We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel in late August 2012. The staff members are extremely friendly and very concerned about making your stay a good one. The rooms are ultra modern and very spacious and comfortable. The oversized terrace is a definite plus, as well.

The outdoor pool area is relatively unadorned but very inviting, nonetheless. The indoor pool, which I used most of the time, was warm and very pleasant. I spent just a bit of time in the hot tub and sauna, and enjoyed both.

The food at the hotel is excellent. I travelled with a friend and we dined at the Chef's Table one night and it was spectacular. It was just the two of us, but we were treated very well and the Chef went out of his way to produce a wonderful and memorable dinner and to accommodate to a very inconvenient dietary restriction in Portugal - an allergy to seafood.

My friend and I decided, at the last minute, to take golf lessons and the pro was very good. I would recommend it, even if you've never played, as I had not.

All in all, The Oitavos was a wonderful place to spent a holiday and to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

Room Tip: If you walk off the property and cross the main road, you'll find FOrt S. Jorge de Oitavos and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    165
    76
    17
    22
See reviews for
99
296
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a short mid-week break and for the first two days were one of only two or three other couples staying...which meant very attentive staff at breakfast although we did not get the buffet breakfast that we had paid for - we had to order from the wait staff and the first day there wasn't any menu....but this was just a small hitch. They did offer to give us breakfast in bed but we declined. To be fair the staff were in the main very friendly, helpful and attentive.
The rooms are uber modern which we loved but will not be to everyone's taste....the loo situation is not ideal (open plan extends to a frosted glass loo within your room) but other than this the fittings etc were all top class and it was very 5* experience. The grounds and spa are great and even with the weather on our final days being awful there is plenty to do in the hotel and its surrounds to keep you busy - also because it's such a slick design, you just want to hang out in the communal areas - something I've never really wanted to do before in a hotel.
So positives - design, food, staff, spa, activities, free wifi and we were up-graded because of the low occupancy. Negatives - some small but quite annoying things: no shuttle transfer available to centre of Cascais - AT ALL at any of the times we requested (three times) - this is described on the website!!! You have to take a taxi instead and which is probably only about 5-7 euro but getting up to four taxis a day adds up - I would not have considered this hotel if I had known that the transfers only happened when there were enough guests. 15 euro to view a film is too much. No coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms. Last piece of advice is - if you take a taxi to the airport, be sure to pay the taxi driver and not the hotel - the hotel rate is €54 whereas we paid €40 as our surf teacher had told us this was about as much as it should cost.
Bottom line - very good experience but sullied a bit by the feeling that the hotel was getting up on your back a bit....I would certainly go back here for a long weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEOITAVOS, General Manager at The Oitavos, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Madame


Thank you for your positive comments. We truly appreciate your feedback. We were also very pleased to know that - “you just want to hang out in the communal areas - something I've never really wanted to do before in a hotel” - , this is probably one of our main goals as hoteliers, to make our guests feel at home even if away from it.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the buffet breakfast, but indeed with a low occupancy rate the food waste of having a buffet breakfast only for 4 to 6 persons can be outrageous and since clients can order everything they wish from the breakfast menu which is as complete as the buffet breafast we believe that this the best and more ethic way to solve this issue. Of course not having an available menu for you to choose from is not acceptable and once again we apologize for that situation.
Regarding your comments about the shuttle transfer please allow us to clarify, as the shuttle transfer is only available on Summer Season as stated on our website.
As for the Taxi price, our rate is an average rate, the taxi is booked in advance and we make sure we only work with the best cars in town; we know personally the taxi driver, the car condition and the delivered service. When booking a taxi on your own, rates might lower or higher in your case we’re happy to hear they we’re lower.

We sincerely hope you give us the pleasure of another visit.


Kindest Regards,

Miguel M Champalimaud
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I couldn't have found out a better place for a quick three day golf escape on November. The natural beauty of the place, view to the Atlantic ocean combined with with the open and simple geometric architecture and calming colors and light of the hotel was overwhelming. Where ever I put my eyes on I could feel myself refreshed and relaxed from hotel lobby to lounge and restaurant and my room. A Sauna on the Spa with view to Atlantic ocean was a pleasant surprise.

The same feeling continued on the golf course with links course on natural sand dunes and hill with a view to Atlantic on almost every hole. No matter how I scored I just felt calm and empowered.

Room Tip: Every room or balcony has a view to Atlantic ocean but the more expensive ones toward the sea and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the second time I stay at the Oitavos. This time we stayed a full week playing golf, tennis, biking and running along the Atlantic, riding and swimming in the pool at the hotel. The activities offered by the hotel ensure that every member of the family can be active which is great.

The hotel itself is very spacious including the rooms. And the location in Quinta da Marinha is very calm yet close enough to Cascais.

Staff is extremely service-minded and I would also like to point out the excellent breakfast buffet.

Last but not least, the fact that the reception of the hotel is approx 100 meters away from the 1st tee of Oitavos Dunes, the 68th best golf course in the world, is obviously a big plus for the avid golfer such as myself.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan123486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 4 days in November and enjoyed our stay very much. The Oitavos is located about 30 mins from Lisbon and the airport. It was built on the dramatic Atlantic coast outsice of Cascais.The hotel is quite new and was built in a extremly cool and modern design style (not cosy). Around the hotel is a fantastic golf course. The rooms are very large and have a very cool design although the open plan bath rooms are not ideal if you prefer privacy. The hotel has a beautiful outside pool with a great view of the Atlantic ocean which is only a view minutes walk away. There is a nice indoor pool with sauna and steam bath. Breakfast is great and food in the restaurant is not cheap but very good. The service was very good and and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on the west side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent just one fabulous night here. Friends came from London for a few days' stay so we drove up from our holiday home in the Algarve to join them. An easy three-and-a-half hour drive and we were transported to this beautiful, modern and luxurious oasis. Sure, the hotel looks like an office block from the outside, and the statue at the front is gigantic and hideous, but the rooms are faultless; not only looking fabulous, but with every convenience supplied. I have stayed in other modern hotels which have dispensed with baths and dressing tables. Here we had a well-lit dressing table, free standing bath, twin basins, a great shower, and, to top it all, in its own cubicle, a Japanese-style toilet with built in bidet and dryer. On the other side of the partition was the 'living room - big desk, iPod/phone dock, large TV (smaller one facing the bed), sofa, balcony.... free wi-fi everywhere.
The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were VERY soft and large. I'd like a choice of two textures.
Only staying the one night we didn't use many of the facilities, but lunch by the pool was ok, service a little slow and dishes came at different times. Bar good but expensive. Breakfast very good indeed, and our friend's gluten free bread was brought to the table without our having to ask for it.
Reception was pleasant but I found their local knowledge lacking. We had already booked a very well known restaurant (Porto Santa Maria) approx 3km away and needed to change the booking for half an hour later. I asked the girl on reception to phone for me. She had never heard of it and didn't know where it was - it's actually on the same road as the hotel, driving north. I agree with a previous comment about the 'trainee' service. There is a large French speaking clientele and few of the reception staff speak French. As is usual in Portugal they all speak very good English. On the whole the service is pleasant, efficient and good natured.
We would love to stay here longer next time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastically well appointed. We were on the first floor and could hear music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night for a our 15th wedding anniversary celebration, mid-October 2012. Perfect choice, the Hotel is perfect very modern, very clean, very large (rooms and all the hotel spaces), staff very professional, and the facilities very modern overall. One feels very confortable all the time. 2 remarkable swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) both salted water which makes all the difference, and the sauna has the a marvellous view to the landscape...unique!!
The spa is the best I have been too. Large rooms, with massage rooms with windows to the wild surrounding landscape.
The views to the lanscape, golf course and the Ocean so close, are wonderfull.
I really really recommend it !

Room Tip: This is the kind of Hotel in which no matter which room you pick , you will love it and have an won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Martinhal Cascais
Martinhal Cascais
#1 of 38 in Cascais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.3 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
2.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Property: The Oitavos
Address: Rua de Oitavos Rua da Quinta, Cascais 2750-004, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#9 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing