were met by very friendly staff at the hotel that showed us our room view a fantastic view. The hotel is tiptop and the food in the restaurant is perfect. To the beach its less than 3 minutes walk via a special walkway and there is also a nice pool at the hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. We recommend this hotel and it's one of the best I have visited.
Mats & Ulla

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mats999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We can only reiterate previous comments. We too had a sea view with balcony. Lovely view. The staff are excellent, speak perfect English and are very attentive. Very good beach below the hotel and lots and lots of restaurants to choose from nearby. Another benefit is the train station about 100 mtrs away (but you never hear it!) Just hop on a train to Lisbon and have a great day out. We had a great time in this hotel because location, quality of the hotel generally and the service would make us want to return. That's about the highest praise this discerning pair of travellers could bestow on anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Albatroz in Sept-2013. Our stay was absolutely fantastic! Everything from the service/hospitality, to the cleanliness and comfort of the room were sublime. The hotel is located in the city center and literally 2 mins from the beach. Even though it is set in a busy area, once you are in the hotel, it is very quiet and relaxing. The whole staff was very helpful and the attention to the small details (ex: replacing pool towels, parking the car, offering port and water in the room, etc) was very impressive. The room was spotless and the room was very comfortable. We had a room overlooking the beach with a balcony which was great to enjoy the end of day sipping on a long drink. Waking up to the sound of waves was also great.

If I had to recommend one hotel in Cascais it would definitely be Hotel Albatroz - we'll be going back for sure.

Congratulations to the whole Albatroz Team you've raised the standard for other hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the beach - totally worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajante_mundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in high season. Still, the hotel had a relaxed atmosphere, even with families with little children. Views from the pool balcony, restaurant and bar are lovely - out to sea and of the heaving, but jolly, adjoining beach. Breakfasts are good, fresh and plentiful. We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel, because there is so much choice in Cascais. Service overall was professional and pleasant, but maybe a bit stretched at this time of year. Front desk service was very good. Our ground floor, poolside, room was big, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Standard of housekeeping was high. We couldn't have asked for more of the accommodation. The hotel is centrally located for central Cascais and therefore within easy walking distance of most of the restaurants, bars, shops and sights, including the must-see Paula Rego gallery. The hotel has the feel of a very well and attentively managed family establishment. We would recommend it highly, but high season rates were a bit out of line with what the hotel actually delivers. That's the cost of staying in a very popular European resort in August. Go just on either side of high season, and the Albatroz would be very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room. You can choose a ground floor adjoining the pool. The end rooms have their o...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fairhaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.7 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
806 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#6 of 39 in Cascais
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albatroz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albatroz Hotel

Address: Rua Frederico Arouca 100 | Betw, Cascais 2750-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#5 Business Hotel in Cascais
#8 Family Hotel in Cascais
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $170 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Albatroz Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in converted Mansion with modern addition, Situated on a rocky bluff overlooking the beach & Cascais bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Albatroz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing