We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for a couple's special getaway (wedding aniversary weekend)”
Review of The Oitavos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oitavos
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night for a our 15th wedding anniversary celebration, mid-October 2012. Perfect choice, the Hotel is perfect very modern, very clean, very large (rooms and all the hotel spaces), staff very professional, and the facilities very modern overall. One feels very confortable all the time. 2 remarkable swimming pools (indoor and outdoor) both salted water which makes all the difference, and the sauna has the a marvellous view to the landscape...unique!!
The spa is the best I have been too. Large rooms, with massage rooms with windows to the wild surrounding landscape.
The views to the lanscape, golf course and the Ocean so close, are wonderfull.
I really really recommend it !

Room Tip: This is the kind of Hotel in which no matter which room you pick , you will love it and have an won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 737 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

After first review in September 10, 2011, went there for our wedding night.
First notes: The hotel is located in amazing place, great views, 20 min walking distance from the center. The architecture is minimalist but very modern. The rooms are big and with good views.

Lets go on the service. After my first review "Terrible phone service" when booking several days before, and after booking has been confirmed arrived there between 4-5 AM after our wedding day.
The recepcionist (looking as trainees and not experienced) said no booking in the system and made us wait 15/20 min in the reception waiting at 4-5 AM in the night.
Later on, he came and apologize their mistake, and the room was indeed confirmed and reserved for us as agreed earlier. We asked for late check-out since arrived almost in the morning, and they gently provide us 2 more hours in the room. For a wedding night, expected much better, but ok. From many many many hotels in Lisbon, Sintra and Cascais, we choose this one for our night and paid for a special wedding-night pack.

Service, is something between poor and terrible for a place claiming to be one of the best in Cascais. After the strange thing in the reception, in the morning day after, like 11AM, someone knocked at our door, which we discovered to be the waitress, wanting to clean our room.

Overall rating is very good because: location, architecture and rooms. Decoration of the room was fantastic.

We have a lot of experience travelling around the world, and stayed in many hotels and resorts, and this one really needs fast improvement from their directors! Looks like they use trainees for reception and bookings, which is not good for customers at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my second trip to Portugal (my wife and I visited Lisbon three years earlier); the first for business only. Our international business alliance of PR practitioners selected The Oitavos for the site of our semi-annual general assembly meeting. The venue and everything related were outstanding.

We stayed at The Oitavos from Oct. 10 until the 14th. Everything at the hotel was "supersized" and it all worked well. The giant statue outside the entrance... the sheer size and scale of the hotel.... the giant lobby, lounge, restaurant.... the extremely spacious rooms and balconies.... the first class pools (indoors and outdoors)....hot tub.... health club.... and more.

The hotel was fairly empty (summer season behind and golfing season just getting underway) but the staffing was generous, attentive and professional. You don't feel like a guest at The Oitavos -- you feel like you are a guest or distant relative of the family who owns and manages the hotel.

After lunch one day at the golf clubhouse, we expressed interest in seeing the complete property. 15 minutes later, a golf cart pulled up and transported six of us on an hourlong tour with vistas overseeing the ocean, hillside and beyond. Any request for help was handled as if it dearly mattered to the staff...and they would check back later to make sure it all worked out.

I own an international PR firm in NY (this hotel is NOT one of our clients); I strongly recommend this resort to business groups or couples looking for a special getaway you will NOT forget and a convenient way to explore the local town of Cascais, nearby historic Sintra and Lisbon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryFeintuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a very modern hotel. The rooms were fantastic,beds excellent, shower fantastic. 8 golfers on a 4 day break. The golf course is average at best, certainly not 88 in the world.None of us would play it again. 70 euro for a buggy is outrageous. The price for a beer at 7 euro is too high. We wanted to play 9 holes on arrival, but they would not compromise on the 18 hole fee of 75 euro.They will have very few golf tourists soon if this attitude does'nt change. A steak sandwich in the clubhouse with fries is 18 euro, this is crazy. Friends of mine played golf in Tullamore Ireland the same week. they stayed in a nice hotel played a round each on Tullamore and Esker Hills courses, 2 superior courses to Oitavos, had 1 night dinner ,B+B all for 120 euro.Thats value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diarmuid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything !
The giant design rooms (even the standard one's)
The heated indoor pool: openwindows (when the weather is unstabel)
The polite thoughtful staff (all of them!)
The Sushi-dinner at the bar
An exciting dinner at chef's table (a very nice chef Cyriel)
The amazing view
The assistence we've got (my husband was 'temporary' in a wheelchair (tennisaccident)
...

Room Tip: 312 (standard corner room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the Oitavos hotel in Cascais, on the outskirts of Lisbon in Portugal, firstly on business and then an extended stay for pleasure.
First impressions of the hotel was that it was something out of James Bond, the hotel seems to of been built out of the rugged terrain and the hotel entrance and front, make the hotel seem exclusive and tucked away, despite it being quite an intimidating size with all the glass fronted walls and polished first impression.
Staff were friendly, welcoming and took my luggage to the room, giving me a guided tour and explaining all the features.
Once in the room, I was pleasantly surprised by the two TV's, both of which were on the larger size. You get iPod connectivity, HDMI connections and the plugs were all UK compatible, I could of taken my PS3 and played music, films, downloaded content on the free wi-fi (which even works by the pool) and plugged in all my devices in the two USB docks, on top of the iPod dock already mentioned.
My first room had two beds, being a twin but my second room was a double with a queen sized bed, great for a good nights sleep with plenty of room to escape the partner if required.
The first night I visited the main restaurant and had a typical Portuguese dish of steak, mashed potato with fried egg and roasted veg, it was lovely, cooked to perfection and hot, fresh and very tasty. Desert was also great, I had some strawberry and rhubarb thing all washed down with extremely moresome mojito's. A little tip, ask for a ginger alcoholic mojito, they are to die for...

The outside pool feels heated, it isn't but coming out of the hot September sun and into an outdoor pool, I was thinking it would be a shock to the system, but it wasn't, it was perfect. The pool is cleaned by robot every night, a little disturbing when you see an object in the pool in the moon light, silently sweeping the pool floor. Fresh towels are on hand and hot / cold showers to freshen up. My only complaint on the outdoor pool, is that they don't do table service, not a big issue but its a bit of a pain having to get up and walk to the bar to get a drink every 30-60 minutes, I know I'm being lazy but this is after all a five star hotel.
The indoor pool is ideal for relaxing those muscles, heated and salt water (not that you notice the salt) and with power jets that give awesome back massages, although I think they are meant to be used as a current to swim against. Jacuzzi was lovely, vey hot and extremely relaxing.. There is a steam room and sauna, and the relaxation room makes you fall asleep in minutes..

As mentioned, the restaurant is nice, a little limited on choice, a little awkward in descriptions, maybe translation could of been better and my only complaints on food which are not really a proper complaint, is the lack of lighter options, choice in general and no pool side food... None of these really bothered me but I was only there 7 days, if you were there for 10 or 14 days, you have to venture out of the hotel but this is what most travellers do anyway.

Breakfast had a huge selection of fresh, hot, cold, made to order options, I can wholly recommend the crepes, freshly made scrambled & poached eggs, although just the standard options are lovely enough.

I ventured out of the hotel and booked a taxi to Lisbon town centre, told the taxi driver where I wanted to go but he apparently didn't understand, went into the hotel and came out 10 minutes later, during this time he left the meter running, thus costing me an additional 7 euro's, sure it won't break the bank and no real big deal, with nothing to do with the hotel, but you can't help but feel that the taxi guys are trying their luck... If they are not trying to kill you by driving to fast, too close to the car in front and thinking they are taking part in some kind of whacky races...

Rooms are large, showers are like waterfalls, balconies are big enough to sunbathe or eat on and the room service is almost too good, making you not want to dress up to go have something to eat in the main restaurant.

I was hoping that the hotel being a 5 star, would be too expensive for families but alas, the odd family with customary screaming kid at breakfast and jumping in and out, screaming and shouting around the pool did make me want to stay in my room until they had got bored or tired out but this wasn't a major issue and not really a hotel issue.

All in all, a lovely hotel, great facilities, pleasant staff and a great place to stay, if a little expensive for some (two drinks were 20 euros) and the club sandwich was 21 euros, very tasty but its just a sandwich ;0)

Room Tip: If you can, get a corner room at the pool end of the hotel, if not, any double and you won't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The first impression is indeed a bit strange. Airport? Conference centre? But once you're in you cannot but be taken by the place. Comfortable, practical, minimalist, pleasant.
Had a thoroughly excellent three days in August with nothing bad to say about it.
The rooms were awsome. The pool left me speechless. The restaurant was very good. The spa was above average. The seats outside extremely comfortable. The views unending and magnificent. The service was very good.
A lot of small details that just make it above average, the temperature of the pool water, which is salt water. The fact that the showers in the pool are warm. The seats in the pool/bar area are intended to make guests comfortable.
I recommend it unconditionally.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cascais hotels
2.4 mi away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
2.5 mi away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 39 in Cascais
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 39 in Cascais
825 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#10 of 39 in Cascais
594 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#2 of 39 in Cascais
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oitavos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oitavos

Address: Rua dos Oitavos, Cascais 2750-374, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#9 Business Hotel in Cascais
#10 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range: $154 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oitavos 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the timeless beauty of the Atlantic coast, The Oitavos seeks to embrace rather than compete with nature. Its bold design, sleek lines and elegantly simple interiors focus attention outwards – on the historical and natural elements of the grounds and the drama and romance of the Atlantic Ocean. A stunning blue colour palate will cool your senses, blending with the colours of the sea and the violets of the flowers dotted across the landscape. Contemporary sculpture and paintings by Portuguese artists will enrapture against the white canvas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oitavos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oitavos Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing