We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa velha- good spot, with interesting interiors.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Casa Velha

Restaurante Casa Velha
Ranked #50 of 525 Restaurants in Cascais
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Casa velha- good spot, with interesting interiors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Casa Velha was recommended to us by a couple,who visit Cascais every year, so expectations were high. Restaurant exterior is framed with beautiful ,pink Bounganvilla flowers. Interior feels like you are in a boat- funky marine inspired theme prevails. Staff were very helpful and our waiter also spoke Gaelic , which was amusing! Chargrilled chicken main was delicious and good value at 10euro. Comparatively, desserts were on the pricey side at 5.50e. Seafood seemed to be pricey enough..All in all, a nice restaurant, with good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    214
    62
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just an expensive tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Visited 29/08/2012. I have some problem with some other reviews for this restaurant ... or we are not talking about the same place ... or some people do not have fish and seafood on a regular basis.

Starter tasteless ham plate with 9 slices comes at 13€!!!

Just regular cuisine, not bad though, but absolutely not "fantastic" as some others may put it, at extremely high prices. Crab is 30€/kg even more expensive than in high end restaurants downtown Lisbon!!!

Highest bill during our entire stay in Lisbon. Highly NOT recommended, it's just a tourist trap.

Note that this review is written by persons with strong continental European cuisine culture and might not be suited for people from other cuisine cultures especially Northern America, Asia, etc.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Casa Velha - Cascais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a fantastic restaurant!

As soon as we saw this restaurant we know we had to try the food and we were not disappointed. The menu was good and the service excellent.

I'm not sure what happened when other reviewers went but I would have no hesitation in recommending the Casa Velha to anyone.

It's easy to find, if you come off the train and reach the main road turn right and walk a not too far and it's there in front of you. There is and outside eating area which was full when we went so we ate inside and am glad we did.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spitfire1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

right in the centre of cascais a few minutes walk from the station and from the sea. this is a very well priced restaurent serving traditional portuguese food. the arroz de marisco and seafood cataplanas are very good here as is the pata negra starter. service is very efficent and good and there is the option to sit indoors which is quite cosy when the weather is not great. the only let down is the view of the main road and its asscoaited noise pollutiion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pistacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great authentic fish dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The choie of fish on a daily basis are amazing and they are so well prepared. We have been with our young children on two occasions (Ages 3 and4) and they have been catered for so well. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonScorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Velha also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Velha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing