We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in the devil's mouth”

Restaurante Mar do Inferno
Ranked #13 of 543 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best food in the devil's mouth”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Be prepared for one of the best places in Cascais...
get accustomed to a glamorous atmosphere
watch the beautiful furniture...
taste the lovely sea food...
and enjoy the meal...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    459
    101
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“favorite seafood restaurant in Portugal”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been in Cascais several times and always go to this place, never a dissapointment.
It is a popular place for the locals and just outside the city centre.
If in doubt order order one of the mixed platters of seafood, it will not dissapoint.
It is not cheap but the Quality is excelent, and there are more expensive restaurants inn the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golffrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great view – lousy food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This restaurant was a real disappointment from beginning to the end. The place has a fantastic location so close to the ocean with a very nice view so it has a lot of so called "potential" but this is not enough for me. The management just try to sell the location but serve low quality food and I would say it is a combination of lack of ideas, lack of creativity and low quality food. I wouldn’t go there again even it was for free. We got some strange fish dish with bananas – I almost went “bananas” to be totally honest. This kind of food is what you expect from a mediocre lunch restaurant trying to rip of tourists but not from this kind of place. If you are hungry, don’t stop here – you will get very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamboswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First-class experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There are quite a few fish and seafood restaurant along the Guincho beach, but don't bother. This excellent establishment is much better. Full of locals enjoying the freshest and brilliantly well prepared seafood and fish. Simple is usually best and this is so true in this restaurant. We had small baby-lobsters, king crab, shrimps and mussels in garlic on plates for startes and that would have perhaps been enough, the plates were so rich. But I'm glad we did nor stop there as the Dorade we got as main course was perhaps the best I've ever had. And I've tasted a few... I need to get back to Cascais and to this restaurant very soon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter_from_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seafood by the Sea”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything was more than we had hoped for: delicious soup, a huge seafood platter for two, supurb fresh bread, nice selection of deserts, and a delightful bottle of well-chilled vinho verde.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mar do Inferno also viewed

 
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Mar do Inferno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing