We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in.”
Review of The Albatroz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Albatroz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

A fabulous hotel with a spectacular view. There was a problem with our booking and as a result we were all upgraded to beautiful rooms. The service is fantastic and the breakfast a real treat. We all loved it and hope to be back soon. Cascais is a lovely place to explore and within easy access to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tralondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 604 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed with my wife 3 nights at the Albatroz Hotel and his was a great experience. First they upgraded us from a Superior to a Suite with balcony since it was our wedding aniversary. The view to the sea is amazing, the staff is skilled and super nice in any situation.
The restaurant is very good and service is excellent plus a nice view to the beach!

Other important things are that parking is free and the hotel is 5 minutes form the train station to go to Lisbon!

We will come back...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefrfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Easy to get to from Lisbon airport on public transport. Take yellow airport bus to Cais de Sodre station, last stop. Then 30 mins train to Cascais, last stop. 10 mins easy walk to the hotel. Bus was 3.30 euros, train was 2.25 euros. Once inside the extremely helpful staff take cases for you. easy unshowy service no problem. Was concerned about 'city view' room but it actually had a great view of the beach. Miles of lovely sand, nice walks. still pleasantly warm in October . Did swim in pool but very cold.
Excellent location and spotlessly clean. Drinks and eating out not as expensive as we'd expected. All in all a great place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenbream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albatrozhotels, General Manager at The Albatroz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Dear Guest, You are really very kind! Thank you for these wonderful comments. I shared your warm words with our team this morning and they were all delighted and so proud when they heard your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share these generous remarks. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is definitely a nice hotel, beautiful setting with nice rooms (we had a deluxe with a balcony - all the balconies over look the water and are the best part of the room). However the food service is really bad and this comes from 5 days of staying there with several bad experience at breakfast, lunch by the pool and dinner. There was one waiter in particular, Jose, which was probably the worst and rudest waiter I have ever had. Besides that we very much enjoyed our stay there and you couldn't ask for a better location for all the restaurant/shopping in Cascais. Cascais is also an excellent location to see the rest of the area (Sintra etc). Don't stay in Estoril - its a dump and if you are staying in other parts of portugal, Sintra, will be like many of the other towns you visit and stay out. Cascais being oceanfront was different.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lp10065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albatrozhotels, General Manager at The Albatroz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am never proud to know that we have disappointed a guest, but I am always grateful for the feedback so that we can review, learn and improve.
In regards to your comments about our F&B and our waiter José, I apologize and would like you to know that we have had training for the restaurant staff so that these situations do not take place.
Once again I thank youfor your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

After 6 days and 7 nights we left this place home sick. Beautiful location, very friendly staff and laxuriously comfortable stay. Enjoyed every bit of it. The hotel was super clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evoblush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Hotel Albatroz is truly a gem!

This place is 5-star but not at all glitzy. The location is superb, with a terrace overlooking the blue-marine Atlantic, across to the fishing jetties and marina. It is near the rail and bus stations, so you can get out along the coast or into Lisbon or Sintra easily.

There is a small but cool fresh-water swimming pool, although no shower is at hand alongside. There is a welcome breeze which keeps the temperature down in the midday sun, however.

The rooms are very tastefully furnished and amply sized. The bath rooms are also sizeable, with no over-complicated plumbing as is often found these days. Towels galore and bath-robes. The windows are all double-glazed. so there is really no noise. The beds could have been a little softer, however, as could the pillows. We slept well most nights though, the whole week.

There is free internet access on the ground-floor unlike many hotels charge exorbitantly for this.

There is a fine buffet breakfast with a sea-view and even finer dinner should one choose to dine in-house and at not too exorbitant prices. We would indeed recommend the restaurant. The elderly waiters are all 'old charmers'!

The staff are indeed very friendly, in fact very child-friendly, and helpful - the service is top-notch and quite unobtrusive.

Here are a few suggestions: The hotel might buy some finer-quality cotton sheets and duvets. The bottled water is on the expensive side and should be provided without charge each day in the room, as in many hotels of this standing. Tea or coffee-making facilties would also have been welcome.

We would nonethless strongly recommend this place for a restful holiday in a delightful and charming seaside resort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

For our 49th Wedding Anniversary and our fourth trip to Cascais, we decided to splurge and stay at the Hotel Albatroz. It was worth every penny. My husband wasn't sure how much walking he would be able to do at this time and this made the hotel even more perfect. When we walked out of the front door, we were in the middle of the town. We had a beautiful room with windows overlooking the beach on one side and the Bay on the other. The staff was exceptional, the breakfast buffet included chocolate mousse, the pool was relaxing and never crowded. Well, I could go on and on, but I will sum up with "Our stay for 5 nights was Perfect."

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank tobycosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.7 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#6 of 40 in Cascais
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.7 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 40 in Cascais
1,262 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fortaleza do Guincho
Fortaleza do Guincho
#7 of 40 in Cascais
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albatroz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albatroz Hotel

Address: Rua Frederico Arouca 100 | Betw, Cascais 2750-356, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#5 Business Hotel in Cascais
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $182 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Albatroz Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel housed in converted Mansion with modern addition, Situated on a rocky bluff overlooking the beach & Cascais bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Albatroz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing